We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropicano Terrific!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropicana Hotel
Ranked #59 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tropicano Terrific!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Have been to PV 5 times and this was the best choice for location, value, and beach.

Rooms:

Nothing spectacular, but clean and good enough with a great ocean view. Considered upgrading to the slightly newer rooms in the next building over but decided against it when we realized we'd barely be there except to sleep. No fridge but we got a styrofoam cooler which worked well. TV was adequate.

Beach:

Best beach in PV, lots of spots to sit. Service from the hotel if you wanted but you could also buy your own drinks nearby and save some pesos. Lots of vendors but not too pushy. Water is PV, not Varadero or Negril. You know what you're getting.

Food:

Didn't eat there except for a few sandwiches while on the beach. Too many great restaurant options for cheap nearby in the Romantic Zone!

Location is maybe the best thing of all. Near the Malecon if that's what you're into, but lots of cool southside stuff if you're not. Local to touristy, it's all a short walk. And super safe. Value cannot be beat, I doubt I'll go anywhere else in PV if I am making the choice!

Room Tip: Don't go for the economy rooms, those face the street. Regular rooms basically the same price w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boomhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    307
    121
    50
    45
See reviews for
95
253
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Can't beat the location all that the romantic zone has to offer, the only thing that would have make it perfect would have been softer beds. This hotel is located right on the beach, has and older mexican feel that is very charming. You can literally walk to everything from here or grab a bus south to Boca or Mismaloya.

Cross the ped bridge at the airport and you will save 50% on the cab ride downtown - basically grab a yellow cab and it is $15 bucks. I would recommend grabbing a burrito at Marlin's across the ped bridge, they are huge and two people can definately share. If you are in a hurry to get downtown graba couple of beers at teh mini mart and grab a cab

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JPollock311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

OUTSTANDING: Service, location, beach, pool, room, views, drink/food quality and prices, cleanliness, helpfulness/attitude of staff - everyone, without exception, was '5 star'. Crowded beach EXCEPT in front of the Tropicana. Important when considering staying in the Romantic Zone. ... Can be a human zoo in front of the other hotels.

Room Tip: Junior suites are great; also superior rooms with ocean fron views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked a Junior Suite though Vallarta Online and got a great rate. We did not have any problems at check in and got exactly the room was reserved. We had a printout of our reservation to give them though. (I've noticed Mexicans seems to love receipts and paperwork, so always keep track of your receipts and show them as proof of any purchase.) We wanted a room with a refrigerator since we like to buy pop, water and beer to keep on hand in the room. They had a rather large refrigerator in the kitchenette! The room also had pots, pans and cutlery, even a blender and coffee machine. I was impressed with how well the kitchenette was stocked.

The room was pretty clean. Actually, I noticed some dirt on the floor here and there, so I thought the floors could have been a bit cleaner. The bed sheets were changed daily. The beds were HARD AS A ROCK. I am not kidding. I was hoping the Junior Suites had upgraded mattresses. My sore back will tell you that they did NOT. I honestly would not choose this hotel again unless they get new mattresses. Also, the bathroom was really dark, like a cave with a single fluorescent light. We did not encounter any plumbing or hot water issues though. There was a large mirror in the main part of the room anyway so I did not have to get ready in the dark.

There were no king beds available in the junior suites unfortunately. I asked. There were also very few electrical outlets in the room. I could only find three and none of them were near the beds or the nightstand.

Our room was in what I believe to be the so called "old tower" at the Tropicana, just above the new pool. Our window did not lock and I was concerned about it at first, because it could be opened from the outside patio very easily. But we ended up sleeping with it open most nights to let in fresh air so we could hear the ocean all night long. I did not think anyone could scale the building to get into the room anyway (I peeked over the side and front of our patio and decided only Spiderman could climb up to the 6th floor) and we were fine all week. We did secure our passports and extra credit cards and cash in a safe deposit box at the front desk. There was a small wall safe in the room but it did not have an operational lock. The surf sounds were quite loud at night and very relaxing to listen to as we drifted off to sleep.

The hotel had beach towels available for daily use. You picked them up right next to the front desk. You could also go out and hold your beach chair for the day with a towel. However, we sat on the beach a couple times and did not arrive until later on and the security guys that worked for the hotel got chairs and umbrellas from a room under the new pool and put them wherever we wanted. So I did not think it was necessary to play the lounger/towel game. Most of the time I saw a few open chairs around the pool as well.

Overall, the Hotel Tropicana was pretty nice, except for the hard beds. Due to the beds, we could not stay here again. My husband has back problems. I loved the location, we could walk to almost anywhere in town. I think we only took a taxi to and from the airport and to the marina for our whale watching tour. I think on our next trip we will consider renting a condo somewhere on Los Muertos beach. Hopefully, condos have softer beds!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MNpalmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Even though this is an older hotel without a lot of amenities we love it. We stayed in the superior room this time as it is newer and has a balcony that you can sit and look out. We have stayed in the other sections before and there is nothing wrong with them. Washrooms are older and you can't sit on the chairs and look out from the balcony. The location is excellent. Everything is within walking distance and you get the real feel of the place. There are restaurants, coffee shops, pharmacies, shopping, etc. almost right out the door. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are very clean. The beds are hard but we have come across that in other hotels also. The tv isn't the newest but who comes here to watch tv? The beach is the nicest in the bay although the waves are almost always too much. The food is pretty basic but we like to go out to different restaurants anyway. There are a lot of gays staying there but we don't have any prejudice against them. The people that we do find annoying are the French Canadians. There are quite a few of them that stay here. The tend to be very unfriendly and rude.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 km away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#56 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.4 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.2 km away
San Marino Hotel
San Marino Hotel
#81 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#37 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#24 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
7.4 km away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#69 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel

Property: Tropicana Hotel
Address: Amapas 214 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,796 - ₹ 8,181
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Tropicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Tropicana Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing