We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Spot in Puerto Vallarta”
Review of San Marino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Marino Hotel
Ranked #96 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed there on the advice of friends who have stayed there regularly for several years. Then fell in love with the place. Prices are very fair. The location is ideal, right on the beach shore. Rooms are spacious and clean showers, not what you may expect at home, but they work fine. crystal white towels are supplied on an as needed basis, ,with balconies. We take the mountain view, which is more economical, as we don't spend that much time in the room, they have ocean view rooms, which cost a bit more, and well worth it if you do not spend time on the beach. The higher up you are the better the view, there is an open walkway which allows you great views of the sea, downtown PV pending on which side you are on. Staff is very friendly,
We do not take inclusive since in the area there are many wonderful restaurants, we do have breakfast at the hotel, which is buffet style, and many choices of foods There are 2 outdoor pools, one for families, the other for adults, we prefer the ocean. One walks from the swimming pool area to the beach, the entrances have security guards, who are courteous, and well aware of those persons who are guest, since every guest is issued an armband.
Perhaps the only drawback is (and this is personal) and this is everywhere in Puerto Vallarta loud music being played in the swimming pool area, however they have turned it down upon request, the music is simply the Mexican way of life, and I am an older person, so figure!
We cannot wait to return for the Holidays in December/January

Room Tip: Please note comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neilm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

Okay....we have stayed at the San Marino Hotel 12 times, sometimes twice or 3 times in 1 year.
By all STAR standards it is what you see a 2 or 2.5 star hotel, BUT the location is to die for right at the pier...(possibly still under reconstruction) on Los Muertos beach, steps away from awesome restraunts bars and shopping!
At the San Marino you are in the fabulous Old Town area of the Zona Romantica!
The hotel itself is a little old, a tad run down, beds are pretty hard as are the pillows...BUT...
the staff are the best you will find, from the front desk staff to the great bar and wait staff, these people are 5 star!
From the moment we arrive we are greeted with smiles and hugs, and a lot of its been too long we missed you, they take the time to get to know you and remember you when you return!
Yes! we have been there many times and have been treated this way from our first visit.
So if you are travelling to P.V. dont hesitate to give the San Marino a look...unless you are looking for a 5 star Hotel..(remember the 2 stars rating), check it out!
We love it there and have never been dissapointed, thanks San marino to make our stay feel like coming "home"!

Room Tip: Front balcony suites are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pngvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

In the heart of the "better" part of PV, the wonderful gay district, the San Marino is a short walk to everything. Prices are very good, the rooms are clean and spacious. The elevator, well, I preferred the stairs, I'll just put it that way.

We had a oceanfront room with an amazing view of the beachstrip, a spacious balcony with comfy chairs to watch the sunset and sip beers.

My only complaint was that we were pressed to "upgrade" to a suite and after bartering, we took the "suite" which we were told had a fridge. We expected a kitchenette. WRONG! We entered the door into a completely, non-functional, rectangular room with a single couch on the far wall. Nothing else.
The door had no double lock, not even a chain lock.
The room had no safe.
The room had no kitchenette.
The room had no fridge.

WTF?

We made a quick call to the desk and they brought up a fridge. LOL., but we had no plates, utensil, nothing, so what's the point of having a fridge? Ah, for our beer! Thank god they were twist off caps because naturally, we had no openers.

Aside from that, I'd stay there again. I loved the bathroom with it's open shower, beautiful tiles and vessel sink.

Dee's Coffee is conveniently located across the street and that is THE place to grab your latte and yummies in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SausageQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Hard to find much nice to say other than that it's on Los Muertos beach. The elevators were so filthy, it made my skin crawl. Not even a face cloth in the bathrooms (junior suites no less).
The safe in the room had no side on it so it was useless. The ocean view suite railings are a 4 ft high solid wall, so you only have an ocean view if you want to stand on the balcony all morning. We cancelled our room and agreed to pay a one day penalty on March 15th this year, and are still waiting to see the refund to our visa. These guys are thieves. Los Arcos is just a few doors down, and is much cleaner and better managed.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gord_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

San Marino is right on the beach and is all-inclusive. The staff are awesome and the food is "OK".

Room Tip: Ask for "Junior Suite" facing ocean. Cost is a little more, but the extra room is good. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger-N-Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,896 reviews
0.2 km away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#56 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
738 reviews
0.1 km away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#63 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#25 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
835 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#27 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
323 reviews
0.2 km away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#21 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino Hotel

Address: Rodolfo Gomez 111 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: ₹ 5,669 - ₹ 9,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Puerto Vallarta, one of the most beautiful and romantic cities on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. The hotel is nestled on the beautiful beach of Playa los Muertos, with a wonderful atmosphere and tradition surrounded by hand craft shops, discotheques, and just a short walk from town. San Marino Hotel features 165 light and airy guestrooms including 25 spacious Junior Suites with all the amenities you need to relax and enjoy in a peaceful ambience.Come to San Marino Hotel where you will be greeted by our friendly staff and enjoy sunshine days and a vacation experience to treasure forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Marino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marino Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing