We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great mini vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great mini vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Recently visited The Viceroy Zihuatanejo and had a fantastic stay.

The service is excellent and the staff friendly and accommodating. The food was great (highly recommend the fish tacos while lounging on the beach) and offers enough variety so that everything doesn't taste the same after a few days.

The rooms are nice, but the beds could be better. Our only suggestion is that the mattresses could be better. We spent more time on the beach than in the room so YMMV.

It was a great trip and we'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandofGilead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear RolandofGilead

I like to thank you for this nice comment, will be a pleasure to welcome you back please let me know when are you planning to visit us to make sure you have a memorable stay.

On behalf of the staff we look forward to see you in not to distance future.

Gracias,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    125
    36
    23
    18
See reviews for
108
404
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was our 1st trip to Zihuatanejo and the Viceroy. We went the last week of March beginning of April 2012. We went for my sister’s wedding. It is a terrific place for a wedding, it is a smaller quaint resort, not commercialized, it’s your own corner of paradise, it’s not like they were cranking out wedding after wedding, we had the entire place all weekend.
We had a 2 bed, 2 bath Garden Suite (GS2) with outdoor sitting area, hammock and plunge pool. Our room seemed to be lacking a few things like clocks, hairdryers, DVD player. I understand with the new change in hotel from the Tides to Viceroy they are redoing rooms. All we had to do was ask for a hairdryer and we got one. Normally on a vacation like this we have no needs for clocks, but with wedding festivities all the time, we kind of needed one. Who needs a DVD Player when you have the beach, but thinking there was one in the room we planned for one on one occasion for my daughter. I did like this location it was near the back of the resort by the Spa away from all of the festivities so it was quiet back there. If we went again, I would love to get a beach suite or lagoon suite provided there are no parties planned. When we arrived Luis greeted us and took us to our rooms, ran thru all the hotel details with us. The room keys are brilliant; they are these round disks that are in necklace pouches, no need for pockets since you probably don’t have any being at the beach all day. Angelica, Events Coordinator, did a fantastic job helping us plan every detail. From setting up the slide show at the Coral Bar, our spa appointments, to all the wedding details, thank you!
Each morning pastries and your choice of coffee or tea is delivered to your room. If you prefer you can go down and have breakfast on the beach. If you have a food allergy like me (Celiacs) the resort will take care of you and your needs. I never felt that my dietary needs were in jeopardy, I ate very well.
One morning we took a cab and went shopping we went to Zihuatanejo Artisans' Market on Calle 5 de Mayo in downtown Zihuatanejo. One block from the waterfront and beginning across from the church, the market is made up of small stalls set in aisles that run for about three blocks. It was very clean and lovely. We got a few souvenirs and ice cream. I never felt unsafe, the church was beautiful, the doors were open and locals were inside praying. It was an wonderful sight to see.
Back at the Viceroy we rented a couple wave-runners and my 9yr old loved that, she is a thrill seeker and couldn’t wait to do it again (which we did later). Note, you will get saltwater in your eyes and it stings, so for kids have them wear goggles. Later we went parasailing; we went down the beach (to the left) a bit and did the parasailing service there, because after watching all the different ones, it seemed as if they had the best take-off and landings. I went with my daughter and my husband went alone. We had a terrific time. It is so peaceful up there, plus you can see all the majestic houses & hotels up there in the mountains, just spectacular!
We really got used to the lovely beach lounge chairs and swinging covered beds, then when you wanted lunch tables are set up on the beach and all you had to do was order. Staff is very accommodating; I give them so much credit for carrying all those trays of food and drinks through the sand. It has to be very difficult.
We the entire wedding party & guests (approx 35) went to dinner at Tentaciones. It’s about 5 min from the resort, up in the mountains. All I can say who can eat with a view like that. I felt like I was in Bali. Basically in a nutshell, The Viceroy is a wonderful Resort. I love that it is in its own corner of the world, it seems to be an untouched hidden gem. Very few Americans vacation there, seem that more Latin Americans & Europeans use this as their vacation spot. Since the resort is not so expansive like others, you get that private intimate feeling. What a way to end the weekend with a wedding and fireworks on the beach…Spectacular!
Traveled March 28-April 1 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seahorse_816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Jenne S
Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !!
We appreciate very much for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your recent stay at Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

We agree with you that our resort is a great location to just relax and enjoy because it’s peaceful atmosphere and once you venture out of doors, there is a town offering a good array of activities yet intimate and charming.

We wish you tell all your friends about our resort and really hope to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Please receive our best wishes.

Sincerely,

Carlos Blanco and Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

As we have on each trip, we actually stayed in the Residencias condominiums, located at the back of the hotel property. We and our grandchildren therefore had access to the hotel's amenities throughout our five day visit in March, 2012, and spent time around the resort in the pools, at the beach, at the office and at the pool restaurant. We found the grounds and the various facilities to be immaculately kept, the employees to be very friendly, and the food and service in the restaurant to be outstanding. To the extent that we used the facilities, we found the resort to be every bit as enjoyable as we had on our past two visits when it was Villa del Sol. It is much larger now, and the additions have been beautifully done. We would recommend this high end resort very highly to anyone who is considering a stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PVDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear PVDon.

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !!

I’m glad to know that your vacations have been enjoyable we will ensure that each time you return to our piece of paradise will be even better.

Thanks for your preference and we forward to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Carlos Blanco
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Upon arriving to this property we were warmly greeted and escorted to our rooms with a brief tour of the property. It is absolute paradise. I was here on business but plan on coming back for vacation! There would be no need to leave the property. With a private patio and hot tub in the room, to the pools on the property as well as the beach being 10 steps away-it is the complete getaway experience! Coffee service along with various pastries quietly left outside your door every morning made the experience that much better. Room service was exceptional (and also included), as well as food and drinks at the 2 restaurants (on the beach!). I would recommend this experience to anyone looking for a quiet, beautiful, secluded vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a Lagoon Sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KP4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear KP4_12

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

I really appreciate the positive things you mention about our resort. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

On behalf of all the staff we appreciate your preference and we really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.


Sincerely

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

In March 2012 we made our 8th visit to the resort, formerly, Villa del Sol, then Tides Zihuantejo, now a Viceroy hotel and each change in ownership diminishes the resort experience. The extraordinary level of service that was the hallmark of Villa del Sol is long gone. Many great employees have survived the ownership changes, but due to continued layoffs (30 or so more we hear since Viceroy took over) the attention to detail and the staff per guest ratio is significantly down. The location is perfect, the weather is perfect, the water is perfect, but of course the hotel owner does not impact those areas and cannot ruin those aspects of Playa la Ropa. The wait staff at the beach, although very friendly and accommodating, were spread too thin to serve everyone timely and we assume the kitchen staff was reduced as well since it took almost 2 hours to be served lunch one day. The diminished security presence has allowed beach vendors to be more aggressive and prevalent than in the past, parasailing rides launched nearly in front of the resort blocking the bay view, beach towels weren't available at times in the morning, trash could be seen at various palapa tables and on the private beach area left over from the day before, none of which would have happened in the past. On several occasions the small boutique store on site was in the care of a single person also responsible for the spa desk. The immaculate palapa side table service (set early whether you chose to eat lunch or not) and Fidel and his team offering the daily food special on a platter are a thing of the past. Minor or not, I have about 10 more I can list, all the aforementioned add up to the diminished resort experience. Again, individual staff members are not to blame and are one of the many reasons we return year after year because it is like visiting old friends. Hopefully Viceroy owners/management understand that the resort does not need an overall upgrade, although certainly some upgrades would be useful, as much as they need to increase staff to improve service and make certain the resort do not fall into disrepair (the walking bridge in the lagoon area looks like it hasn't been repainted in a couple years)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TalesfromNowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.6 km away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.1 km away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
10.1 km away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#12 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.5 km away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#6 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Property: Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#10 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,719 - ₹ 57,060
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Zihuatanejo 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool garden waterfalls, enchanted lagoons and elegant adobe-inspired villas nestle along one of Mexico's premier beaches to make up the romantic Viceroy Zihuatanejo. 46 Guestrooms and suites afford stunning garden and ocean views across a tranquil beach. Relaxed contentment is made complete with award winning Mexican-Pacific cuisine, 3 swimming pools including a spectacular seaside infinity pool, an intimate spa and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Viceroy Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Resort Zihuatanejo
Villa Del Sol Zihuatanejo
Tides Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing