We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #31 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the westin PV.

Pros:
Location is close to downtown 5 minute can ride and close to the marina.
Pools are great although the ones at the Regina look nicer
Staff is very friendly

Cons:
Infrastructure. This hotel has great potential. The infrastructure needs to be maintained better. New paint, redo the pools, better kept palm trees. Do something with the closed restaurant.

Worst part is the fence they put to seperate the Club Regina. It looks awful and it's chain linked.

Overall it is nice but not up to the usual westin standard.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YRamos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    639
    244
    105
    66
See reviews for
422
737
71
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Enjoyed my stay at this Westin hotel in Puerto Vallarta.

The Pros;
The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are nicely furnished. The Heavenly bed is indeed heavenly providing a wonderful nights sleep. Their bathrooms also have a heavenly shower. A very nice feature. I think most rooms have a balcony which was a nice treat if you are able to get a view of the ocean. Breathtaking. I found the service to be adequate. Front desk, the Bell Captain and concierge were very attentive and super friendly.

The Cons;
Its quite far from most of the downtown activity in Puerto Vallarta. About a 15-20 cab ride. The location is at the marina and as a result you must walk a bit out of your way to find different restaurant options. There is a mall (really overpriced stores, deals are scarce and hard to come by) about 5 min cab ride away.

The set-up in the room. The bathroom looks really nice with a nice tub and a glass stand up shower. However this bathroom has an interesting set of double windows that open up between the bathroom and the bedroom.These wooden set of windows fold out and can be opened from the outside as well as from the inside the bathroom. I really did not like this as at some point as was joined by a friend and we both found this awkward and lacking privacy. It might be all-right for couples that have no privacy concerns but challenging for anyone else.

The services available throughout the hotel from the spa to the massages, I found to be quite overpriced. It is a beautiful property but I felt they could have more completive prices. I had one there and it was very good but still overpriced. For the rest of my stay I went downtown and received amazing massages from certified masseuses for a quarter of the price. Just a thought.

As for the eating options. For a hotel this size it shockingly only has 1 restaurant. Which has a very limited menu and I must say, and very slow service. The food was good and a bit overpriced. Once again you will find better variety and amazing service downtown PVR. The hotel also has a bar on the main level and another swim up bar the closes quite early.

Tried out the tennis courts. Found them to be very decent. The hours of availability was not very good. The gym was all right but the hours are also not very good. This gym closes at 10pm! I thought the standard was 24hr gyms, not at this property.

Overall, I did enjoy my stay at this hotel and found it to be pleasant. However when I return to PVR I would choose another hotel that is closer to the heart downtown where there are a myriad of options for dining, exploring and activities. This hotel was very relaxing and very secure. The area is surrounding by the beautiful marina and many other all-inclusive resort style properties.

I would recommend this hotel to families and couples looking for relaxing vacationing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomahawktotheface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
426 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We came back to stay at the Westin Vallarta and had an amazing time just before the crowds came in for holy week. We stayed in one of the junior suites and had access to the wonderful Club lounge (always great SPG Platinum recognition at this hotel, love it!). Especially the staff in the lounge was amazing: he provided us with everything we needed, was super friendly and fun and we enjoyed going back for a sunset drink every evening as well as have breakfast in the lounge. On two nights large cruise ships left the harbour during sunset, quite a spectacular view from up there...

The room was great, well maintained and we always enjoy the Jacuzzi on the terrace. Excellent as always. Pools, bars, beach are all great and we enjoyed every moment.

If there is one thing to improve it would be dinner at the main restaurant: The fish and shrimps we had were rather bland and boring, lacked creativity (even though the menu suggested an inspired meal) and were not up to par with other seafood places in Vallarta.

Else, we will be back!

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites or at least a room with a Jacuzzi on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFLeonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I loved this hotel. I have stayed there many times and will go back evertyime i have the chance. Great staff and great property. The beach is wonderul and the pools are great.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benbartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Pros: Spacious and comfortable rooms with walk in showers and spectacular garden/city and ocean views. The Ceviche at the pool bar is a must-large portion and the best we've ever had. Located in the Marina area, great restaurants and massages are only a 10 minute walk away.

Cons: While the pool menu is reasonably priced, everything else is on the expensive side. I prefer the family atmosphere, but again this year we got stuck with an infant in an adjoining room. There is no seal between the adjoining rooms and the staff had a "couldn't care less" attitude" and make no effort to put families with infants in rooms without adjoining doors. The wireless access is terrible! The only way we go reasonable access is by unplugging the wireless and connecting directly. Even then the max speed was only about 700kps.

Recommendations: Get room without adjoining doors. Drop your bags on arrival and take a 50 Peso taxi ride to Walmart and stock up for your stay. You'll have a great time at an affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marktmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
6.4 km away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
6.4 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.8 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
2.2 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,399 - ₹ 15,061
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing