We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Irma
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

When selecting a hotel from the internet based on pictures and reviews, there is a risk. Hotel Irma turned out to be a gem. The location is perfect at the far end of the beach. It is an easy walk into the town center by beach or through the city streets. While Hotel Irma is one of the older properties, it has been updated and is quite clean with personal touches. Yes you have to use the stairs but after a week's stay, the stairs were just part of the culture and a way to get into shape. We loved the pools and deck especially happy hour. We ate all our breakfasts and lunches at the hotel - great food and the staff helped me with my Spanish each morning. It was fun since their English was much better than my Spanish. There are a couple hidden treasures that no one talked about in their reviews. Just above the ocean each morning (M-F), there is a yoga class with an excellent teacher. To practice yoga as the morning awakens with the sound of the waves crashing in makes this a special practice. Also the spa area is quite nice. I had two massages during my stay; both were wonderful especially for the price. My advice, Hotel Irma is a is a hidden gem especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    186
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
81
196
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UNITED STATES
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a lovely property. If you have your heart set on plush and pamered...Look elsewhere. This is an older, small, one restaruant/bar, basic hotel. However the location is great. Quick walk or taxi ride to either town or La Ropa Beach. The staff was friendly and accomodating. You get a beach towel to use and make sure to return it at check out or it's a $25.00 fee. There is a safe in the room. Don't lose the key or you wll be charged. The view from our Balconey was outstanding. Quick walk from our room down maybe 8 or 9 steps and we were in the Restaraunt area. Love being able to eat lunch or a snack overlooking the bay. The snacks were hot and yummy and very reasonable in price. The beer I felt was over priced at 320 peso's each. The mix drinks YUCK! They imo should use a little better booze and they would sell alot more drinks. We went to the Commercial Mexicana and stocked up on Beer, OJ Vodka, Coke and Rum and put it in the styro foam cooler in our room and filled our travel mugs we had brought from home with our own blends. There is bagged ice available at the bar for 20 pesos. We would have loved to have bought from the bar the whole time but at 320 pesos and crummy booze...rats that wasn't happening.

No computers for customer use however they do have free wi-fi that works in the lobby at the pool and in a few of the rooms. We sat on the roof top above the restaraunts many a.m.'s visiting w/ friends and sharing a few drinks and were able to use it there also.

We got a king size bed and slept like a baby!

No dressers/armoires in the room however there are built in open kinda closets. Kinda cubby squares for your stuff along with a hanging rod with about 8 hangers. Plenty for us.

We did bring our own coffee maker as we had heard in advance the coffee here isn't the best...and you can't get a cup prior to 7:30 and we are up way before that.

If you have mobility issues and really have your heart set on being on the beach alot this may not be the property for you. There are about 85 steps to go from the pool area down to the beach.

we were told that the Villa Mexican is our sister property and that we were allowed to go use their pool and chairs etc..however when we got there they said they were full and we couldn't but we were welcome to purchase food at their restaraunt. We passed and meandered down to Elvira's on La Ropa and got free chaise lounge chairs w/ the purchase of beers at about 150 pesos. Score! The villa Mexicana is a lovely property tho and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here if the price were right and then go use the pool etc. at Irma etc...

The daytime front desk people ...meh...maybe not as friendly as the rest of the staff (the older gentleman at night was super nice). The one time the guys at the front desk were "friendly" with hola how are you was when the lady boss was nearby...lol.

Fernado, Issak and Adrian in the restaraunt were all wonderful and friendly. They were happy to serve. Please tip these hard workers. They earn a low wage and share tips and there really isn't anything they wouldn't do to make your stay better.

Our maid Santa was just a gem! Great job. The rooms are very basic but very, very clean.

Sliding glass doors w/ screens so we fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean. AHH! life is good.

Tons of great eating establishments nearby within a 5 minute walk or take a taxi into "town" which is a quick 15 minute walk for a few pesos. There are always taxi's waiting outside to serve you.

The ride from the Airport to the hotel from the Taxi stand (prices not negotible when departing airport site) is $35.00. When going from the Irma back to the airport it's $17.00 without a/c and $22.00 if you desire a cab with a/c.

We had a ball. We can't wait to go back. If you have any questions feel free to send me a pm (private message) and I will help as best I can. We had alot of wonderful people help us out by answering questions prior to our departure so I would be happy to return that favor to someone else.

We are in Mid 40's and 50's and travel quite often. We have been all over Mexico and other Carribean Destinations and loved Zihua for being so "authentic" still not all Westernized. Not a Burger King in sight and that pleased me so. We also loved the wonderful temps, and sunny skies each and every day. We ate out or at the irma every meal and one in our group got sick. We felt safe the entire trip and we were out and about in several locations. We'd go back in a heartbeat. Sorry but 7 nights was way to short of a time frame to try all the wonderful places to eat as well as all the sites we wanted to see.

cheers and safe travels to you all!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MARYANN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloquet, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at Hotel Irma for a week, March 2012. VERY pleasant experience. Staff is exceptional! Rooms and hotel are very clean. Amenities are simple but adequate. They provide styrofome coolers and you can buy a bag of ice from the restaurant very cheaply. That is the only improvement I can think of is if they provided small fridges. The staff bends over backwards to help, assist, accomodate in any way they can. The water pressure in my room was actually very strong. I had to let the hot water run a minute for it to get good and hot, but that was no problem. Air conditioning units are individual in each unit and worked well. Mexican hotel beds are often fairly hard. I slept fairly well despite that. The room was cool and I could still hear ocean waves even with the sliding door closed. Very soothing. I write very few reviews. I had to write this one because for the price and simplicity of the Hotel Irma, they really delivered. I would stay there again and again and I will be back without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms have 2 doubles or 1 king. All ocean view rooms have either a balcony or access to very nice de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgolen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed @ Hotel Irma from 03/10/2012 -03/17/2012. It was the best vacation I've had in Zihuatanejo in 5 years. We were in room 103 and the view was breath taking of the bay. We found the staff to be very professional, polite, and helpful in any way. The rooms were clean and well taken care of daily, our housekeeper made animals from towels and left rose pedals and flowers around the room daily. The pools were big and clean and felt oh so good. The breakfast in the restaurant was great, no matter what you ordered. It was nice to have WIFI in the lobby and pool area. The hotel was centrally located within easy walking distance to many places. It was very safe, quiet, peacefull and just plain relaxing to be there. I would highly recommend Hotel Irma to anyone visiting Zihuatanejo. The price was very affordable and the view, hard to beat. You can bet I will stay there again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have spectacular view, nice patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda6551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

My family loved our stay at Hotel Irma. Incredible, gorgeous views of the ocean and sunset. Fantastic pool setting that overlooks the beach. 2 pools! We loved their breakfasts and the staff were so friendly for the whole stay. Free WIFI in the lobby/pool. The rooms are small a little dated, but all have ocean views and balconies or lounging areas. As well as ours smelled of stale smoke a bit and had a step up to the bathroom area which was hard to navigate at night a bit. Overall we had an great stay and it was so close the Madera beach and La Ropa as well. We would come back again, if not just for the view. GREAT value!

Room Tip: Higher up the better for a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovessunandbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.2 km away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
6.3 km away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
6.7 km away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
5.1 km away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
1.4 km away
Villa Mexicana Hotel
Villa Mexicana Hotel
#24 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Property: Hotel Irma
Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#13 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,029 - ₹ 7,604
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing