We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
193
66
22
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
66
22
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la playita conchas chinas full kitchen on site restaurant mexican decor small gym oxxo convenience store an older property tile floors ocean water minute cab private beach rooms are large romantic zone coffee maker the penthouse time share
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2015

The Good – This is a small quiet resort located right on the ocean. You could not be closer to the water without being over it. The property is very clean. The condos are large and well layed-out. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful: not so far from town to be inconvenient and not so close that the city noise interrupts the quiet.

The Bad – There is no beach to speak of so long walks on the beach are out of the question. We often had to wait for towels as the towel person was nowhere to be found. The same was true with getting beach chairs. The bench-type couches in the living room were extremely uncomfortable. The floor and wall tiles were very chipped up making the units look un-cared-for. The service in the restaurant was very slow. The one night we ate in the restaurant we waited 15 minutes to place a drink order and another 10 minutes to receive our drinks. The beverage service on the beach was so slow, it may as well have not existed. Most often we gave up waiting for someone and went to the bar to get our drinks ourselves. While there was internet service, we had to pay for it.

The Ugly – I am allergic to shellfish and, therefore, very careful about what I order to eat. Our first evening in the restaurant, I ordered chicken enchiladas. When my food came (after a very long wait) my first bite tasted off. When I closely examined the food, I discovered I had been served shrimp enchiladas. When I sent the order back, the waiter acted as if it was no big deal. I spent the next few hours praying I had not eaten enough to cause a reaction. Fortunately I was OK. The only other evening meal we had in the restaurant, my husband ate and I did not.

Overall, this resort is OK. It probably was very classy in its heyday. It needs a little work to bring it back to that level.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frequent63Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the mistake made by the restaurant, and will be using your review as a training tool to provide better service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Have been coming to Lindo Mar for almost 10 years, and have always loved it. We come to Lindo Mar for the serenity and peace - sitting on the balcony, taking in the lovely view, etc. This year though, there was a distinct change in the type of guests. For the entire week, we had four obnoxiously loud people in the room below us, and it ruined the vacation. Instead of serenity, it was more like Ft. Lauderdale during spring break. When they weren't blaring from their balcony, they were drunk and yelling in the hot tub every night, keeping the rest of the building up. Complaints to the front desk made no difference - no one made them stop. It's really too bad, because it was a lovely little sanctuary. Dont' know that I'll come back after this experience.

Room Tip: See above comments - it's luck of the draw as to who the guests are near you.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank GoingBacktoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

We are sorry to read that your stay was ruined due to other guests. We will be addressing this issue with the front desk staff, so that this type of incident can be better handled in the future. We do hope to have you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014 via mobile

Lindo Mar is in a more secluded area, but is only a short bus ride into the south side of town, (which is my favorite area). The crowd is older. The views are beautiful. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the waves crashing over the rocks. The resort is older, but is very clean and well maintained. We would definitely stay again. Watch out for those margaritas, 2 for 1 at happy hour and they are delicious, but strong!

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DetroitGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Thank you for your 4-star review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

We love going to Lindo Mar every year. The staff are friendly and speak English which is great since my Spanish is pathetic. The rooms are large and we love having a kitchen. The view from every room is amazing. There is nothing like having a glass of juice in the morning on the deck. We can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 4th or 5th floor. If you are up any higher you are closer to the street which results in some traffic noise.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to read that you love visiting us every year. We hope to see you again in the coming year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2014

We've been to Vallarta many times, but this is our first time staying south of the city. The main tourist areas, the Hotel Zone, the Marina, and Nuevo Vallarta, are all north of the city. The south side is older with lush landscaping on hills that rise out of the ocean. There are lots of condos and single family houses, but not many hotels.

Lindo Mar is a small, about 44 units, timeshare that we booked through RCI. It is 9 stories high, built against a cliff. From the road-side you enter to 7th floor. All units face the ocean, the views are magnificent. Our 1-bedroom unit was large, clean, and well maintained. The place is older, but it has a very comfortable, homey feel to it. The staff of both the hotel and restaurant are extremely friendly and helpful. We were first time guests, but within a day many of the staff remembered who we were and what our preferences were. A lot of the guests were owners who came to the resort every year. The staff greeted these people like long-time friends.

There are very nice beach and pool areas. They are somewhat small although adequate based on the size of the resort. The beach area was the popular place to hang out, and it did tend to get crowded. The pool area always had plenty of space available. The one problem with the beach is that it disappeared at high tide. Fortunately while we were there high tide came early morning and by 10am they were able to put out the beach lounges.

The restaurant at the resort was fantastic. It overlooked the beach and had a good variety of American and Mexican dishes that were all very tasty and moderately priced. Service was very good. We ate breakfast there every day, and dinner once. The only reason we didn't eat dinner there more often was that there are many great restaurants in Puerto Vallarta, our favorites are La Chata and Bar Oceano on the Malecom and Gaby's and Pipi's a few blocks back.

It was easy to get to and from town on either a bus or taxi, either of which took about 5 minutes. We took the orange bus in every day. The bus stop was about a block from the hotel, and the buses ran every few minutes at a cost of 8 pesos, or $0.60. We would get off at the end of the line, which was in the middle of old town, about 3 blocks from the Malecon. From there all of the El Centro/Old Town areas of Puerto Vallarta were easily walkable. We would take taxis back to the resort at night because it was hard to spot the right bus stop, and there were no sidewalks along the road that made walking in the dark hazardous. Taxis are easy to find in Vallarta and are safe and reasonable. We would get one at the south end of the Malecon where the fare to the resort was 65 pesos, or less than $5. Getting a taxi further away from the resort would just add $1-2 to the fare.

Overall we loved Lindo Mar and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Easiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Thank you for your 5-star review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort, and we hope to have you back to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews