We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
372
138
23
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
372
138
23
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club intrawest dip pool swim up bar beautiful resort cooking class bath unit il mare adult pool outdoor shower happy hour playa la ropa club members shutter doors lounge chairs welcome home small kitchen low season
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This was our third stay at the resort and still impressed by the beauty. The staff is wonderful, from the front desk, cleaning staff and the swim up bar crew (alberto). The rooms are spacious and if you get an ocean front room you are treated to deck larger then your room to relax on including a dip pool, shower, and hammock. I can't wait to go again

Room Tip: ask for a higher room building in 500
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travel2VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We booked while the resort was still Club Intrawest but it transitioned to Embarc by the time we visited.

There was some miscommunication just before our stay about our reservation because of the transition. Everything went smoothly however including a prebooked car service to and from the airport. $50 each way. Recommended if you’re traveling as a family of 4 or more. We have 3 kids and all of the taxis are subcompacts.

We stayed in a two bedroom suite close enough to the pool so we didn’t use our plunge pool. Our kids pretty much spend their entire days either at the beach or pool.

Don’t miss the baby sea turtles hatching or being released if you come at the right time of the year.

Gorgeous views of the bay and within walking distance to town. There’s great waterfront restaurants and massages if you stroll along the beach.

Service was great and staff got to know our kids during our stay. There’s also a craft table for the kids to paint clay bowls or turtles.

Floats and pool toys are available so you don’t have to pack them if you have smaller kids.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Geekdad_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I cannot say enough good things about our stay at Embarc Zihuatenejo! But, first things first... the stairs! Everyone talks about the stairs! This is a boutique hotel built into a hillside with only 75 rooms, so yes, there are stairs. However, the way the resort is laid out, you don't (at least I didn't) feel like you're walking flights and flights of stairs. There are paths and benches intermingled throughout the resort, but more importantly the staff is always offering to pick you up in the hotel golf cart and take you to your room from 5 strategically placed "bus stops" around the resort. If you have difficulty with stairs or a health concern that prevents you from walking up or down stairs, simply request a room below reception and you should be fine.

Moving on... the staff is the most friendly, welcoming and accommodating staff I have ever come into contact with. They are all warm, genuine and they make Embarc what it is... an amazing place to relax and escape.

The grounds are beautifully maintained with tropical plants and decor. Our room (205) was a studio that felt like a two bedroom (there were shutters separating the bedroom from the living room). It was air conditioned, with a very comfortable king sized bed and included a kitchenette well equipped with anything you would need to prepare a small meal. The living room opened onto a balcony with outdoor dining table, two lounge chairs and a private "cool pool", which was the size of a hot tub without jets and filled with cool,refreshing water. There were two bathrooms, one inside and another outside (read outdoor shower with a view). Our room was in the back of the resort above reception, so there was some rare road noise (only when trucks went up the hill behind the resort). Our room was refreshed daily (bed made, floors swept, garbage's emptied) and cleaned completely midweek. Love the ingenious waterproof room key/bracelet!

The open air restaurant on site, Acopio, had a diverse, authentic menu (everything was fresh and tastefully seasoned) and a gorgeous view of the ocean from every table. The service was impeccable!

There are two pools right next to each other, one for families and one adult only with a swim up bar. Bugle (Happy) Hour at the swim up bar was daily and a great time to meet other people staying at the resort. The resort is right on Playa La Ropa Beach (the best beach in Zihua). There are shaded lounge chairs with lunch and cocktail service available right on the beach with soft sand and light waves just steps away. We often grabbed a coffee and walked the beach in the morning and then at night walked to one of about 10 restaurants right on the beach (La Perla has the best mojitos and we loved the camarones aguachile at Il Marlin). This is a locals beach, so wonderful to see families playing soccer and children building sandcastles. Very rarely did someone approach us to buy something and if we said "no, gracias" they went on their way. We always felt safe and the sunsets there are picture perfect.

The activities are another place where Embarc excels. You can paint your own pottery, purchase handmade jewelry, get a massage on the beach (an hour for 200 pesos / about $10 US when we went... for real!), or enjoy a sunset catamaran cruise. My husbands favorite was chartering a fishing boat and bringing the fish back to Embarc where the chefs prepared it for us to share at the swim up bar complete with tortillas, rice, beans and salsa. My favorite was Huber's cooking class. Huber had air conditioned taxis arranged to take us to the Central Mercado (like a farmers market) where we were able to learn about and taste several of the ingredients he was purchasing for us to prepare back at the resort. We made pico de gallo, guacamole, ceviche, and molcajete (like a mortar and pestal) filled with beef, shrimp and fresh vegetables. There was so much food and it was fun to learn something authentic and local. You can let reception know you're interested at check-in.

We did walk the quaint beach boardwalk out to the Zihua pier where you will be reminded that Zihuatenejo is still a small fishing village. Be prepared to be approached by several fisherman asking you to charter a fishing boat. The downtown area is very charming with its statues and cobblestone streets. We ate street tacos almost every time we were in town and they were by far the best I have ever had (and I consider myself a taco truck aficionado). You can buy local goods (Mexican coffee and vanilla), lots of unique chachki's and souvenirs. You can also go to the local supermarket to buy anything else you might need (we bought beer, bottled water and those Mexican wafer cookies). And while we walked to town, I recommend an air conditioned taxi take you back up the hill to Embarc. Speaking of taxi's, I would say about half of our drivers spoke limited English, so brush up on your Spanish before you go, negotiate the price before you commit and be prepared to pay a little more if you want a/c. We also took the 15 min drive over to the resort town of Ixtapa. There are golf courses and high rises (neither of which really appealed to me), it looked nice and very clean. We had dinner at El Faro and although I can't say much about the food, the sunset view was amazing.

Tips:
*We exchanged dollars for pesos at our bank before we left town...it is difficult and time consuming to pay with US Dollars (and you won't get US Dollars in change, so bring small bills if you don't plan to pay in pesos.) We also used a currency conversion app... "Go! Currency" was our favorite (free in the app store). As I've read in other reviews, pay down your hotel bill with any leftover pesos before charging the balance to your credit card.

*Bug spray and hydrocortisone cream came in handy during our stay.

*Brush up on your Spanish.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank bntpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

This resort is fabulous-don't be deterred by the stairs and that there are no elevators. The staff is so amazing and attentive they will put you in their golf carts and take you to your rooms and back. Gorgeous rooms, the Acopio restaurant, and the Wonderful staff will make you want to come back as soon as you can. Absolutely wonderful vacation- we fell in love with how beautiful Zihuatenejo is and the graciousness of its local people. We can't wait to return to this amazing place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoJoDancer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stayed a week at Embarc and the resort was not crowded at all. The property is well maintained and the unit we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The heat and humidity did make it pretty difficult to be outside except when you're in the pool or at the beach. The Summer is a low season for Zihua tourism so we never encountered a line anywhere.

Getting here from the airport is easy. We took a taxi from the airport. I think the cost is $45 USD, but we paid $90 for a round trip, which may have been too much cause it costs a lot less to get to the airport than it costs to take a taxi from the airport.

We got roped into a timeshare presentation at Pacifica in Ixtapa, but it afforded us a free brunch and a $1000 peso certificate to eat dinner at La Vista in Zihua. I don't think I'd do that again though. We also took a side trip to Ixtapa Island, which was very fun with good snorkeling.

Eating at Embarc is very inexpensive and the food is good, though the choices are few after a few days. We made sure to eat outside the resort as well, but getting downtown requires a walk or a taxi ride. The walk is only about a kilometer, but it is quite hot and humid. We did it almost every day. Great restaurants include El Arrayan, Banditos, Los Braseros, Il Mare. These are all within walking distance if you are willing to walk all the way to downtown. We usually took a taxi back, but sometimes we did the walk back up the hill.

There is a wonderful massage right on the beach as you walk from Embarc. Just turn left as you face the beach and you'll see a tent and a bunch of folks asking if you want a massage. It costs 200 pesos per hour for a full body massage. I did this twice during the visit and should have done it every day, but I discovered it late. The ladies are small but very strong.

Eating at Embarc is all outdoors. The Acopio restaurant and the pool bar is open to the outdoors and while the views are great, the mosquitos are vicious if you are prone to getting bit. I had to use mosquito repellant each time I went so be warned.

Overall, this resort is small and quite hilly. You will likely have to climb many steps to get to your room from the beach or from the pool. There is an electric shuttle that you can call to take you most of the way, but there are still stairs to climb. I don't think this resort is for people who are not able to climb a lot of stairs...so be warned.

Overall, I'd have to say that this was a great week. The beach is fun and warm. The people are friendly and warm. The service was excellent. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews