We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot in Puerto Vallarta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #45 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great spot in Puerto Vallarta”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Visited in October of 2010 with another couple.

first, the OKs: 1) it was off-season, so things were a bit more low-key. 2) the resort is smaller, so feelings of claustrophobia/boredom might creep in. the giant caveat to both of these is that it was 95 or hotter every single day, so we couldn't move around much - finding the shade was key. by the time the evening rolled around, we were mostly too exhausted from the day's heat to go out.

now that that's out of the way, let's discuss the greats/plusses/wonderful attributes of Golden Crown Paradise:
1) clean, spacious rooms and very friendly staff.
2) great programs to keep you occupied during the day, including crazy pool volleyball, where if you screw up on a play, you'll be drinking some iced concoction. people would try to screw up on purpose.
3) the area is beautiful - you're staring up at the grandiose mountains on both sides of the bay. the locations is great - GCP is an older resort, which means it's a lot more central than many of the new ones. this also means it's only a few minutes from the airport (something like 10?), and is only minutes away from downtown. there's a supermarket 1 block over, that was fun to visit.
4) Sexy Coffee - do yourself a favor and listen to all the other reviews, make a reservation and get it once, twice, three times.
5) Las Carmelitas - another giant favor you should definitely do for yourself is go off-campus to have dinner at this mountain-top restaurant. paying the cab and the entry fee (reimbursed on the dinner's bill) is completely worth it. you're eating authentic Mexican food, freshly prepared, on a mountain, in the jungle, overlooking all of Puerto Vallarta. it doesn't get more vacation than that. http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g150793-d2314192-Reviews-Restaurante_Las_Carmelitas-Puerto_Vallarta_Pacific_Coast.html

this was our first time at an all-inclusive and we loved it. just got a little baked and couldn't do much during the day, because of the high heat, but otherwise, it was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ruzimon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    798
    434
    198
    147
See reviews for
207
1,185
83
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

From the moment we arrived in the beautiful open air lobby we had a great week. (Travelled with our brother and sister inlaw, their daughter, our daughter and the girls boyfriends). The front desk men Manuel and Raul were always helpful and kind. We were greeted and assisted very quickly.
All members of our party were given rooms that met all of our expectations. The staff were always courteous with a smile and good service. I honestly have nothing bad to say about the food, I am a slightly picky eater and was able to choose food from all areas of the resort including the room service that I was happy with.
The location of the resort is great. The mega grocery (comparable to our Super Store) is litterally around the corner. Super convenient for things you may have forgotten and incredibly cheap compared to home. A short walk toward the marina for a cute little outdoor market. And under 4 dollars Canadian for a tai ride to the malacon.
The vendors are constant on the beach, but as some people have said, if you give them a smile and a wave they will continue on.
My one suggestion is that the men travelling here should bring a pair of long pants and shoes, because missing out on the great food offered at this resorts specialty restaurants would be a shame. The food is great and the atmosphere and service is wonderful.
I will be returning in September with other family members and I can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 8nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I recently spent our honeymoon at the Golden Crown Paradise and had a good time. Here's the nitty gritty:

The Good:
-Our room with the ocean view balcony had a beautiful view and was generally quiet besides occasional beach parties, though they usually had live music which was nice.
-The maid service did a great job of getting in and cleaning the room quickly and thoroughly when we werent there.
-We loved the pool. The temperature was perfect, and there were plenty of lounge chairs around. We spent a lot of time there.
-The massages at the spa were dirt cheap and really wonderful.
-The reservation only restaurants were generally really good. Pretty decent food and the waiters did a great job of making you feel pampered.

The Bad:
- The pressure to leave a 20$ deposit for a "welcome breakfast". Though they said it was not a timeshare presentation, it might as well have been. We didnt go but it sounded like a waste of precious vacation time.
- The buffets and room service left much to be desired. By the end of our 6 day stay we were more than ready to eat something else.

For us, the beach vendors were more of a neutral than a good or bad. While you did have to wave them off constantly, they were generally pretty respectful if you werent interested. My husband loved it because "you can just lay on the beach with a guy bring you drinks and the shopping walks by". While most of it was junk, if you are patient some authentic stuff does go by that is worth looking it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
idaho
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the GCP last November and again this past May. There were noticeable changes from the first visit. The bars that had opened early in the AM (7:00AM) opened much later this time. We really enjoyed the 7:00AM opening in November in order to have Baileys in our coffee in the morning. Sometimes you would stand at the bar around 10:00 AM and no employees were present...
Some of the personnel we enjoyed on our first visit were no longer there and the service around the pool started much later than before.
On the plus side, since we were returning customers, they had a "welcome back dinner"; which was fabulous and very much appreciated. We also had the placque by our room with our name on it (it was taken down before our departure, which I would suggest they wait until after you left, so you don't feel like you are no longer appreciated).
On a negative note there were several "younger adults" (18 or a bit older) who took over the place for about four days, they were always served first and sometimes second while we stood by trying to get waited on. One time we waiting over 1/2 hour to get a beer, while the "kids" were gulping away. I think the "adult" age should be raised as this was not what we have in mind when we visit an adults only resort.
Pauley was fantastic, as usual. We most likely will try this resort one more time to see if the hiccups have been corrected, if not, we'll move on.

Room Tip: They all face the water, the higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wicked1Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

As soon as we arrived we were told by the check in desk to tip everyone since they are not payed well. Then we were directed to a woman who gave us the map of the resort and instantly went on to trie and sell us massages, etc. through the hotel. We told her repeatedly that we were tired and just wanted to get to our room. We eventually just walked away to find the room ourselves.
The room was dirty, counters not wiped and toilet paper stuck to toilet. The bed was incredibly hard and there was no fridge. The view was nice.
The buffet was horrible and the drinks watered down. The employees didn't smile much and we felt like we were Inconveniencing them.
We are not high maintenance people and had low expectations to begin with. We would have been better off not going to an all inclusive. We ate out a lot anyways.
It wasn't until we were there a couple days that we realized the food and service at the sister resort was much better. But it was kid madness! So we just went there to eat and brought our drinks back with us.
All in all, you could stay somewhere much better for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Btwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 km away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#49 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,659 reviews
5.5 km away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
536 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,553 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#38 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,641 reviews
3.5 km away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta

Property: Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta
Address: Av. de las Garzas S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,551 - ₹ 31,573
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Crown Paradise All Inclusive Resort where our unmatched personalized and friendly service are a cut above the rest with a great location just 10 minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the International Airport. As an adults-only all-inclusive resort, our focus is on pampering, tranquility, and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Golden Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing