We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAILING WAS SPECTACULAR!”

Picante Sailing Catamaran
Ranked #3 of 19 Tours in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cast off from Zihuatanejo Bay to the beautiful, secluded white sand beach and coral reef of Playa Manzanillo. Snorkeling, swimming and beach combing are the orders of the day. Set sail and keep watch for whales (in season), dolphin, sea turtles and mantra rays. Party back to the bay with a magnificent spinnaker run and anchor in front of Playa La Ropa for a ride on our 2400' spinnaker (wind permitting!). Open bar and lunch are provided.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We did the sunset cruise first! It was amazing! So much fun and very relaxing! The crew were great! They were very entertaining and the service was top notch! Good food, good music and open bar! What more could you ask for!
A few days later we did the sail and snorkel! A great day was had by all! The snorkelling was a lot of fun! What a beautiful spot! Manzanillo! Some of the crew came in the water with us. The crew took great care of us. The food was good! Open bar again after the snorkelling! The spinnaker activity was definitely a highlight! Would recommend both excursions to everyone!

3  Thank krisko10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PicanteCatamara... Z, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hola, Krisko10!

Thank you for your wonderful praise! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Picante and our crew so much that you came out with us for another experience!

We hope you will return to Zihua soon, and join us again at least twice on board the Picante!

Best Regards to You and Yours,

The Picante Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 34 reviews
"spinnaker flying"
in 9 reviews
"captain and crew"
in 7 reviews
"light dinner"
in 3 reviews
"great sunset"
in 3 reviews
"small meal"
in 2 reviews
"mixed drinks"
in 2 reviews
"different perspective"
in 2 reviews
"visit ixtapa"
in 3 reviews
"excellent trip"
in 2 reviews
"manzanillo beach"
in 3 reviews
"rice"
in 4 reviews
"whales"
in 15 reviews
"sailed"
in 9 reviews
"snorkel"
in 13 reviews
"vessel"
in 3 reviews
"scewers"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

The owners are trying to rip off Americans and do not want National tourists. When you say you are Mexican then it's like they do not even want to provide the service to you. They are very pushy in trying to get you to spend more money. It also cost extra for snorkeling gear on the snorkel trip even though it should all be included. I would advise to find another excursion with genuine owners not trying to take advantage of you.

1  Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PicanteCatamara... Z, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hola Luke,

We are very sorry that you were mislead about a few things, so let's get the record straight:

1. We are really not sure why you would ever get the impression that we do not like Mexicans; what a strange thing to say! We are VERY PROUD to be Mexicans and to serve our community AS MEXICANS. If you search a bit more you will find that for yourselves here as well as Facebook how involved we are with locals (not meaning local expats). FYI: One of our captains is a local Mexican; the other two have been here for so long that locals do not think of them as anything other than a "zanca".

2. Locals come on board more often than you realize, as it is winter here, and school is in session- and let's not forget that during the tourist season, the majority of locals are working 7 days per week; with the exception of next week and Christmas break, national tourism doesn't peak here until summer. During the summer, we see a lot of 'quinceneras' as well as weddings and families on board. Hopefully, you will come back out during the summer, so you can see for yourself that our summer trips are almost exclusively with national tourists.

3. We learned many, many years ago that it is not fair to include snorkel equipment. There are many guests who do not swim, do not want to snorkel or that bring their own gear; keeping it separate makes it fair to everyone. We do ask all travel agents/tour representatives to please advise their guests of this, so that there are no surprises. Unfortunately, that does not always happen, as it seems to have been your case. We can only apologize on behalf of your representative.

4. Pushing for spending money? Another very strange comment. We are unsure what you mean by that. Drinks, food and spinnaker flying are all included; the only thing extra is the optional rental of snorkel gear, explained above. Absolutely nobody is expected to rent our gear, for reasons above.

Maybe your trip overall was not a happy one, which clouded your sailing trip with us. We do hope you have a much better week, and a better outlook when you return to Zihuatanejo.

Best Regards to You and Yours,
The Picante Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Very enjoyable evening, great music, very informative captain, open bar, light dinner, good fellowship. The sunset was amazing, will do again.

1  Thank Jim1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PicanteCatamara... Z, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Hola Jim 1910!
Thank you! We are glad you came sailing with us, and look forward to your return!
Best Regards to You and Yours,
The Picante Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

This was my third time to Ixtapa, and third time on the Picante. The cruise is informative, beautiful, and the sunsets are always great! The staff is wonderful, always getting you a drink, having fun and are entertaining. You meet so many other people on this cruise too, and hopefully you see some dolphins and other creatures. I would say we will go on this cruise every time we are there. It never gets old!

1  Thank MissMargie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PicanteCatamara... Z, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hola Miss Margie 19!
Thank you so much for your raving review! Our crew does work very hard to make sure everyone is happy, and we all look forward to serving you again upon your return!
Best Regards to You and Yours,
The Picante Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

The staff was fantastic and made sure everyone had what they needed! The staff went out of their way to entertain you! Santa Clause and group say job “well done!”

Thank Voyager174956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PicanteCatamara... Z, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hola!
Thank you, Santa Clause and group for choosing the Picante!! We were glad to have you on board, and look forward to your return. Thank you for your review!
Best Regards to You and Yours,
The Picante Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Picante Sailing Catamaran also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 

Been to Picante Sailing Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing