We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
134
243
222
123
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
243
222
123
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupgrade to a junior suitelocation is amazingplaya los muertosview of the oceanalexmaleconpvrhousekeeperservers
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Okay....we have stayed at the San Marino Hotel 12 times, sometimes twice or 3 times in 1 year.
By all STAR standards it is what you see a 2 or 2.5 star hotel, BUT the location is to die for right at the pier...(possibly still under reconstruction) on Los Muertos beach, steps away from awesome restraunts bars and shopping!
At the San Marino you are in the fabulous Old Town area of the Zona Romantica!
The hotel itself is a little old, a tad run down, beds are pretty hard as are the pillows...BUT...
the staff are the best you will find, from the front desk staff to the great bar and wait staff, these people are 5 star!
From the moment we arrive we are greeted with smiles and hugs, and a lot of its been too long we missed you, they take the time to get to know you and remember you when you return!
Yes! we have been there many times and have been treated this way from our first visit.
So if you are travelling to P.V. dont hesitate to give the San Marino a look...unless you are looking for a 5 star Hotel..(remember the 2 stars rating), check it out!
We love it there and have never been dissapointed, thanks San marino to make our stay feel like coming "home"!

Room Tip: Front balcony suites are awesome!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pngvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

In the heart of the "better" part of PV, the wonderful gay district, the San Marino is a short walk to everything. Prices are very good, the rooms are clean and spacious. The elevator, well, I preferred the stairs, I'll just put it that way.

We had a oceanfront room with an amazing view of the beachstrip, a spacious balcony with comfy chairs to watch the sunset and sip beers.

My only complaint was that we were pressed to "upgrade" to a suite and after bartering, we took the "suite" which we were told had a fridge. We expected a kitchenette. WRONG! We entered the door into a completely, non-functional, rectangular room with a single couch on the far wall. Nothing else.
The door had no double lock, not even a chain lock.
The room had no safe.
The room had no kitchenette.
The room had no fridge.

WTF?

We made a quick call to the desk and they brought up a fridge. LOL., but we had no plates, utensil, nothing, so what's the point of having a fridge? Ah, for our beer! Thank god they were twist off caps because naturally, we had no openers.

Aside from that, I'd stay there again. I loved the bathroom with it's open shower, beautiful tiles and vessel sink.

Dee's Coffee is conveniently located across the street and that is THE place to grab your latte and yummies in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SausageQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Hard to find much nice to say other than that it's on Los Muertos beach. The elevators were so filthy, it made my skin crawl. Not even a face cloth in the bathrooms (junior suites no less).
The safe in the room had no side on it so it was useless. The ocean view suite railings are a 4 ft high solid wall, so you only have an ocean view if you want to stand on the balcony all morning. We cancelled our room and agreed to pay a one day penalty on March 15th this year, and are still waiting to see the refund to our visa. These guys are thieves. Los Arcos is just a few doors down, and is much cleaner and better managed.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gord_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

San Marino is right on the beach and is all-inclusive. The staff are awesome and the food is "OK".

Room Tip: Ask for "Junior Suite" facing ocean. Cost is a little more, but the extra room is good. Also ask for ocean facing room on a higher floor since they have been remodeled and are much nicer.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger-N-Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I am shocked to read some reviewers who say the food was great at San Marino - I dont know what they were eating, but the food at this hotel is unacceptable. Period. Hot dogs in mango sauce and deep fried bacon along with charbroiled shish kebobs are not exactly something one can eat. I am not a picky eater and will eat almost everything, especially when hungry, but at the SM, the food was so ridiculous, it was impossible to enjoy. The breakfasts were acceptable if you like eggs and fruit whereas you could find salad (romaine lettuce) and some fish or meat for lunch, but dinners were a total write-off. And all the other guests had the same woes. I would have loved to meet the guests who say the food is great so that I can challenge what they are saying or eating for that matter!

So, dont be misguided, although this hotel is in a great location, the services and food are far from acceptable. Housekeeping staff is great but reception staff are so-so. It took one hour to check in, not acceptable when one is tired from a long flight.

I know what to expect when not paying for 5 star but have experienced far better food and customer service at another property we stayed in the hotel zone, not five star either. So, if you get the SM at a cheap rate, take it but have your lunch and dinners out at the many restaurants around.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank troyellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews