We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
6
6
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
6
0
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This is exactly what you are looking for in a trip to Zhijuatenjo. Nice clean rooms, excellent service and really friendly staff. Open your door to a prisitne beach with turquoise calm pacific ocean waiting for sun bathers and fun in the water. The hotel is located a short drive into town, with a very quiet and peaceful atmosphere. A short walk down the beach offers superb snorkeling where we played with schools of fish and moray eels. You can also watch crocodiles in the lagoon next to the hotel, dont worry though, they are behind the fence! Delicious fresh seafood is served nightly and we really enjoyed eating ceviche and drinking cervases while watching a brilliant sunset.

I can not say enough about our experience with Casa Del Mar. I am an avid traveler, having been up and down the Mexican coast lines, and this is my favorite stop along the way! Enjoy your stay!!!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Our family has stayed in many hotels in Zihua over the years but 'Casa' is the one we keep coming back to. It's location, charm and price are literally unbeatable right on the beachfront of Playa La Ropa, however, this is a very traditional rustic Mexican hostelry and may suit 'travelers' rather than those 'tourists' who infrequently travel to other countries. It's not an American style hotel and nor is it meant to be, it is Mexican through and through...natural, welcoming and relaxed. So for those who are fortunate enough to stay they'll experience Mexico as it was in the Sixties, before the corporations started putting down their style of cement on the sand....

Room tip: There are 6 rooms that face the beach but if they are taken the rooms that face the garden behind are even nicer...you can't go wrong either way. Just ask for Fidel, your patron, and he will happily do anything to make your stay more enjoyable.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MByzant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

other reviewers are correct. this place is typically mexican funky BUT it's the cheapest on la ropa and is next to the crocodile wildlife sanctuary. if you stay in one of the front units you fall asleep to the surf and awaken to the tropical birds in the trees all around you. We've stayed here many times and have never had a problem and they have made efforts to upgrade the rooms. if you want an authentic mexican experience in a beautiful setting give this place a try. you won't be disappointed.

Room tip: stay in front units
Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnStaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

An inexpensive room with a kitchen right on Playa La Ropa is hard to find. Too bad this one wasn't worth the $70. Second floor room was airy and light, with ocean breezes through the window. But the place is falling down. Kitchen counter had loose tiles just sitting there, shower head was plugged up, bathroom door handle broken, ceiling fan dripping rust, stair rail falling off, etc. Plus the mattresses were as hard as a board. Very little effort could make this a nice place. Too bad only the maid seemed to care.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pounderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

We rented 3 rooms at this beachfront hotel on December 28, 2007. The room rate was $140 US dollars per room per night so we were expecting a 2-3 star hotel. Instead, when we opened the doors to our rooms we found ourselves inside a space as austere & dingy as a jail cell. The beds were so hard & uncomfortable that in the morning my hips & back ached. The walls & doors to the outside were quite flimsy & when a rowdy crowd late at night kept us awake I got up to see if they were sitting on our patio right outside our door. (They were actually about 300 yards away.) The room was dirty, shabby, & in disrepair. The bathroom was large but unattractive & the shower put out just a trickle of water. The website boasts about the beautiful view of the gardens & the mangroves & marshes. The gardens were nonexistent & the only decent view was of the ocean, although the beach was crowded with sunbathers & particuliarly littered & not well maintained in front of our hotel. The advertised swimming pool was an above ground hideous structure that looked like it hadn't been in use for years. We have stayed at countless properties in Mexico over the years & have been quite satisfied. However, this one night could almost erase all those wonderful memories.

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MexicoNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews