We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but crowded”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mexico City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice but crowded”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is the most affordable hotel form this chain in Puerto Vallarta. It's nicely maintained but it’s a big complex with a lot of rooms, so if you are looking for some quiet time, this may not be the place for you. But it would be a great option for a family traveling with kids.

Service was always very nice and cheerful.

The front beach is great with nice lounge chairs on the beach to lie in. The pool is huge. I loved that there are some live animals around the property, so you may be greeted by an iguana or a peacock in the gardens.

Restaurants have mainly buffet-style food.

Gym is super small (2 treadmills and 2 elliptical). Internet is charged independently and is quiet expensive for Mexican standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher floors for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,727
    667
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,478
1,198
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Velas,we have been owners since 1998,and have seen many improvements to the property. The grounds are spectacular,the food was great.Our favorite restaurant is the beach front [Riberia] and the waitress Rinalda was the best! The waiters around the pool Tino,Francisco,and Martin were wonderful keeping us all very happy.We were dissapointed that the veggies were not served poolside in the afternoons,along with the cool towels.The umbrellas around the pool were tattered,torn and theradbare,and really need to be replaced.The Lobby bar still needs to be upgraded,we have waited for this for many years,an adults only bar and dance place could be made upstairs for additional entertainment in the evenings.All that said,we had a nice time,the weather was wonderful the taxis to and from the airport was great too,we will be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellieandleefis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our second time staying at Velas and once again have found the resort to be fantastic. We travel frequently and this is our favorite resort. The food, service and facilities are outstanding. The staff go out of their way to fulfill your every need. We would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We went through RCI had a 3 bedroom suite and found it to be very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The first week of April was like a dream. I have been to Puerto Vallarta 5 times and this last visit was unforgetable because of Velas Vallarta and the company that went with us.

There were 30 of us staying at the resort. Friends and family from all over the US joined us at Velas to celebrate our wedding. Let me say that it is difficult to organize a group of 30 and make sure everyone is having a good time. But at this resort, I didn't have to worry.

The check-in process took a while because each adult had to pay the all-inclusive, get their passport copied, and get their bracelet. But the guy at the front desk was awesome and patient and fun. We were served drinks during this process. After a long flight and customs, its nice to have a fantastic greeting.

Once in the rooms, we all we amazed at the size, cleanliness, and view. I travel to Europe and New York and room sizes like Velas are a luxury in comparison. We settled in and headed down to the Andrea restaurant for our welcome dinner. The dining staff had us in stiches. They introduced us to the area and resort. We went back to the restuarant many times during our stay. The food was amazing, but the service was even better. The same servers and managers were there all week. They didn't have a day off. They said they didn't mind because it was a holiday week and they were happy to earn extra money to make up for the weeks they didn't get as many hours.

The next day we lounged at the pool and the staff there also amazed us. They were dancing and laughing with us. Bringing our kids endless virgin Pina Coladas and bringing the grown-ups libations to make all our worries melt away. My 3 sisters and friends kept saying "I needed this!" The swim up bar was the favorite. It was like Vegas, only much more beautiful. We spent alot of time in the pools and lazy river at Velas. We enjoyed the music, the sun, the ice cream bar, the staff, and the temperature of the water. It was so much fun.

On Sunday we laughed until our stomachs hurt at the Mexican Fiesta. The entertainment was the best part. The food was great too, but one dish was super spicy. We laughed at the tears that swelled up in our eyes. That's authentic Mexican for ya!!

The boys did their bachelor party at the resort. I wasn't there, but I heard later, that they had an amazing time. Their only frustration was the choice of music the DJ played. The boys offered to give him some more variety for music of all ages, not just top 20 hits. The other guests were great too. They jumped right into the party.

Us ladies also decided to forgo Salsa dancing at nearby bar because we got wrapped up in the fun at Velas. As we walked through the lobby, my girlfriend got dragged up on stage for a mime show. Since they pulled her up, she insisted they bring me up too. This was not your ordinary mime show. It was funny, suggestive, and entertaining. After the show, the crowd lingered so the mime and his crew turned it into another party. We danced with people from Canada, Mexico, Texas, Europe and more. My feet were aching by the end of the night. We topped it off with watching the moon over the beach and swimming in the ocean. It was a great Bachelorette night.

For the wedding day, we had so many photos opportunities around the resort as the boys and friends were getting ready. My daughter, mother, sisters and I went to the place we got married early in the morning. The wedding was fantastic and we all arrived back at the resort at midnight.

The night before we left we did a sunset photo session to "Trash the Dress". I included pictures of how beautiful the resort showcased this opportunity. We ended the photo session with a plunge in the pool and the chemicals cleaned my dress :). And throughout the photo session, guests and staff alike gave thoughtful congratulatory comments and applause. It was very cool.

On our last day we all were very sad to leave. It was like a dream and I am very thankful we chose Velas to make it so. We will be going back for our Anniversary for many years to come. Thank you to all at Velas for a wonderful memory!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jena2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2012

i was in mexcio staying at the velas for my sisters wedding. i have stayed at this resort once before. not only was i impressed with the cleanliness, energetic atmoshpere, accomodating staff and a great product. All of the staff were great but there was one man imperticular that i will remeber forever. Being a restaurant owner i know the importance of customer service and this man (Jacinto) went above and beyond on everything asked and sometimes without even asking. This man needs to be recognized and i have recommended this hotel to several people because of his hospitable demeanor. Thank you so much Jacinto for making my holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam' R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.4 km away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,547 reviews
0.4 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,149 reviews
6.4 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,772 reviews
5.6 km away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,344 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,729 - ₹ 57,099
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing