We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Ownersship”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estancia San Carlos
Ranked #80 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 2 February 2010

This hotel changed ownership in July of 2009 so many of the previous comments no longer apply...Exceptionally clean, maid service everyday if you request it.
All suites, Half one, half two bedroom units.
Beds hard but comfortable.

Cooking equipment and table service sparse!!!! But they are improving..some units now have microwaves, some have toasters ( we didn't) some get a coffee pot. (we did for half the time).
This hotel is in the club district in the romantic zone so sleep is a hard thing to find sometimes.

I can't say enough good things about the staff..they tried so hard to please.
The reception ladies have a Spanish/English dictionary to help with the language difficulties.

This is a fine place to stay...4 blocks from the beach, few blocks from the fresh food market.

If being surrounded by French speaking Canadians is not your cup of tea, do not stay here!!!

For my liking the pool is not kept clean enough and the circulation fountain rarely runs.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2009

I made a reservation in advance, over the phone, at this hotel starting on a Saturday, for three nights. I was told the rate was x amount per night. When we arrived at the hotel, the manager asked us if we had a reservation and at what rate. We told them, and without even asking our name or checking, he said that was the rate for the first night, but the subsequent nights would be higher (he asked 50% more!!!) because high season was starting... I complained that nobody mentioned that when we made the reservation, but he did not care to listen. We walked out and found a similar hotel at an even lower rate just one block away. I guess it was not high season after all... Stay away from this chater!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
1  Thank jballesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We have stayed at the Estancia San Carlos twice now, for two weeks in 2006, and came back in 2007 to stay six weeks. We loved the location, the staff, everyone was very helpful and friendly...and the price is right.
We have two little Chihuahuas, and they were made to feel very welcome. The maids are hard workers, and they are always quick to smile and say hola. The laundry facilities are inexpensive and quick. Short walk to the malecon, restaurants, beach and grocery store.
Nice, clean spacious rooms. We want to go back there in 2009.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2007

My family and I have stayed at the Estancia San Carlos on two separate occasions. We drive from Idaho to PV and are looking for a safe central location to park our vehicle. San Carlos fits the bill perfectly. This is definitely not the Ritz Carlton, but honestly who wants those old fuddy, duddies? I go to Mexico to be in Mexico, I love the culture...

The staff is wonderful, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are apartments, we stayed in a spacious two bedroom apartment, and loved the courtyard where we could easily see our two little boys playing below in the pool. We stayed for nearly 3 weeks, and yep the laundry service was awesome!!

The beach is only a few blocks away, a grocery store with lots of American products (Rizo_) is just a block away, wonderful taco stands, ice cream shops... and the fish market where the seafood is delightful, right in front of the grocery store.

PV is charming, old Mexico, the people are wonderful- the beaches stunning, the sun - perfect! Have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdahoGuerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2006

We stayed at this hotel in August 2006, on the recommendation of the Rough Guide to Mexico. We were wary following the initial approach of the front-desk staff which was surly to say the least and they demanded payment in cash upfront. On the second day of our stay, there was very a problem with the power meaning very little light, no air conditioning and no running water!
Not only did the hotel fail to apologise, they did not communicate with us at all - to the extent that we had to go and ask for water so we could use the toilet!
When we decided to decamp to a hotel with air conditioning, we had to fight to get back the money that we had paid in advance, let alone any kind of compensation for our awful experience.
The Hotel Posada Rio Cuale down the road is much the same price and much better,

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Beeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 km away
Suites Plaza Del Rio
Suites Plaza Del Rio
#96 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
38 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centr...
#85 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
85 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Hortencia
Hotel Hortencia
#76 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#16 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
878 reviews
0.3 km away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#82 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#57 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia San Carlos

Address: Calle Constitucion 210, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: ₹ 2,912 - ₹ 4,918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia San Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice hotel, located in the heart of the romantic zone of Puerto Vallarta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Estancia San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia San Carlos Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Estancia San Carlos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing