We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Romantic Lake Chapala
from US$ 53.33
More Info
from US$ 35.00
More Info
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
441
288
116
30
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
288
116
30
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride ex pats large lake san juan cosala lake area day trip cobblestone streets great shopping art galleries great place to visit malecon canadian shore retirement climate retirees lakeside
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Lake Chapala is Mexico's largest natural lake the remnant of an ancient sea. A short drive (less than a hour) from Guadalajara, the lake area is very popular on the weekends. Because the towns of Chapala and Ajijic have such large populations of American and Canadian retirees, the variety of restaurants is unusually broad for small Mexican towns. English is widely spoken with any restaurants offering English language menus. This lake is for looking, there is very little water sport activity. If you like Spring, the climate is nearly perfect.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank LostInSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

It was lovely to get out into the countryside and visit beautiful Lake Chapala and nearby little town. We spent our time wandering the little streets and exploring.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Winkle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

I’ve been to Chapala in 2012, 2016, and last week. My aunt and Uncle retired and have lived there in specifically Chula Vista since 2004.

It’s a beautiful area and caters well to the snowbirds and gringos. Very inexpensive. It is not for everyone, and at age 58 I would not live there but I love to visit there.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank mleafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

You can spend the entire day here. Take a panga to one of the islands for lunch, Walk the market area along the water, enjoy the restaurants o just relax watching the people. Something for everyone.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We had the best time because of our guide, Ofelia Alatorre. She is private. Her email is mexicoculturaltravel@gmail.com. She knows everything. We had a lovely lunch by the lake. We were hoping to catch a boat out to the island that used to be a prison and is haunted, but couldn't. I can't remember why - a holiday? There is another standard tourist island most people go to.

Fun on a sunny day. It's worth the short trip from Guadalajara.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews