We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful staff, tired hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful staff, tired hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

The best thing about this property are the wonderful people who staff it. They are friendly and helpful, much nicer than the more modern Flamingos property. But the rooms -- at least where we were put, two different rooms away from the ocean -- are tired and in need of updating. Internet is available, but does not work. The pools are fine, but in need of repair and the loungers are worn out. And beware of the time share pitch. Young twenty-somethings will greet you when you check in, telling you about the city, then pitch heavily a "visit" to the new property, Villa del Palmar Flamingos for a 90-minute time share pitch. The really seem to believe it is just 90 minutes. But, the Flamingos people are the worst kind of flim-flamming time share salesmen, so stay away from them.

Room Tip: make sure the room is clean..ask to see it before you accept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skmpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    731
    319
    161
    102
See reviews for
721
820
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We just came back from our stay at Villa Del Palmar. Great location, close to everything. The staff was great! Pool is not surrounded by a jungle or enclosed so you get the nice cool breeze which you don't get in other hotels. I am disappointed at the decor and the moldy smell of the place. It is very outdated-straight from the 80's. The first room we got smelled soooo moldy, mildewy that I didn't sleep the whole night. The couch smelled like it was left in a dumpster for a few months. I asked to be moved to another room before we all got lung cancer. The new room was much better, sunny and didn't smell though every time it rained we had towels placed all over the room for the leaking ceiling. I probably won't stay here again due to the moldy smell of the rooms but everything besides the room was great. We were only in the room from bedtime to early morning just so we didn't have to inhale the moldy air.

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the ocean or gets lots of sun so that the smell is minimized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I owned a time-share condominium here for over 20 years. The property is beautiful with all the amenities one would expect from a luxury resort. And the service is exceptional. Great swimming pools, fine exercise equipment, two jacuzzis, perfect for the luxury resort experience. It's a quick bus or taxi ride to the heart of Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanMcIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Went o PV in May on a deal- stayed 5 days in Punta De Mita then to VDP. Home away from home. Great room- great AC- it was really HOT Good AI program. Upgraded us toa ocean front room. Pools were great, drinks were great. Hurricane BUD rolled in nefore we left- cozy and fun

Room Tip: Building one or two
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacksplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Villa del Palmar Vallarta in April of 2012. We had a wonderful time. The staff was wonderful, the rooms were kept spotless. The grounds are beautiful. Had fun swimming and lounging around the pools. All the food we had was very good! We enjoyed time at the spa on 2 different days and it was wonderful!! I had the hot rocks therapy massage and it was so wonderful I cannot even describe it!! Alan our bell boy was most helpful and friendly, and always with a smile on his face!! He was a great asset for us as we speak very little Spanish and he speaks very good English. I hear he has been promoted to working at the front desk! How wonderful. He is a great guy! Roberta was our housekeeper and she kept our room beautiful and added special little surprises everyday. Our stay was wonderful. I am planning my next trip back now. As far as vendors on the beach, it is fine, they have it roped off so they are not allowed to bother you unless you show an interest. Also we had no problem what so ever related to timeshare sales. We used the bus many times while we were there. Stops right out front. Easy to get to the downtown, or to Walmart or the Marina. Was a wonderful trip.....and for all who wonder, we felt perfectly safe on our trip there. Did not need to worry at all. Was a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wannagooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
4.5 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
4.5 km away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.5 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.9 km away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
14.1 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,938 - ₹ 15,643
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing