We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Living the Good Life”
Spectacular Living Room
Bienvenidos!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Living Room
Bienvenidos!
Cozy Living Room with 5 French doors that open to Plaza San Fernando Plant filled stone staircase to courtyard, kitchen, living room and guest bedroom, and bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Spectacular Living Room
Bienvenidos!
Cozy Living Room with 5 French doors that open to Plaza San Fernando
Plant filled stone staircase to courtyard, kitchen, living room and guest bedroom, and bathroom
Luminous courtyard filled with character and charm
The Peristyle.... a truly magical spot!
Relaxing corner for breakfast or lunch
Enjoying the Peristyle at night with a nice glass of wine
Cozy master bedroom with new super comfortable king size bed. You might never want to get up.
Colonial style master bedroom overlooking a lovely courtyard
Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom. Wake up in the morning to chirping birds & church bells
Sunlit master bathroom filled with plants and gravitas.
Lovely 2nd Bedroom with view to Peristyle
Detail of 2nd Bedroom
Magnificent Roof Top Terrace View with more that 100 plants
Under the Pergola in the Roof Top Terrace
Cheers!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Guanajuato, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jay T
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice house, BUT”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I rented this house for two nights. The house is charming and well located and the local manager, Lorena Fuentes is terrific, but there are a few quirky things you should know. First, it is extremely vertical, its entrance on the street level, the main living flow up quite a few stairs and the master bedroom/bath is up a narrow spiral staircase, with a landing in between. I'm six feet tall and on the landing between the first level and second, I could not stand up straight. Also, it is very difficult to carry suitcases up/down the stairs. I suffered back issues before I got to the house ( Lorena was amazingly helpful ) so negotiating the stairs was a problem for me. In addition, the bed in the master was not very comfortable. It was soft, with virtually no support. The water pressure in the master bath was poor and the floors were squeaky, so much so you couldn't walk on them without waking someone sleeping in bed. That said, the salon was beautiful, with stone walls, hardwood floors and three french doors facing the square. We loved spending time there reading and relaxing. Beware though, it is noisy in the evening, when fairly loud music is playing from the restaurant below. There is plenty of room for a larger group and the kitchen was well organized for our visit with fruit and water.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Lorena, the location and the salon
Liked least: the stairs, spiral staircase, squeaky floor in master bath and the bed in the Master bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandymemi...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular house, distinctly Mexican feeling--Gto.'s gem”
Reviewed 22 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a place to stay in Guanajuato (Gto.)--stop right now. La Malaguena is the only place to stay, if you truly want to experience Gto. at it's best. I stayed there with my husband and three children (young adults) for a week; it's elegant Mexican decor lingered in our minds for weeks!

The location: Absolutely ideal, could not get any better--located right in the heart of Plaza San Fernando. Surrounded by tourist-friendly restaurants, European-style cafes, eateries and other picturesque locales, in a charming tree-lined courtyard. The Plaza has a youthful atmosphere, and yet cultural sophistication; you'll often hear live musicians playing boleros, rancheras, classical guitar and jazz. Since Gto. is a city to stroll and driving a car is almost a nuisance, the location is perfect. By foot, it's a few minutes away from el centro historico, the majestic Teatro Juarez, Mercado Hidalgo, Jardin de La Union, Museo de la Casa de Diego Rivera, baroque churches, Alhondiga de Granaditas and the prestigious Universidad de Guanajuato. It's also great if you want to experience touring Gto.'s twisted maze of streets and zig-zag alleyways. Additionally, the neighborhood is extremely safe; cops are constantly patroling the area.

La Malaguena: It's a work of art! The gardens, crumbling rock walls, terra-cotta tile floors, high ceilings, spacious rooms, old wooden doors, antique furniture and vibrant colored decor recaptures the colonial essence Gto. provides. There wasn't any part of the house which we didn't like. The house itself was an attraction--everyone picked their favorite spot and spent hours drawing, reading, or just relaxing: my daughter loved the library, one of my sons made the balcony over looking the plaza his own--my other son napped peacefully on the deck patio, while my husband and I fought over the kitchen. However, during the night we met at the roof top terrace, overlooking the entire town--it's a real vantage point--and got a full sense of Gto.'s unique landscape. The house was incredibly clean, Sote the housekeeper does a magnificent job.

Service:
Maria answers all your questions about the property and goes out of her way to make sure you arrive safely to La Malaguena; she'll email you directions, instructions and provides phone numbers to reach her. Additionally, Maria has a property administrator named Lorena, she is very friendly and filled with character; she decorates the house with beautiful flowers before your arrival, she'll wait patiently for you (even when your flight is delayed) to hand you the keys and give you further instructions. If any problem arises, no matter how trivial it is, she'll arrive to the house in minutes. The best part, she is the best tour guide! Better than a tour guide handbook.


Would I go again? YES. Do I recommend it? YES. Would you love it? YES.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La Malaguena's ambiance.
Liked least: Children: no television.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bevoise
Annandale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical house in superb location”
Reviewed 21 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

This house was everything I dreamed of when I booked it for Christmas with my family. It overlooks a wonderful plaza where there is always something happening. Every evening we would stroll from our door and find wandering minstrels and entertainment on street corners. Inside the house is a treasure trove of beautifully chosen artworks and lush plants. Everywhere you looked there was something special and interesting.There were many lovely nooks to read, have a morning coffee or an evening drink or just daydream. The roof terrace was a special place for us. The house is beautifully clean and well maintained and both the manager and the gardener/housekeeper were wonderful to deal with. We felt it was a privilege to to be able to share, if only briefly, in the magic of Guanajuato. If I did not live on the other side of the world I would be a regular visitor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat...
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great Location, Fun Property”
Reviewed 26 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

La Malaguena, situated above Plaza de San Fernando, is a perfect location for walking excursions in Guanajuato by day and festive, cultural events in the plaza by night. The house is unique and interesting, the staff is helpful and informative, and the views from the rooftop terrace are fantastic. Each night we enjoyed margaritas on the terrace while listening to guitarists play and sing with crowds of locals gathered in the plaza and then serenading through the adjacent callejones. Bring ear plugs if you want to sleep before about 11 p.m., but things quiet down quickly after that. La Malaguena offers a unique and authentic lodging experience in Guanajuato.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bedroom configurations
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing