We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful 360 tropical view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Tules Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Tules Resort
Ranked #51 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful 360 tropical view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our three bedroom 4 bath penthouse was nicer than we expected. We read another reviewer's comment regarding the neighboring disco and requested a unit far away from bld # 6. We stayed in bld # 13 in the third floor penthouse. It was spacious, plenty of room for six adults with a huge balcony overlooking the pool (one of many) and the ocean and palm trees everywhere. The master had a private balcony in addition to the one off the living room. My husband liked the gas cooking and there was also an oven. The beds were comfortable and the unit had been updated. There are lots of stairs up to the condo. More than half the units are privately owned, so you will see pets. The pool bar/ restaurant had very good and reasonably priced food and $4. Margaritas all day. Happy hour was daily from 4 till 5. You'll like it....we did.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LizzzW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    167
    56
    29
    42
See reviews for
176
99
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you like massive pools, schedule of activities and lots of interaction with other vacationers, this is not the resort for you!
15 minute drive from the airport, the resort can be identified easily by a orange enterance gate. Lavishly landscaped grounds, beautiful palms and a cobblestone driveway (charming but I winced for our rental car) lead up to pretty fountains near the check in lobby. A friendly agent walked us through the check in (allow for about 20 minutes, details like counting out exact number of remotes, keys, towels etc take a lot of time) and then a very informative lady (Nora) gave us some basic area information and maps along with a mild timeshare offer. I understand the need to catch guests at this time, but 30 minutes into the check in process, my kids were getting restless and she could have offered the world and I couldn't have confirmed. They need to rethink this. But it was very low pressure, and polite.
We had unit 5-306 -a wonderful 3 bedroom unit right at the beach front. The resort has about 8 pools and one poolside cafe. We were lucky to have one of the bigger pools right there with free wireless access. The cafe had a variety of offerings - appetizers like nachos, quesadillas, ceviche ($6-15), breakfast items, light sandwiches and then fajitas, enchiladas etc ($12-25). While the food is not very americanized, it is very bland. Happy hour every evening.
The pools are small, but not crowded. Same with the beach just steps away. Much fewer vendors at the beach than at Cancun or Cabo.
Practical Info: Soriana - a local supermarket is right across the street. It has a great bakery for your daily pastries. Walmart/ Sams Club are just 10 minutes away - and offers $7 roast chickens, fresh basic sushi, a variety of salsa and tortillas, all the ingredients of cheap, easy to put together meals. Fruit - mango, papaya, pineapple were plentifully available, but not as flavorfull as other mexican cities I have visited. It may just be that we were visiting earlier in the year than usual. Boardwalk (20 minutes away, parking is painful) has crepe stands (my girls preferred these to the crepes in paris), fresh fruit, tacos, seafood on a stick (we did not try). Juice stands, so popular elsewhere in Mexico, were hard to find. Lots of icecream everywhere!

Details on the condo: CLEAN!! I know this is a major issue. I wasn;t fond of the list of cutlery and plates I was asked to verify (we did find a couple missing so maybe this is a valid concern) but it was annoying to count out everything. No bugs - dawn and dusk, there are tiny little biters in the air but they didn't bother the girls much.All the bathrooms had showers, very clean floors and ample sink space with drawers to tuck away toiletries. Each room has individual air conditioning units, but I urge you to use the fans instead. Everyone was very helpful. While wifi was only steps away, it would have made life perfect if they had it in the rooms.
We did try to drive to the canopy tour, but missed the turnoff on the beautiful coastal drive south. We found the zoo - a special highlight for my younger one who is fond of cats. She was able to interact with a 3 month old tiger cub.

This was a particularly lazy visit for all of us, so I can't report on the water sports vendors. We divided our time between the condo and the pool and the bakeries :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alkashingwekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Los Tules has less of a "hotel" feel and more of a "resort" flavor. The buildings are scattered among several acres of palms trees and lush green gardens. The timeshare units feature a full kitchen and all water on the property is filtered for we gringos. The staff are extremely helpful and attentive. The only issue is the new nightclub next door, as music blares from roughly midnight until 5, 6 or even 9 in the morning! Even with the doors closed and fan/air conditioner running, it couldn't drown out the awful boom-boom-boom! If you are booking a stay, I would highly suggest you book on the side away from building 6 and the canal. The food at the on-site restaurant was absolutely delicious. (For the internet junkies, the restaurant has free wi-fi available, too.)

As for the overall location, it's a quick 5 or 10 minute bus ride to downtown...or a 50 peso taxi return. The boardwalk has been completely redone and is "pedestrians-only". It makes strolling so much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: As noted, ensure your room is away from building 6 and you'll sleep much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have been going to Puerto Vallarta, Los Tules Resort every year for twenty years. We have never had a problem and you are so well looked after that you wish you could stay forever. A packaged vacation 20 years ago turned into a lifetime love affair with the hotel and the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the centre of the property and then you will avoid noise from other properties in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The reviews of the resort are quite accurate. This is a GREAT location. We have been fixed week time share owners for 9 years. There is little ability to re-sell at this resort.
We love the Mexican charm of the resort. The resort grounds are lovely and the pools are very nice, although it always a question about which will be heated from year to year. The unit we stay in is well maintained although somewhat dated...some wishes for the resort over the years....safes for every room...only one in the unit, but there are safe deposit boxes at the main desk.....a larger bed in the 3rd bedroom (full size is uncomfortable for 2 adults)...wish they supplied body cream as well as shampoo... many of pool chairs need replacing...WiFi is an additional cost...
The staff is helpful and courteous. Housekeeping is great.

This is NOT the fault of Los Tules management but the new disco next to the resort is UNbearable....your body shakes with the deep booming base...and it truly does go all night.
The creek that runs along side the resort was especially smelly this year ( this is supposedly being looked into by environmental groups). These issues would probably not be important if you stayed in a building other than 6.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#66 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.5 km away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#53 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 km away
Los Tules Villas del Sol
Los Tules Villas del Sol
#22 of 90 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bellamar Ocean Front Suites
Bellamar Ocean Front Suites
#105 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.6 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
1.4 km away
Buganvilias Vacation Club
Buganvilias Vacation Club
#50 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tules Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tules Resort

Property: Los Tules Resort
Address: Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio s/n | Zona Hotelera C.P., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,972 - ₹ 12,614
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Tules Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Tules Park Royal is located within Los Tules right in the hotel zone in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. An oceanfront condominium-style resort located 2 miles from the airport and 3 mile from downtown Vallarta. Los Tules is nestled on a twenty-acre plantation of coconut palms fronting a half-mile of beautiful sandy Bandera's Bay beach. Stroll along the brick-tile footpaths, through lush tropical gardens to your private colonial Mediterranean style condo. All rooms are designed to be used as separate units with individual entrances but can be combined into a full condominium with interconnecting doors, should the same party book more than one room. You can also enjoy our 7 swimming pools, 4 children pools, poolside restaurant-bar, 5 lighted Tennis courts and if you like golf, Puerto Vallarta's most challenging golf courses are just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Los Tules Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tules Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Los Tules
Los Tules Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing