We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #50 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great location!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Upon our early arrival we were greeted with warmth, exuberance, and friendliness by hotel manager, Carlos De Leon. He stored our bags until our room was ready and we were offered a cool drink which we drank in the open courtyard until we were ready to walk to the beach club associated with our hotel. The hotel is very clean and the staff is pleasant and helpful. I appreciated the 2 computers with internet access available for guests. The location couldn't be much better: in old town with the beach, great shopping, and great restaurants all within a block or 2. We even walked to the Vista Grill where we dined looking down on the twinkling lights of the city. Our room was basic but we had a large, flat-screen TV with English-speaking programming. Coffee and cookies were served in the morning. I could so without the cookies and would've preferred a bit of fruit or a roll. But for the price, this place can probably not be beat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TuscanKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    121
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
159
58
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Booked through Expedia. 'Superior Room -Double 2 Beds' Total for 10 nights = Canadian $820. The tripadvisor coupon offered did NOT make any difference upon check-in, nor were we offered any reductions/ refund or upgrade. (as advertised). Arrived the early evening of January 31, 2012. There was NO pillow menu or soap selection (as was advertised). We were given the hibiscus juice. It was cold and refreshing. Our room that we were given was Room # 30. It is next to the main stairwell. It is a noisy room and appears to be well used. It did NOT appear to be renovated recently (as was advertised). The air conditioner was older and loud. The ceiling fan had two speeds; fast & faster. The hot water took AT LEAST 5 minutes to start flowing warm. Once the hot water started flowing cold water was not required. Ear plugs are a must if you are a light sleeper. Church bells start at 6AM and go until at least midnight. The room 'lock box/ safe' did NOT work. The batteries were leaking so I discarded and asked for replacements. None were available. Free WiFi is 'Fair' at the best of times. For better reception try the courtyard area. There is NO chair for the desk. There are NO towel racks. There is NO cellphone (as advertised). There is NO beach club 'membership card' (as advertised) The “Amapa Sunset Beach Club” is no longer there for guests to use. I am really disappointed with our room. It was NOTHING like the photos or the amenities stated on the hotel's website.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs to get a more restful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

After spending multiple hours online trying to find the perfect spot for my girlfriend and I to stay in PV, I settled on the, "Penthouse Suite", at HCV and booked it for three nights. Just to be sure that things would be as stated in the reservation, I called the Hotel and talked to Carlos, the owner, and he assured me that we would have the Penthouse suite with two balconies and a great view . Upon our arrival from an amazing stay in Sayulita, we were told that the Penthouse suite was occupied and we would be staying in another Penthouse suite. Our room was 2 floors below the Penthouse in a dank smelling hallway that I had duck to get into, I am 6'2" and did not fit in the twin bed either. Our key didn't work, there was a mouse turd on the kitchen counter and you had to get in the shower to wash your hands. We had no option but to spend our first night there and the next morning we talked to Carlos, who was full of excuses and did nothing to help us and even charged us for the Penthouse rate. Fortunately, we were able to find another place on our own and we rescued our stay in PV. I would avoid this place like the plague, I am still baffled by all the positive reviews, my guess is that they wrote them, themselves.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catedralpv, General Manager at Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
I am very sorry you did not stayed at our property but 1 night. We understand you were expecting to be assigned to a specific Suite, which we can not guarantee since each Room and Suite in our Hotel is different. The On-line travel agency where you booked your room is very specific about it, and we were specific too. I do not assign the rooms personally, and my Staff does it according to each arrival-departure pattern as well as specific requests in each reservation. You were assigned at the Penthouse (Top Floor PH-Master Suite) of the building facing the Courtyard, and that tower was selected by our reservations staff considering that on your reservation you specifically requested: "Quiet side with a view", and (as per our Guests feedback) Superior Rooms and Suites facing the courtyard are more quiet than the ones located at the other 2 buildings, which do face the street side. You were assigned at that Suite (Which is actually the largest in our property) expecting you will enjoy your stay with us. I can assure, each room at our Hotel is perfectly clean, our service is above local standards, and we are recognized for the total value we deliver vs the prices we charge.
I understand your frustration and truly, do hope you give us a future chance to change your perception of our Boutique Property. Muchas Gracias !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We picked this hotel because of it's location in old town and walking distance to romantic zone. The staff was very friendly and they offered us a hibiscus tea upon arrival. Courtyard is pretty and be sure to make it up to the roof top where you can lounge with your drink at sunset and take in the whole town, including a good view of the cathedral tower. The rooms are cute and clean, nothing to fancy but we were staying only one night so we did not need the luxury and all of the amenities of a five star hotel. The air conditioning worked great however we did have problem with no hot water in the shower and then no water at all. Apparently something had clogged up their main pipe from the water tower on top of the roof. Cold shower was "refreshing" but not preferred. The problem was resolved in 30 minutes though. I would recommemd this hotel if you're looking to stay right in town, don't want to pay alot of a room, and don't need to be right on the beach.

Room Tip: They offer 2 double beds, kings, and suites with kitchens. Go on the hotel website to look a pictur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Hotel staff were wonderful. Only caution; cathedral bells ring all night long. Ask for room with A/C and leave fan on to block noise.
Early morning coffee and tea a plus.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, use room fan or ear plugs to block out catedral bells which ring every 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank norma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#35 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
483 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
865 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#59 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
170 reviews
0.9 km away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#28 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
293 reviews
0.1 km away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#85 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Property: Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Hidalgo Centro 166 | Between Libertad st. y Agustín Rodríguez st., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,513 - ₹ 6,636
Hotel Class:3 star — Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing