We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malibu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malibu Hotel
Ranked #34 of 127 Hotels in Guadalajara
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very nice stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed here on my way back home. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are ok. It has a motel-like set up but it is certainly not a motel. It's right next to the Gran Plaza, where you can go walking. Restaurant is ok and the pool is a good option for a little relax time. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Guadalajara!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamer8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Google Translation
Apreciable huésped:

Agradezco mucho el que recomiende los servicios que ofrecemos en Hotel Malibu. Lo invitamos a que nos visite nuevamente ya que va a encontrar cambios significativos en nuestras instalaciones.

Me reitero a sus órdenes.

Saludos cordiales,

Lic. Violeta Mota
Gerente de Ventas
HOTEL MALIBU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    68
    34
    9
    10
See reviews for
69
24
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed here during the 2011 holidays, including "Noche Buena" and Christmas Day. We really enjoyed our stay. It's set up like a typical motel with a courtyard in centre and direct access to rooms from outside, but the rooms were very nice and were cleaned immaculately every day. The bed was comfortable. Shower pressure in our room could have been better.

I really liked the set up of the hotel. It was just off of a busy street and next to a large mall, and yet it felt very tranquil as soon as you stepped in from the road to the courtyard. There is a beauty salon and a small reasonably-priced convenience store on site. We did occasionally here noises that woke us at night due to the motel set up and cars outside the room.

The full breakfast buffet was excellent. We also appreciated the complimentary shuttle and used it to get to the historic downtown a few times.

Overall, our entire family really enjoyed the stay. We weren't looking to spend much time in our hotel, so for our needs, the value here was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

My family uses this motel to stay in Guadalajara on our way to/from Puerto Vallarta. They have very good rates for the rooms, with a bountiful breakfast buffet that includes seasonal fruit, lots of hot dishes, and made to order eggs/omelettes/quesadillas/menudo. They have free wi-fi in all of the hotel buildings too, and are close to the Minerva fountain. Only downside: you can hear freight trains in the middle of the night as they honk their horns, but you ignore them after the first night. Love them!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaLoLebrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
489 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Malibu has a convenient location in the western half of the city, and in case you forget something, the hotel is located next to the Gran Plaza regional fashion mall which has two department stores, many fashion boutiques and several restaurants. On a positive note, the room was clean and the staff is polite. However, for the price, the rooms are very basic, very small, minimally furnished with very poor lighting. If you are here on business, do not expect to be able to do any work in your room. Parking is definitely inadequate if you have your own car. You probably can find a place, but it will be a test of your ability to wedge your car into whatever space might be available. This hotel has two parts, an older section that is a throwback to maybe the 1950s and the newer tower, which looks and feels like it is from the late 1980s or early 1990s. Guadalajara does not have a generous supply of hotel rooms, so if you end up here during a conference, you may find yourself at the Malibu because all the better places are taken.

Room Tip: Tower is somewhat quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank og84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We travel often in Mexico and look for quality. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. It's not a new hotel but they've remodeled and it looks great. Remember the city is huge but the staff will be glad to help you plan your stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCaliPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel & Suites Quinta Magna
Hotel & Suites Quinta Magna
#44 of 127 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.0 km away
European Life Style Suites
European Life Style Suites
#23 of 127 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Guadalajara/Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Victoria Ejecutivo Guadalajara
Victoria Ejecutivo Guadalajara
#17 of 127 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
3.9 km away
Aurea Hotel and Suites
Aurea Hotel and Suites
#19 of 127 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 km away
Camino Real Guadalajara
Camino Real Guadalajara
#50 of 127 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Hotel

Property: Malibu Hotel
Address: Avenida Vallarta 3993 | Zapopan, Guadalajara 45020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#10 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#12 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,387 - ₹ 4,297
Hotel Class:4 star — Malibu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your next visit to Guadalajara do not hesitate to stay at Hotel Malibu, has a privileged location, close to the most important points of the city and next to the biggest shopping center. It also offers an excellent service which ensures your stay will be very pleasant and will exceed your expectations. The hotel has 170 comfortable and safe rooms with services tailored to suit your needs. Our rooms are equipped with LCD screen, tel., Mini split, mini bar, coffee maker, hairdryer, safe and ironing kit. For pleasure or business Hotel Malibu is your best choice because we have beautiful gardens that make you feel relaxed, as if he were out of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Malibu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing