We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top shelf w/o the top shelf price”
Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Iguana
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Casa Iguana. First off - the place is immaculate, well designed, has high end furnishings, and a great location. Joel' the owner is a very nice person who runs a well oiled machine... Hardly see Joel' as he works during the day running his two other businesses in Ixtapa. Everything in my room, out on the patio, and the bathroom functioned well. Ceiling fans in all three areas kept me cool - never (with daily temps in the low 90's) did I feel the need to run the AC. Having a kitchen outside on the patio is a real bonus. The fridge worked well and it was nice having a full set of knives - forks - spoons - plates - bottle / wine openers etc. The location is 2 minutes to Paty's Miramar (restaurant on La Ropa) with a taxi stand nearby as well. My only issure with Casa Iguana has nothing to do with the Casa. In that neighborhood, there people who leave their dogs outside (barking) all night long. SO be prepared for that (ear plugs are a must) .. A great place - one that I'll stay at again and again.

Room Tip: all rooms are essentially the same with #5 a little smaller than the others. The suite above the own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2015

At first I was skeptical of this one, because I couldn't pay by paypal or credit card, but in the end found it to be a great decision. If you are a resort go-er, this is not for you! But if you want to be a block from the best beach in all of Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo, this is the place. La Ropa beach was incredible... the sand was soft, the water incredibly warm. A great place to swim, kayak, paddle board and even snorkel. A couple fun things on the beach were sea-doo rentals, parasailing, flyboarding and of course fishing. You can go to the beach, order a drink at one of the restaurants, and use their lounge chairs for the entire day if you wish (just bring a towel with you, the cushions can be sandy and wet). We loved Elvira's restaurant and went there everyday. If you get tired of Mexican food, go to Jungle Pizza... amazing wood fire pizza only 10 minutes walk away. There is no ATM in La Ropa, so if you stay here, bring enough pesos with you. And a little tip: try to pay with exact change on the agreed upon price. If you give them too many pesos, they think you can spare the extra almost every time. For example, if you get a massage on the beach for 200 pesos (which is what it cost for an hour), bring exact change. Also don't use your currency, get it exchanged for pesos immediately when you arrive in Mexico.

Casa Iguana was great because it only consisted of 6 units and was very private and clean. We loved that they made the beds for us everyday and left us a couple pieces of fresh fruit or bread for toast. Water is provided, and very drinkable, so use it to re-fill up water bottles and take with you to the beach or on adventures. The beds are a little hard for my taste, but my partner didn't mind. There is AC in the room which also helps block out noise from the birds or any traffic in the morning. Joel, the host there is very accommodating.

Our favorite thing we did was take an ATV trip... found at http://www.toursinixtapazihuatanejo.com. We went through the jungle and streams of hundreds of back acres, and landed on the beach where we drove down the beach for miles.

The 2nd favorite adventure was going to Playa Larga to ride the horses. You have to take 3 buses to get there, but it doesn't take long. Busses are EVERYWHERE and super cheap (another reason why you need tons of change). At the top of the hill above Casa Iguana, busses go by every 5 minutes or so. Flag one down to take a quick trip to town, or to the next bus that goes to Playa Larga. The beach at Playa Larga is heaven on earth. Unbelievably gorgeous... and not a lot of people.

We never once felt in danger or unsafe on our 7 day trip to Zihuatanejo. Not a lot of people speak English, so bring a handbook with you to communicate a couple simple phrases like "How many pesos" or "We need to stop here" or "Where is the bathroom."

Enjoy the warm sun, inviting water and tons of adventure!

Room Tip: Ask for the room upstairs, or the one at the top of the incline on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jillenemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have stayed at Casa Iguana many times. A short walk to La Playa, the beach you want to be on in Zihuatanejo. Joel the owner is warm and helpful. The rooms are immaculately clean & well-designed & with authentic Mexican colors. This is a charming small hotel, quiet, well-located.
The beds are comfortable and the terraces are a great place to relax, with table & chairs & comfortable seating. There are refrigerators on the terrace with everything you need & some of the terraces have kitchens for cooking. Most highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice & with terraces there is a lot of room. But if you want something r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lionel1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

In researching my recent first-time visit to Zihuatanejo, I relied almost exclusively on Trip Advisor reviews to help me select lodging accommodations. I found the user reviews incredibly helpful and hence am compelled to contribute my own experience. Initially I chose Casa Iguana for lodging because it sounded like it was close to the best beach in town- La Ropa (no hill climbing required) and wasn't "just another big hotel". It totally delivered on both accounts and then some. Over the course of my stay I had a chance to check out many different lodging offerings in the area and definitely recommend this lovely, quaint, clean, safe, and homey place. Each of the "suites" is beautifully designed and thoughtfully appointed with furniture, art and décor reflecting the craftsmanship and style of this region. Each unit has its own patio area complete with couches, table, ceiling fan, and other comforts offering a perfectly charming environment for relaxing and taking meals morning, day or evening. The fact that the fridge was stocked daily with breakfast makings, and coffee and even a toaster were available in the patio area- is a real bonus and makes for a great start to each day. The Casa host and staff are most helpful, friendly, and respectful and made me feel right at home without being in any way obtrusive. I completely recommend Casa Iguana for a family, couple or individual stay especially if you are looking for a more intimate experience than you will get at any of the bigger hotels in the area. There are only a handful of hotels right on or near La Ropa beach– and this one is truly a gem. Here’s to a delightful village and a most pleasing lodging experience!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is not a hotel this is a CASA which means home. When Joel opened the door to let us into his CASA IGUANA we felt the warmth of this personality. There are only 6 rooms so you feel like you are in your own private world.
Wonderful spotless rooms with fantastic patios. His two dogs GiGi and Channel made us feel like we were part of the family. Stayed for 11 days and could not have been more satisfied. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank terryaki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
1.2 km away
Casa Adriana
Casa Adriana
#45 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
89 reviews
0.5 km away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#8 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
530 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cinco Sentidos
Hotel Cinco Sentidos
#28 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel ZihuaCaracol
Hotel ZihuaCaracol
#64 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
50 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#39 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#53 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Address: | La Ropa Beach, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: ₹ 5,447 - ₹ 12,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Iguana is a boutique hotel featuring six 1-bedroom suites with outdoor terraces and garden views. All suites have air conditioning, cable TV, WI-FI internet connection for your PC, safe box, private bathroom, and terrace with ceiling fan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing