We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hacienda de Cortes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

We always wanted to stay at this property when visiting Cuernavaca but in past years chose less expensive places when traveling with the children. This year we decided to treat ourselves and were delighted with our stay. The the room was beautiful, the staff was helpful and friendly, and the verdant grounds so lovely and relaxing. We ate twice at the excellent restaurant. But the best thing about the hotel is its history and the amazing incorporation of its antique buildings into the compound, a must see for history buffs.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    31
    17
    10
    15
See reviews for
45
52
1
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

We stayed at the Hacienda for two nights in February. We booked an "Orbitz Room." Which I have come to recognize as the cheapest room in the house, but in many cases, the only room I can afford in many destinations! We had a hard time finding the property after a long day driving around the countryside from Mexico City, but it was well worth it. A beautiful trickling fountain crowned with an enormous flower arrangemnt greets you as you pass between the classic spanish iron gates into the property. Reception was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and beautiful. Huge marble bath with walk in shower.

But it's the property itself that will enchant. Well tended landscaping, romantic mossy walls, wrought iron lighting, and stone pathways wind throughout this hideaway. The photos don't do the dining room justice. It is a magnificent vaulted stone structure, once part of the storage and grinding operations of the Hacienda. Huge iron chandeliers hang from the 25 foot ceilings. White linen service, gigantic tropical floral arrangements, trickling fountains-----talk about atmosphere.

The food lived up to the presentation. We ate two dinners, and two breakfasts here. They were beautiful enough to photograph, and unbelievably tasty and generously portioned. There is a small bar tucked into a stone room with leather sofas, chairs, and stools. Service everywhere was attentive but not stuffy. The restaurant was well priced, but not extravagantly so.

It is a relatively small property approx. 25 rooms give or take. Some extremely posh, the Shah of Iran stayed here when he was deposed. The pool is quite picturesque, but very small. There is even a play area for children. This would be the perfect place for a wedding, and there are large areas to serve events.

We would definately stay here again, I would jump at the chance!

  • Liked — It is spectacularly beautiful and atmospheric.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

The rooms were well-appointed. The decorating was simple but expressive of the history of the hotel. The grounds were outstanding, and the food was a pleasure. The Sunday buffet was delightful.

We found the hotel staff to be pleasant and cooperative. They were always helpful. We hated to leave the hacienda.

Being at the hacienda brought us into times past. It was as if the walls bespoke its history.

  • Liked — The historical background.
  • Disliked — The stairs.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank equesstrian_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dom. rep.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2006

15 minutes outside cuernavaca is one of the jewels of travelin.g. this gorgeous hotel occupies the former plantation of the conquitador cortez. much of the old sugar mill has been preserved and the additions are done in exquisite taste. suites 19 and 20 are our favorites but should one need ego food could opt for the shahs suite, where the exiled shah of iran spent two months. the food and service are in keeping with the hotels overall excelence. the pool area is gorgeous with its colums and beautiful surrounding grounds. would definitly say this is one of the worlds most beautiful hotels and worth visiting for a couple of restful nights. expensive but worth it.

Helpful?
10 Thank volney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2006

I decided to stay at the Hacienda de Cortes after reviewing several comments about romantic hotels in Mexico at Trip Advisor (thank you!). I must say I am really pleased with the result.
Legend has it that conquistador himself, Hernan Cortes, ordered this exquisitely romantic hacienda to be built for his beloved indian interpreter and lover, Malinche.
The hotel entrance, a stone-and-tile fountain overflows exuberantly with flowers. The restaurant soars up to a ceiling made from the branches of four hundred-year-old amate trees that have grown up inside the stone walls. Lit by candles.

Jose Ramos
Madrid, España

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuernavaca hotels
3.9 km away
Anticavilla Restaurant, Hotel & Spa
2.2 km away
Camino Real Sumiya
Camino Real Sumiya
#20 of 64 in Cuernavaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
#5 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
#19 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 km away
Las Casas B+B Hotel
Las Casas B+B Hotel
#2 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Cuernavaca
Holiday Inn Cuernavaca
#14 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda de Cortes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda de Cortes

Property: Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
Address: Plaza Kennedy No. 90 | Col. Atlacomulco, Cuernavaca 62560-430, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,536 - ₹ 10,392
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda de Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Hacienda de Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing