We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time at the Sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I spent a week at the Sunset Plaza over the Spring Break March 23-31, 2012. The hotel is beautiful. We really enjoyed the service which was over the top. Upon arrival the butler Juan was very helpful and informative to make our stay the best. During our stay Ivan and Carlos were also very helpful at the butler desk and Carlos even loaned me his own charger for my KOBO reader as I forgot mine back home. We read earlier about the coffee not being in the rooms so brought coffee for the machines from home. The meals were all ala carte and this was great for my girlfiriend with her gluten allergy as they were able to make anything she wanted and made sure there was not gluten in anything she had. We even brought a letter in spanish which outlined the kinds of foods to avoid. The chefs were very good at dealing with this and she had no issues at all. The pool area was great, good service, anything you wanted they would bring to you. Beach area not the best as it is small, the water cold compared to the Mayan where we usually go. But this was a relaxing vacation and didn't spend much time in the ocean more by the pool bar. Drinks were great, very good service at the bar. Mostly adults at this time, few kids that were not distracting at all. The rooms were beautiful, beds nice and soft and had a great sleep each night. No issues with noise. We were on the 6th floor. We stayed in a regular room not the suites although for the little extra I wish we would have. The room we had however was adequate in size and very nice and clean and no problems with anything there. We also booked some room service and the staff were great informing us of the extra 10% gratuity for the delivery of food or drinks to the room. Be sure to ask for food with any drinks you get to your room or you will be charged for the drinks at the regular rate. 10% was very reasonable. Staff was great, Isaiah was a very friendly staff in the restaurant and made sure we always got whatever we needed and he was both funny and kind. Daniel was also great and his engish was very good and helpful for planning meals each time. Food was prepared in the restaurant outdoors under the hottubs and although the occassional fly was around it usually was very nice to eat outdoors. Not muich for evening entertainment except some dinners with theme nights and a mariachi band, which was romantic on the grass. The beef was not so great but this is Mexico and not the beef we are used to in Alberta. If you like top notch service, a quiet and relaxing time with your wife or friends, great food, and personalized service you will not be dissapointed if you stay here. If we are back in Puerto Vallarta we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so you can't go wrong. Higher up you get a better view. Elevators are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,379 - 2,383 of 3,260 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I just got back from a 5 day stay at the Sunset Plaza and cannot say enough good things about it! We have stayed in several all-inclusive resorts in the past and have not been impressed, so we were hoping all of the rave reviews on this one were right. Well, I can honestly say that this resort exceeded my expectations. It is small, quaint, quiet, and beautiful--everything you want in a resort! The food was authentic and delicious! Even though there are just two restaurants, we never waited long for food and didn't have to wait to sit. At times we felt like the only ones at the resort because it was so quiet! We do not like like resorts with tons of people, personnel trying to get you to play games by the pool, loud music, crappy food, or high school/college Spring Breakers. This resort is not for you if those are the kind of things you want on vacation. If you are looking for excellent service, good food, yummy drinks, a brilliant view, and complete relaxation, Sunset Plaza is where it is at!!! I am not one to repeat visits to resorts, as I normally like to try new places, but this is a resort that I cannot wait to head back to next year!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good---all ocean views. We had the 4th floor and were not complaining :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aschomaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My stay was from April 8-12 2012. The Good.... the resort itself is beautiful. We had a 1 bedroom king suite which was literally a home away from home. The modern decor and comfort factor of the room coupled with the beautiful panoramic ocean view from our balcony was breathtaking. Based off aesthetic alone i would give this property 5 stars. Now to the remainder....THE BAD...my girlfriend and i came here for a much needed getaway and like most couples we were affectionate (hugging, stealing kisses over a meal, playful). Apparently this is frowned upon at Sunset plaza Beach Resort. We were stopped by a butler desk attendant and told that there were "some issues" with us and her manager wanted her to speak to us. After repeating what were exaggerated recollections of the truth and some blatant lies she said "we have nothing against people like you". I promptly asked to speak to her manager and was told he was in a meeting but would be available tomorrow. The next morning the elusive manager could not be located except via walkie talkie and i was instead directed to the front desk manager Miguel who for the moment seemed very concerned and upset that we felt we couldn't be ourselves. He said he would "do something special" for us girls for the inconvenience... we're still waiting for the something special. After consulting with our butler we were told that "guests" had complained that we were affectionate. He said they were probably mexican guest b/c homosexuality is frowned upon in mexico. There were lies spread about us that were completely untrue and instead of politely telling the complainers (guests and hotel staff) to get over themselves and wake up to 2012 it was all taken for truth and we were made to feel uncomfortable, unwelcomed and on display. We were scolded and told to "be private in your room". Based off the heterosexual couples showing affection for one another in the public areas i assume they didn't get the memo to "be private" in their rooms. We were also told that what you do in your room is your business just don't be public with it, yet there was a complaint that we were affectionate on our balcony! One morning as we were cuddled up looking over the balcony edge enjoying the view, several people downstairs eating were literally looking up at us pointing as if we were some beasts in a zoo to be gawked at.
LASTLY, After returning to the states and taking a trip to my primary care dr. we discovered that we had been eaten alive by BED BUGS!!! Never having been exposed to bed bugs we thought the bites were mosquito bites b/c we often slept with the balcony door open. That was just the sour icing on the cake after our awkard stay at the sunset plaza beach resort and spa.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank sach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear sach12
We understood whta you wrote on your review, and sorry for the inconveniences you had with us, what I can say that in Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, all guests are very welcome to come no matter religion, politics or sex.
Please feel welcome to come back again.

Sincerely
javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We live in Mexico and frequently go to the Pacific Coast and stay at Mom and Pop's, regular Hotels, and All-Inclusives. We decided to try this hotel, and we are certainly glad we did!! First off, upgrade to the 1-bedroom suite. It is a GREAT room. 2 bathrooms, NICE kitchen, really comfortable King bed in bedroom and pullout queen in living room. 2 flatscreen tv's, and a huge balcony with great views of the sunsets. There are only 2 restaurants at this hotel. One is open basically all day and for dinner also, the other is the Italian restaurant and it is only for dinner. Both were outstanding not only in food quality, but in service. There is also a deli that makes gourmet sandwiches and the like that can be eaten in the 2 or 3 tables on the patio, or at the pool. This hotel has no buffets. The pool service for drinks and FOOD was fantastic. Just ask for a menu and they deliver anything you want right to your chair. There is no loud music, games, shows, or anything of the like. There is a swim-up bar in the main pool that is nice, there is a kids pool that is about 1.5 feet deep and there is a separate adult pool that is really nice and has numerous chairs and canopy beds around it. The pools are all heated and the water temperature is very nice, not too cold and not too hot. We took our 4 and 6 year old with us and they loved the kids club and the pools. The kids club had a 3 video game systems, lots of arts/crafts, a small little pool, a three hole miniature golf course and an outside play area with swings. They are open from 9-5. They were also open on Wednesday and Thursday night from 8-10 pm, but we could not confirm is this was a weekly occurrence, or if it was a one time occurrence. The beach is pretty unusable in this area. The tanning decks at the hotel are great for hearing and enjoying the ocean without the sand. The fitness center is nice and has new equipment. They had two treadmills, one elliptical, one stair climber, one electronic bike and two spinning bikes. The also had dumbbells from 5-50 pounds in 5 pound increments, an adjustable bench, and yoga mats. There is a TV and air conditioning in the fitness center. All equipment appeared new and was in great condition. There is a free yoga class each morning followed by group kayaking in the ocean. We did not participate in either. All in all, this is the one we will return to for our next All-inclusive trip. It is, by far, the best resort we have ever stayed at for the money.

Room Tip: Get the Suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mexicoajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Sunset Plaza is an amazing resort. The views are amazing. The service is just how it should be, from the checking in to the pool service. Eduardo was our pool attendant and he is extraordinary. The location is also also wonderful. The location is very safe, so need to worry. We went across the street for tacos around 11pm, and did not feel scared at all. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanna082199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.7 km away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,600 reviews
9.6 km away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,918 reviews
0.4 km away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,299 reviews
1.6 km away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,468 reviews
4.3 km away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: ₹ 13,617 - ₹ 35,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing