We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 479
US$ 203
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
US$ 90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 296
US$ 280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$ 153
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
US$ 439
US$ 350
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$ 192
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$ 411
US$ 314
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posada de Roger(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$ 40
US$ 38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$ 184
US$ 139
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,182)
Filter reviews
5,182 results
Traveller rating
2,376
1,524
613
371
298
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,376
1,524
613
371
298
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cantinala jollaclub premiumspanish restaurantdon quixotebug bitesgrand master suitesnack barpremium roomno see umsfamily suitefeed the animalsbaby tigerssand fleasspecialty restaurantsel edenbring bug spray
Filter
Updating list...
2,152 - 2,157 of 5,182 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Most terrible experience we've ever had. Hotel obviously offers great discounts for weekends, so natives come in hordes. There is no siesta, music and drinking until 2 in the morning. Smoking permitted in the rooms. Air conditioning is pulling smoke from other rooms. All in all it is impossible to get a good night sleep: noise until after 2am, and then smoke from 4-5am. All rooms except Master Suites are facing the pool and the Bar. No place to hide from noise. Complaining about it is meaningless. During our stay they hosted Dirt Biker/ATV Convention. Dirt and dust everywhere, drinking and shouting until 4am. During the week service is greatly altered. Food is worse during the week,
The only respite is the Ocean if you consider swimming in it.
We will never come back to this resort.

Room Tip: Only Master suite is appropriate if you want to slip at night with balcony open.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alexaander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Guest:

Above all I would like to thank you for your time to share your comments and I take this opportunity to send you a sincere apology for the non-intentional incidents that you experienced during your stay.

Regarding the food I would like to say that our Buffets are liked by the majority of our guests so they let us know in the surveys we carry out in the resort. It is unfortunate that your family did not enjoy our cuisine in spite of the variety of meals offered in our Buffet Restaurant.

Throughout the year our hotel receives different kind of national and international tourism, such as couples, families and groups, we regret that the recent group has disturbed your tranquility and relaxation.

I am very sorry since we didn´t meet your expectations because for Barceló Puerto Vallarta the main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve.

We trust to have you here again the next time and give us the opportunity to show the true service of Barceló Puerto Vallarta with which we are building our reputation.

We do appreciate your comments and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Barcelo of Puerto Vallarta is a nice, well kept hotel. Guess it was built over 30 years ago, but since they maintain it constantly it looks really nice. The rooms are upgraded with marble and tiles, and are specious. The view is breathtaking! jungle and the ocean literally together. The rooms are mostly junior suites so they are comfy enough for a family of 4, may be even more!
The staffs are friendly and courteous. Everybody tries to help, if they can.
Mr Cain Pena, greeted us before entering the lobby, and helped us every time we needed to get a taxi, helping you get in and get out of the taxi. Over all if you are a nature person , you will like the place. And by the way, it is very family oriented too. Hope they keep it that way.

PS: we stayed at suite # 1820, the view was absolutely gorgeous and Juana kept our room always tidy and clean, and couple flowers on our table, Nice touch Juana!
Bobby and Nadereh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I, along with 2 other couples, just got back from a great week at the Barcelo. This was our first time staying at a Barcelo property and we were not disappointed!! We've stayed at many all inclusive resorts and this one was one of the nicest.
The pools are amazing!! We never had any trouble finding a chair in a great spot and there were 6 of us. The resort was pretty empty though since it is the off season. The beach isn't the greatest but not nearly as bad as some people on here have described it. It is a bit small and the sand is a little rocky but it really isn't that bad. The worst part about the beach are the people selling stuff. They are ruthless and won't leave you alone.
But for us, the pools definitely made up for the lack of beach.
The rooms are very nice and very big. We didn't do the upgrade and honestly we didn't feel like we missed out on anything,
Check in was smooth and we didn't have any problem with the staff. They were all very nice to us. However, we booked with Funjet and right now they are running a promotion where you get unlimited a la cart dinners and 2 days free internet. I had read on hear that they acted like they didn't know anything about this so I made sure that I printed out something that specifically said that we get that. Sure enough, they acted like they had no idea what we were talking about. Luckily I had that paper and they honored it for us.
The food at the buffet was pretty good with a good variety. The a la cart dinner's were also good. The steak and seafood was our groups favorite!
One thing that we didn't like were the shows. We were in there with other families that had young kids and the first group to come out were wearing practically nothing with see-through tops. It made us uncomfortable being there with so many young children that we left 5 minutes into it. We decided to give the show another chance and it was the same thing! It felt a little trashy!
This hotel is about 30-40 minutes from the airport and down town. We took a bus in to town that picked us up right across from the hotel and it was only $1.00 a person. Way better than paying $30.00 for a taxi. (each way) The bus ride wasn't that bad either and it picks up every 15 minutes or so. We also visited the zoo across the street. It was $10 a person and not worth it if you ask me. It was pretty run down and you can tell the animals aren't very well taken care of. They have baby tigers you can hold but they charge $40 and they have them chained up in a small holding area. It was pretty sad! I would not recommend going to the zoo.
Overall, we had a great week at the Barcelo and we would for sure stay there again! It was very relaxing with amazing pools, beautiful grounds, great staff and spacious, comfortable rooms! If you don't have a good time here there is something wrong with you!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and had a great view of the pool and ocean! Anything on the upper floors would be great!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Irek5374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I actually took notes from prior reviews to be best prepared. Based on the reviews, we were pleasantly expected. We visited Barcelo from September 1 through September 5. It is off season and was only occupied by around 25% so it was not crowded at all. No problem to find lounge chairs (we had our pick) and reservations at the restaurants were so available. A negative of which we can fully understand due to it being off season was that not all of the full-service restaurants were open each night so our choice was limited. As so many mentioned, the food in the buttet was just okay (not memorable) but for this price, it was a great value. The food in the restaurants (although not fine dining cuisine) was a step above the buffet. As so many mentioned, the rooms were very spacious and clean. Service throughout the resort was great. I have to agree with the majority is that the only place that the service was less than stellar (not very friendly or accommodating) was the front desk. Barcelo should get that corrected as this is where first and lasting impressions are made. This was our first all inclusive and we will definitely do it again. Next time, we will go for an adult only. I am not quite sure what people are thinking of bringing infants to a place like this and have them screaming during dinner, etc. Seems a bit selfish to me and the infants are too small to enjoy or even know that they are at a resort. The only other recommendation for Barcelo is to enforce a children-only pool. There were children in all of the pools.

Room Tip: No need to pay more for a premium room but ask for a room above the 4th floor to get above the palm trees.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElDoradoHillsCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

4 nights at Barcelo, Puerto Vallarta! Great hotel and wonderful views from our Grand Master Suite! Great service and staff! Loved the Premium Club, well worth the extra cost. Rooms and views could not have been better!

Room Tip: We were in the Grand Master Suite in the South Tower. Awesome views and extremely large. (over 1500 square feet). Amazing!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dejackson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews