We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit As Good As The First. Visit Three Upcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #33 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second Visit As Good As The First. Visit Three Upcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

It is minus thirty degrees here in Calgary today and we are counting the days until our third stay at the Hotel Rio Malecón. Last year we were there for six weeks starting mid January, 2011. Again our stay was as pleasant as the first. What had not changed was the cleanliness of the facility and the friendly, attentive staff. The rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day including fully changed linen and towels and freshly cleaned floors and windows. In fact, the cleaning staff never seemed to rest and were always seen somewhere mopping and wiping. The Co-exist café was as pleasant as the previous year, delicious and well priced. Wifi was fast and reliable in the common areas but not in the room. Of course the location in Viejo Vallarta was unbeatable. There had been some changes though. The town is continuing to update surrounding infrastructure, replacing old sidewalks and updating building facades. Renovations were also underway in the hotel updating the rooms. We watched the cement bed pedestals being removed and replaced with modern box springs and mattresses. The dated but quaint headboards were replaced and modern faux finishing applied to the walls. Glass shower enclosures were installed as well as funky, industrial-looking faucets and new wash basins in the bathrooms. An interesting surprise was that the privacy walls on the balconies between the rooms had been demolished. The down side of this was that the balcony was no longer private. The up-side was that there was alternate access to the rooms where we had friends and/or family visiting us. My Mother, sister-in-law and a couple of friends from Calgary did come at different times and all stayed at the Rio. All loved the hotel. Sis-in law (her second visit) and our friends will definitely stay there again some time during our visit this year. My mum did find the street noise to be a little much and will explore the possibility of a more modern, quietly located hotel, probably in Nuevo Vallarta. She will take a bus or a taxi to visit us. As well, unfortunately, her room smelled musty during her stay and the smell didn't go away. She did not request another room though. Every other concern we had was immediately addressed including replacing the fridge, which iced up too quickly, a softer mattress and the TV which was flaky. This year we will not get the room we wanted, 223, with queen bed, couch, sitting area and kitchenette. Unfortunately we booked too late. We will be in a newly renovated room with king bed and kitchenette. At the time of our booking, the room did not have a cook top however we have been assured that it will be installed for our arrival. This is an indication of the staff's commitment to its guests. Hopefully we can convince Victor to spring for some additional furniture, maybe table and chairs for our lengthy stay. Get ready guys! Here we come!

Room Tip: Ask for a soft mattress if this matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravellinGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zvictor, Propietario at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Hola Travelin Guys! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. It's very nice to have the opportunity to read our guests' experiences (likes and dislikes), be able to identify your needs, and most importantly, satisfy them.
I'm sorry to hear that you guys are freezing down there... Here is just like paradise, 80° in a sunny friday!!!
We look forward to seeing you again soon, you're both part of the Rio Family now and will be very welcome to your home away from home.
Be ready to enjoy the recently renewed malecon, the warm water of the ocean and the charm of Puerto Vallarta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    165
    50
    13
    13
See reviews for
63
191
64
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is a great hotel choice for right on the malecon. The price is very cheap and there is a coffee shop built in to the hotel with free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I am staying in PV for a month and have been going from hotel to hotel every few days as I have found reviews and websites are extremely outdated.

The Rio was one of the good surprises. Simple, across the street to the Malacon, newly remodled, decent restaurant, good beds with good bedding (hard to find in a budget hotel here). The rates are about 550 pesos for a single, just before peak season anyway. The staff all speaks good english, they have a decent restaurant with a big screen tv to watch sports events and will let you choose if there is something particular you want to watch.

One of the things I was reluctant about was the street noise as it is right on the main drag. The new double glazed patio doors cut the noise very well. The down sides are... the pool is not heated and never sees the light of day so is very cold and there is no elevator.

Overall I was impressed. Excellent choice for a budget hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank equinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardis BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I first stayed at this hotel in 1977 (and at least 4 more times thru the next decade) when Ramon worked at the front desk and Victor Manuel was playing guitar in the Bar Navigante - where the CoExist restaurant is now. ( I used to take the guitar and also play and sing!)

I was in my 20s and staying at this hotel was the best thing in the world! I LOVED it!! Everyone was friendly, the decor was quaint (no kitchens, no glass windows - only wood shutters! - hard beds - no a/c, just overhead fans...... but we had SUCH a good time!

My point is, you don't need all the luxuries in life to have the greatest experiences in the world! I have since visited and viewed the rooms, and yes, they still aren't 5-star, but they still have the flavor of Mexico!

If you are worried about the hard bed - do what I used to do - bring a memory foam for the bed - it squishes down nicely and the bonus is - you can pack your fragile objects d'arte and booze in your suitcase and it will all be well-padded for the trip home!

If you are worried about noise, bring earplugs! It's not all that bad though.

If you don't have a coffeemaker, you know you can buy a small one in america for only $6 at your local cheap store - pack it in your suitcase with your memory foam (don't forget the filters!) and then leave it behind when you go home! I have done that before!

If you don't have a fridge, you can buy a really inexpensive foam cooler and get some ice and there you go! The fun of staying in the downtown area and paying inexpensive rates is the opportunity to improvise!

You can't experience the real authentic PV unless you have stayed downtown and this little hotel - The Rio - still has my heart. Those memories are what makes PV near and dear to my heart even 35 years later...., even though I now stay in the 5 star hotels.

Who knows?

I might just stay at the RIO one of these coming days! The recent tour through there has me pining to go back! The RIO is in the middle of everything you want to experience in PV!!!

AND: I want to meet The owner, another Victor - sounds like a delightful guy from his comments on here!

Room Tip: Ask and you shall receive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kahlua55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The first and foremost thing I'd like to comment on is that this hotel is in a GREAT location.
Just two minutes away, across one busy street and voila....your there on the Malecon beach sea wall.For a kilometer (or two) in either direction you will be walking past shops, resteraunts and tourist attractions on one side and an ocean view on the other, all just out your front door.

Vendors along the way are friendly and will only ask you to buy something twice at the very most.There is no overbearing sales pitches that take place here, just friendly smiles and great negiotable deals.

The whole area is very clean and well looked after and there is very little to almost absolutley no garbage left on this regularly cleaned tourist area.My wife, an avid shopper thouroughly enjoyed this beach strip as it had much to offer. Good restreaunts and cheaper little eaterys were just around the corner. The area is fantastic and the Hotel Rio is right there in the middle of it.

And now for the hotel.....

The Mexican lady(forgot her name) who manages the place is a very sweet and helpful lady.
She always took time to smile and answer all of our questions.

We are the type of travelers who are always out and about and don't spend much time hanging around the hotel.Our needs are basic....give us a good CLEAN ,SAFE hotel and we are happy. The hotel Rio met all of these requirements and at a budget price.

We stayed there on two occasions and the rooms to the right(of reception) seem to be a little older, while the ones on the left seemed to be more modern with a nicer bed.There was nothing fancy about either side, however, both rooms were more than adequate for what we were looking for.

On the down side.....

The swimming pool is small and shaded most of the day and if you decided to swim in it, you would have the feeling of being on stage with the restaurant for your audience. I never saw anyone in it once.

The restaurant was average and some of the guys weren't all that friendly as far as being enthusiatic about service.

These were both minor tolerable things however and the hotel still gave us great value for our vacation dollar.

Room Tip: Rooms on left side had a nicer ambience and nicer bed,Rooms on the left front have a partial ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevandJho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 km away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#49 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#39 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#53 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.9 km away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 km away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#80 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Property: Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Address: Morelos No. 170 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,119 - ₹ 5,650
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable boutique style hotel located in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. Only 5 miles away from the international airport and walking distance from the main attractions in the area, such as the traditional and recently restored Malecon, Los Muertos Beach, the Flea Market, the Romantic Zone, Restaurant Row, as well as Puerto Vallarta’s exciting night life. Our facilities include 47 comfortable rooms (featuring plasma TV with cable, private bathroom with shower, double glass windows, balcony and some with kitchenette), COEXISTbistro and International Bar (open daily 8am – 2am), outdoor chlorine-free swimming pool, complementary Wi-Fi, private club room for special events, and 24 hour in-house concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing