We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever!”
Review of Casa Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Isabel
Ranked #10 of 71 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Olcott, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best ever!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I can't say enough about Casa Isabel. The best thing about this place is Isabel! She is a lovely, smart and totally friendly hotelier. Her staff is the best in the city and keep the rooms, suites, pool and spa(s) area utterly beautiful. The restaurant, which is open to the public, has an inexpensive and delicious menu - breakfast, lunch and dinner. We stayed one week and would have stayed longer if we could. The nicest people I have met!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    48
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
208
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

Being regular visitors to Puerto Vallarta, and always looking for a new restaurant to try, we finally decided to give Casa Isabel a go. The reasons we had hesitated going ere in past years were the "average" reviews that seemed to ring true, even though so many reviewers have rated this place very highly. Well...it really is average food, I'm sorry to say. The steak part of the surf and turf was cooked to my specification - medium rare - but it had no flavor. I simply added salt and pepper, something the kitchen should have done at the least, to make it have some flavor. The gravy was also very bland. The shrimp, surf, was overlooked. Shrimp can be tough to cook and it's most often overdone, and that was the case here. Same for the coconut shrimp. Overdone and tough. Black bean soup was ok, no particular standout favors. The stuff pepper appetizer was probably the best, most flavorful item we had. Wine choices are also basic and not great. Overall, the menu choices seem very normal...so we'd have to rate this experience as average.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank rbeachkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I can't say enough good things about our recent stay at Casa Isabel. Our room (401) was charming and offered spectacular views of old town, cathedral and the bay. We really enjoyed our meals at the onsite restaurant and lounging in the infinity pool above our room was a great way to end each day. If you are looking for an intimate experience in Puerto Vallarta, stay at Casa Isabel!

Room Tip: 401, which is a one-bedroom unit, offers the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our second trip to Puerto Vallarta. Last year we stayed in one of the resorts out by Marina Vallarta which was nice but missed the real flavor of being in Mexico. So this year we decided on an in-town location and picked Casa Isabel based on all of the positive TripAdvisor recommendations. Another factor in our decision was Casa Isabel's proximity to the many good restaurants in Puerto Vallarta.

The hotel is architecturally unique; no two rooms are the same. We had a studio (Room 203) which does have a view of the roof across the lane but also has views to the north and south. The room itself was quite large with a balcony designed to be part of the room so there is a real feeling of openness. If you're not used to city noises, it may take a day or so to get used to the sounds or just take along a pair of earplugs. The rooms and public spaces are extremely clean and well maintained. Isabel has furnished the rooms with the kind of art you'd expect to find in a private home. WiFi is free and the connection speeds certainly adequate for checking email if you have to. Another nice touch: the hotel provides a large dispenser of filtered water in the rooms for filling water bottles and making that morning coffee. Our efficiency had a full kitchen which was nice for keeping a few things around for breakfast and storing leftovers but with all of the dining opportunities available, I doubt if many people actually prepare full meals.

The real appeal of Casa Isabel is the friendly, helpful staff as well as the other guests, many of which are on multiple return visits. We happened to check in just in time for happy hour and within five minuets we had a handful of new friends and a list of six or seven restaurants that we had to squeeze in during our stay. Of particular note was Alicio, the morning restaurant guy and sometimes night watchman who made sure we were up for an early morning tour, had coffee ready, and called a taxi to get us on our way. He also make an interesting morning concoction called Green Juice which must be pretty healthy unless one requests a shot of tequila be added.

Some previous reviews have commented on the hill walk. While we were staying at Casa Isabel, my wife had a knee problem that kept her from making the walk into town so we took taxis to and from. Taxis around town are a flat rate of 40 pesos (a little over $3.00), are very plentiful, and the drivers we found to be friendly.

In summary, I would rate Casa Isabel as one of the more interesting places we have stayed in our travels. At the end of a nice vacation we find ourselves saying we'd like to come back again but rarely do because there are so many new places to explore. For Casa Isabel, I'd make an exception!

Room Tip: Every room is different. Use the web site to help you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartbrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We heard about this quaint hotel from friends, checked their web site and decided to stay at Casa Isabel for one week. Both my wife and I were delighted to have a room near the top with a view of Puerto Vallarta that was spectacular. In fact, it was much better than the view Liz Taylor and Richard Burton had from their 'hide away' just across the way from the hotel. I used the infinity 'hot tub' on top every morning with a cup of coffee made in our own kitchen. After soaking my body and mind with the warm water and distant views, it was a pleasure to take the steep road down to 'Old Town' or take a taxi to other places for some fun in the sun. What stood out in the evening were the fun folks around the bar before sunset and the marvelous dinners afterwards.
Thank you all: the staff at the hotel and Canadian guests. We now count you as our friends.

BTW there are two sets of BBQ units and grills for use by the guests, and one evening there were several of us who had a great party on top next to the hottub shown below.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sbrentjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.7 km away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
342 reviews
0.5 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,600 reviews
0.3 km away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#13 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
504 reviews
2.4 km away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,381 reviews
0.7 km away
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Isabel

Property: Casa Isabel
Address: Privada Del Bosque 483 | Col. Alta Vista, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,831 - ₹ 8,960
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodations at affordable prices. Stay with us and see why our guests return year after year. We offer twelve different units in a variety of styles and budgets, from a hotel room, spectacular romantic suites, studios and one bedroom suites, most have full kitchens, plus our fabulous two bedroom two bath casita. Incredible views of the mountains and ocean, fireworks and sunsets, plus enjoy two Jacuzzis and a pretty pool with a B.Y.O.B Palapa Bar and professional grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Isabel Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing