We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Palmas by the Sea
Ranked #35 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Worst place to take your children to! Food is awful. In the summer, river wash-out is near by, so prepare to have river-like experience in a muddy waters and tree branches on shore. Stay away, and move as far away from the PV, to avoid swimming in the mud. Go to as far sideways as possible, where river/s doesn't flow deep enough to affect the ocean waters.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Milan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    548
    340
    159
    139
See reviews for
573
471
63
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Las Palmas is an older property, with good points and bad points...............the good..........staff are EXCELLENT, extremely helpful and many speak English, rooms recently renovated and are large in size, location very convenient for getting to town or a tour pick up at the Marina (for Vallarta Adventure's office). Hotel is located on the beach and the sunsets from here are spectacular, as is the view of the downtown area especially when there are fireworks. The bad.................the food left plenty to be desired and althougth it was all inclusive I found myself eating out most of the time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Had a great vacation at Las Palmas from Feb 23 - March 7! The people at this hotel are very friendly and caring...the hotel is very clean, the food is great, the pools are beautiful, the shows were great, the beach is nice! Gina, Anjelica, Antonio, Salvatore, Carlos, Manuel, and Andrea all made our visit exceptional! We are hoping to return next year!
Scott, Marian, Brandon and Colin Maxwell.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Las Palmas, despite being on students' budgets. We came for our Spring Break, which is apparently later than in other places, as we experienced nothing as rowdy as what other reviewers went through. For the price (less than a coastal Motel 6/Super 8 in the U.S.), it was an incredible value - not 5-star, but way better than a hostel for not much more money.

The grounds, while older, were meticulously maintained, and every staff member clearly took pride in the place. The adult pool was warm & perfectly clean (I saw them clean it every single day we were there!), and we had no problem getting pool chairs like some other reviewers. The jacuzzi, however, was always full. The beach was small but nice (no big rocks, sticks, trash, etc.), and the ocean was warm & perfect for mild body-surfing. There were areas for beach volleyball, as well as shaded huts in the sand with lounge chairs.

The hotel is definitely noisy. Each shower has a vent into the open echoing hallway, the walls are thin, and music/PA activities (bingo, games, salsa dancing) are happening from 7AM-10:30PM, although all morning/afternoon, the music is tropical "smooth jazz" type - no crazy beats. Most of the other noise came from kids running & playing in the hallways. (If possible, management might be wise to put people with kids on the "kids' pool" side for this reason.) I am a light sleeper, so I brought earplugs, and with those I had no problem sleeping through the night. My boyfriend slept fine without them.

It was somewhat crowded with a mixture of Americans, Canadians, & locals, but a small resort overall. Most of the activity is centered around the "kids' pool" area, so we requested a room overlooking the mellower "adults' pool" area. We also paid the $7/night for Ocean View, which was well worth it because we had an awesome balcony from which we could see & hear the ocean.

The room itself was quaint and very clean, with a hairdryer in the bathroom, and remotes for the TV available at the front desk. The safe was too small to hold my MacBook Air, but fit all of our other valuables, and we never had any security issues during our stay. The showers were barely lukewarm the first day of our stay, but the problem resolved itself by day two. They had A/C, but we didn't use it The beds were certainly harder than ours at home, but manageable, especially since we were pretty exhausted from beachgoing/sightseeing every day.

We didn't do all-inclusive as we wanted to try to get a better deal on food, but everything they served smelled amazing & looked very fresh. Luckily, Las Palmas is a short walking distance to several corner stores, a Soriana (Mexican version of Super-Wal-Mart), a mall, fast food joints (KFC, Pizza Hut, Burger King), and many local restaurants, cafes, & taco stands.

For a longer walk (~30 minutes) either through town or along the beach, or a bus ride, you can be downtown, where there are plentiful food & entertainment options. The buses that run along the main street stop every few blocks and travel from the airport, past Las Palmas, then to downtown for only $6.5P (~$0.50US), which can get you to all kinds of food, bars, tours, airport, etc. along that strip. The Cinemark movie theater in the mall near Las Palmas is really cheap (~$4US a person for the prime evening times in 2D, and ~$6US for 3D!), but be sure you are catching a movie that is in English with Spanish subtitles. The Las Palmas staff was very helpful with our questions about getting around & things to see in the vicinity.

Which brings up an important final point: While everyone at Las Palmas speaks at least some English, the same cannot be said outside of the resort. You can save a pretty significant amount of money and have a great time exploring by going the non-all-inclusive route, but you will have to know some basic Spanish (a Spanish-English dictionary + some very rusty “formerly-fluent” high school Spanish was sufficient). Every local we came across was very understanding, friendly, and just seemed happy to see tourists using their language.

In all, the prime location of Las Palmas, as well as the hardworking staff, can make for an awesome, inexpensive vacation for the slightly adventurous!

Room Tip: $7/night upgrade to Ocean View is totally worth it. Request a room by the "adults' pool&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mgmarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We booked our vacation on Thursday and left on Saturday so it was very last minute. I scanned 5-6 reviews before booking just to get a general feel....that way if everyone is talking about one specific thing...you might want to think twice. We really enjoyed Las Palmas...the resort is small....which is nice...but being small it does have certain restrictions...such as the snack bar opens late and in the evening it turns into the A La Carte restaurant (which you can only go to once for dinner)...so if you don't like what's on the dinner buffet....oh well-you have to go out for dinner. The buffets were very good...nice variety. The all inclusive alcohol is only served until 11:00 PM after which you have to pay per drink....that was totally fine with us-we're not big drinkers anyway....BUT....what annoyed me was that you ALSO have to pay for Pepsi etc. We got back to the resort one night about 11:05 PM and my 9 year old wanted a pepsi...I understand having to pay for the booze...we knew that going in...but pop....seriously?? it cost us $2.00 for one of the little plastic cups of fountain drink.
The beds are AWFUL to sleep on. It's a poured concrete slab with a mattress on it...careful you don't sit down too hard cause you might crack your tailbone. Woke up every few hours just to roll over & you really notice it when you get up in the morning. We did get somewhat used to it after a few nights....but seriously uncomfortable to sleep on...especially if you have any amount of sunburn.
Las Palmas is in a good location...easy to get downtown to the Malecon or Wal-Mart. It's an older resort but it was well kept....our room was cleaned everyday. Staff was very friendly.
The ONLY reason that I would not stay at Las Palmas again is the beds...everything else met or exceeded my expectations of a 3+ star resort.

Room Tip: Our room was not an Ocean View room...we considered upgrading and went to look at the Ocean View roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.9 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,600 reviews
1.7 km away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,821 reviews
0.3 km away
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Reso...
#34 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#23 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,420 reviews
0.7 km away
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive ...
#20 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,054 reviews
0.1 km away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#45 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas by the Sea

Property: Las Palmas by the Sea
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,321 - ₹ 22,315
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Las Palmas by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most refreshing way to vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Unwind together in our oceanfront Jacuzzi with panoramic view. Play in our two sparkling pools. Enjoy our beach club, with its wide range of activities. Indulge in a soothing massage. Treat your palate to delicious cuisine and cocktails at our restaurants and bars. Check out our nightly shows. At Las Palmas by the Sea you will enjoy your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Palmas by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas By The Sea Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Sea Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Resort
Las Palmas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing