We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real milk ice cream”
Review of Lix

Lix
Ranked #1 of 21 Dessert in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Handmade luxury artisan ice cream & frozen filled bananas smothered with belgian chocolate, made in small fresh batches each week. The best quality ingredients are used, including our belgian chocolate from our other shop, Xocodiva.
Restaurant details
Description: Handmade luxury artisan ice cream & frozen filled bananas smothered with belgian chocolate, made in small fresh batches each week. The best quality ingredients are used, including our belgian chocolate from our other shop, Xocodiva.
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Great ice cream and milk shake. Different flavors, including mint, berries, ginger and others. Ice cream is a bit sweet but milk shake makes it perfect.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Inna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017

Lix is my favorite dessert on the southside. There is new ownership (Xocodiva chocolates and Lix both) but the quality remains the same wonderful product. Besides a dozen or so rotating flavors of fabulous ice cream... try the stuffed chocolate dipped frozen bananas (filled with nutella or carmel, dipped in milk or dark chocolate, rolled in chopped nuts. The friendly clerk is lovely, very friendly (but she is not the owner).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suze2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todd a, Owner at Lix, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thanks for writing the review. We are very happy to have a great crew and the best ice cream in PV. I love the bananas too!

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Ok ice cream- not out of this world but good for Pv- cheap and nice spot to sit outside in shade- good flavors- salted carmel was good

Thank Thom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Apparently only one happy, friendly woman runs this place, and she has a really good business. There are nice padded benches outside for sitting with your ice cream and watching the foot traffic mill around you. Good selection of flavors. The passion fruit sorbet is incredible. Flavors posted in English and Spanish.

Thank elsie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todd a, Owner at Lix, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thanks for the review. We have four employees at Lix depending on the time of day there could be one or three people working. Glad you enjoyed the sorbet.

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Lix has an interesting array of flavors, and I was a regular here. This season, 2017, they raised their prices to be similar to what we would pay in Canada for this specialty kind of ice cream (75 pesos for two scoops), but the cost of contents, labour and rent are so much cheaper here. I find the price to be a form of gouging, so I go instead to a place on the Malecon that serves an interesting choice of gelato. It is just as good, some may say better, but I don't feel I'm being gouged.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DarioAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todd a, Owner at Lix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dario,

We appreciate the feed back but the prices were raised for the first time in four years. The cost to produce ice cream is more here, especially for artisan ice cream. The rents, utilities and wages have been going up every year so in order to keep our business open we have to raise prices. Everyone assumes everything is cheaper here in PV but that is not the reality. To get quality it costs a little more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lix also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Lix? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing