We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
119
46
21
11
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
46
21
11
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2016

The grounds are gorgeous. Service can be excellent, and if you are there on an off day, this is a quiet and restful resort.

But if you're there during someone else's event, service becomes awful and it is noisy as heck. Service is also spotty... sometimes it's doting, sometimes you can't find anyone to help you to save your life. During the mornings the same person will offer you a towel three times, and then several hours later there's not a single towel left in the hotel and you're SOL and then everyone's just totally missing and you sop up to your room, soggy and cold.

Also, they confiscate any food they'll find in your room, like this is high school, and they will go through your luggage to do it.

Our bathroom, depending on the hour, gave off a rank stink of sewage that the rest of our party did not experience.

The hotel ran out of bottled water and started serving filtered instead. The next day, half the wedding party was sick. Maybe it was from something else, maybe not.

We also found that the restaurant and bar prices for drinks fluctuated depending on the time of day and who you asked. Very strange.

So, all in all, the site itself is gorgeous, the restaurant is good, and service CAN be good, but it's a weird place and feels only semi-professionally run.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TMittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Very nicely appointed hotel and restaurant. Fully preserved from the sugar cane Era.

Rooms and gardens nicely appointed as well as superior service.

Try the restaurant with the tree inside. Have a drink as well. And enjoy the spa...awesome for weddings or events.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank lforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The Hacienda is beautiful, wonderful vistas from our room on the 4th floor. The room was large and spacious with high ceilings and the bathroom was spa quality. We had room service in the evening due to a heavy storm and the food and promptness of service was great. The restaurant food and the service was excellent. We toured the property for a possible wedding venue and were very impressed.

Room Tip: Great views from the 4th floor, the grounds are spectacular any ground level room would also be great.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneandMark1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the hacienda on May 8 to May 10 2015 for a friend's wedding. The hotel is lovely and the new rooms are simple and rustic. We took our 3 years old and she enjoyed the pool and playing at the gardens.
The wedding venue was great.
One thing to take into consideration if you go to a weeding is to wear appropriate shoes as there are lots of stones, no flat floors at the hotel.
Also we were there on Mother's Day weekend and the restaurant has a buffe only option which was $50 dollars. That was over the top in my opinion.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank ednadelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

The place is incredible, great scenery, good food, acceptable service. The downside is that if you are not there for a wedding (it is a big wedding venue) you will suffer from noise, really early on Saturday (sound checks) and into the night (weddings). That to me is a big downside.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews