We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #33 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I say beware because of hidden charges and limited access to things such as the pool and services. We are staying here right now with an all inclusive package, which is really partly inclusive. We stayed here a few years ago and it was truly all inclusive, however that is not the case now. If you have all inclusive you cannot order off the menu for breakfast, only the buffet. You can only use one of the pool bars, only drink tap beer, no cans or top shelf drinks. You also have to pay $10 a DAY to use the fridge in your room, because of course that too does not come with the all inclusive package. They do not sell beer in the two stores either. You also need to note the CONVENTION center on the name. There is currently a large company doing an event here which means the hotel guests have no rights what so ever. They currently have half the pool area empty for the company event, this was the same thing yesterday. They did not use the space until 6 pm, so half the pool sat empty for the entire day for no reason. They will not let you put chairs there because that is "for the group". They have been playing loud, I mean loud music until 11pm the last two nights making it very very hard to sleep. The hotel also plays music by the pool very loud and some songs, I counted 3 that include the F word which was a nice touch for all the kids around the pool. We stayed here a few years ago and it was truley all inclusive, that has changed and I would not suggest staying here and I certainly would not do the partially inclusive package that is sold as an all inclusive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,061 - 2,065 of 3,802 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was only our second all inclusive vacation and we were extremely disappointed. To begin with the timeshare people did not leave you alone. You could only eat at the alacarte restaurants once, while the food was good the service in the restaurant was aweful. The buffets hardly ever changed they were pretty much the same every night, our only saving grace was the hotel was only half full so we could order off the menu, our waiters in the buffet were awesome. The hotel also offered no evening entertainment except for the fiesta one night which was ok. The beach was nothing to write home about. The upside the rooms were nice and clean. Would definatleyl NOT recommend staying here especially for the money, totally not worth it

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Laurie:

With great concern I learnt about your opinion after your experience in our resort. We deeple regret your insatisfaction, we appreciate your insight and you can rest assured, we will amend our food service flaws and upgrade our buffet variety. We will analyse our current sales aproach techniques to satisfy our guest convenience.

We sincerely hope your giviing us the opportunity to host you once again on your next visit to Vallarta and permitt us demonstrate the progress in our food diversity and service betterment.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

after reading many reviews, my husband & i booked 7 days at the sheraton, during the third week of january 2012. this was our first all-inclusive. besides the pesky time share salespeople, the rest of the staff was professional and cordial, almost all spoke fluent english. the room was clean,beds were comfy-except that they were doubles... the safe fit our 15x9inch laptop, there was free wi-fi and the view was absolutely breathtaking! the decor was modern, the landscaping spectacular and the pools were fabulous.the tv had english channels! yes, tipping enhances service, but that was expected. we ate in all the restaurants and enjoyed the many choices. i am a vegetarian & found plenty to my liking! The drinks were quality-nothing watered down here! nearly daily we walked to town and felt very safe. Tennis courts were top-notch. Hotel hosted a fiesta with entertainment, food and fireworks-definitely go! we were lucky to have great weather as well..
definitely worth more than we paid.
tips if you go :
bring a transformer for your laptop-due to power irregularities your power source will get fried within a week,
tennis court has a dress code-bring proper footwear,
always wear sunscreen, takes no time to get burnt even though it doesnt feel that hot!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beatrixhulewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and i just got back from PVR and stayed at the Sheraton for 5 nights and had a great time. Downtown is just a quick 5-10 city bus ride away(only 6.5 pesos per person, per trip). The room was great. Awesome view. All rooms are Ocean view as far as we could tell. We did not do the all-inclusive and we were glad we didn't. There are only really two restaurants on the property, and PVR has MANY great places to eat. The staff was great. Everything was nice and clean. If you want a shaded chair by the pool, go down early and throw a towel over your chair. The two pools were huge and really nice. the shore is pretty rocky, i don't think we saw anybody in the ocean the whole time we were there. Overall it was a great time.

Room Tip: Go eat at Cafe des Artistes, it is absolutely amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UnkleTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed with my wife for 1 week. Frankly I've never been at an all-inclusive, and this was my first taste of such. My wife has been to many, and she was not impressed.
Pros: only 15 minute car ride from airport
15 minute WALK to downtown area/Malecon
mostly pleasant waiters/support staff
Fresh fruit @ buffets (I love papaya now!)
every room is ocean view
free wifi!

cons: Rooms are small and simple
buffet limited on choices of food/was bare minimum compared to other All-Inclu's (as per wife)
beach was rocky/waves to0 strong to swim (but that's mother nature-I guess I can't blame hotel)
even though we tipped,some waiters gave more attention to ppl who paid $$, not all-inclus'
the "fancy" restaurant could only be used ONCE the whole stay
watch out for the "time-share" ppl

However, we did have a great time, and we could over look most of the cons. despite the limited buffet, I did gain 5 lbs returning. I should also note- the security is top-notch, we felt safe around the area, even very late. Security even stops drivers to obtain guest rm # and driver name.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank coenzymea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Dear guest from Alberta:

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor's readers, your insight will enlighten future travelers to our destination and to our beautiful Resort.

We appreciate your dedication to highlight importan aspects to be considered to have a succesfull trip for an excellent price. Your point of view in regards to our service and facilities will help us correct and improve areas of opportunity.

We look forward to your next visit to the Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.7 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#28 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,660 reviews
4.3 km away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
811 reviews
2.8 km away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#42 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,865 reviews
2.8 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,895 reviews
4.1 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#36 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: ₹ 7,707 - ₹ 25,414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport, our resort in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico offers many opportnities to appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon or enjoy easy travel on a business or leisure trip. Stay with us and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church. Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing