We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Casa de los Monos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de los Monos
Ranked #29 of 70 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Penticton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at Casa de los Monos for a few days....what a fabulous little surprise!!! super clean and had everything we needed and more. Our hosts Remco, Lorena and little Blas were super hospitable and welcoming! The view is beautiful and peaceful... Remco took us into Puerto Vallarta a couple of times to go shopping and sightseeing. There is a beautiful swimming pool to cool off and hang out in. Had the most amazing breakfasts made for us each morning at a very minimal cost... fresh fruit and then a gorgeous breakfast to follow with delicious coffee. First time in el Nogalito but definately would stay at Casa de los Monos when i go back!!! Thanks so much you guys!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherylBlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at Casa de los Monos for a week. We had a great time and even had our small dog with us, who was allowed to go to all our activities and trips.

The hosts, Lorena, Remko and Blas are very friendly and have a nice concept for their B&B. The rooms had everything we needed, including a small kitchenette and a balcony with a nice view of the rainforest of El Nogalito. There is also a small swimming pool and a terrace where we had our meals. The view from there was great, especially in the mornings or as the sun was setting during dinner. Lorena is a wonderful cook and we felt like we ate very healthy every day, even better than at home.

As part of the activities they offered, the hosts took us on a trip to San Blas, a small fishing village north of Puerto Vallarta. This was a different experience and it was very enjoyable to be on the beach with just locals or looking for alligators at a local reserve. Remko also recommended a day trip to Yelapa (about 30 mins by boat), which we really enjoyed.

Casa de los Monos is good for somebody who wants to stay in a secluded setting and enjoy peace away from it all. El Nogalito is also really a safe spot with a small town feel, including roosters and donkeys. But the main town of Puerto Vallarta is only about 10-15 minutes away and about a $10 taxi ride whenever one wants some excitement (Lorena or Remko are also more than happy to take guests to and back from the city, even late at night).

All in, we had a great time there and would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had a great stay at Casa de los monos, we were the only one there and the owners took time to drive us around the area to our hiking/fishing and other trips. Remco, Lorena and blas were great hosts. Beware the humidity level in August (we live in texas and can take the heat, didn't check the humidity level). Would recommend it to anyone looking for a calm B&B outside of the touristy are of Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed for ten lovely and restful days and nights. Much of the time was spent in and around the swimming pool and garden. Our hosts were ready for any request we had --- superb cooking, valuable information and suggestions about the area (both PV itself and the tiny El Nogalito village), and transportation. Equally important, they were never intrusive - they left us to our own desires but were always available if needed. There is also a great spa a few minutes' walk away (down the dirt road that is the main road of the town), and they coordinate their services very well with the spa people.

Know what you're getting, though --- this is NOT in the busy PV area, but it is only a 15 minute drive to old town PV. If you want nightlife and/or fancy stuff day and night, stay in PV. But if you want access to that, but prefer a quiet environment and the comfort of a family-style situation, this is the place.

Also, it is a "B&B" but you do pay for the breakfast, or any meal. Good prices, and great meals, and all of that is optional. There's a kitchenette in the room and we prepared most of our meals ourselves, but when we ate "upstairs" we were always happy that we did.

There are two lovable dogs on site, and a great 2.5y little boy, too. The boy can be a little noisy at night (because of playing, not crying or screaming), and if you go to bed early, as we did, he might still be up and playing upstairs on the deck, and he's noisy when he's happy --- which he usually is. We got used to it, and probably most people will be staying up later than we did.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed for 5 nights with Lorena and Remko and it was just as the previous reviewers describe.
Peaceful, beautiful, excellent for bird-watching, hiking and relaxing etc.
Plan for a self-catering style stay (has kitchenette and isn't serviced without request), but if you would prefer to have meals cooked for you, Lorena is a great cook and prices are reasonable (especially recommend breakfasts). Hosts are happy to oblige any requests and are very approachable.
Just a word if caution for first timers to Puerto Vallarta; take the footbridge across the road for a taxi when you leave the airport and you will pay half the price quoted by the vendors outside the terminal. Also this is by no means a sleepy seaside resort so if you want peace and quiet, Casa de los Monos is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 km away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,842 reviews
2.8 km away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#89 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
158 reviews
2.7 km away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,358 reviews
3.3 km away
Park Royal Puerto Vallarta
Park Royal Puerto Vallarta
#78 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
903 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Monos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Monos

Property: Casa de los Monos
Address: Gavilanes 10 | loc. el Nogalito, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,162 - ₹ 6,452
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility in Paradise. We welcome you to stay in our beautiful and unique Bed and Breakfast on the south side of Puerto Vallarta. While you stay in your comfortable villa in a little community surrounded by mountains, nature and tranquility, the hustle of the Romantic zone (old town) of Vallarta is just ten minutes away. We offer privacy, safety and coziness. There is also in town two restaurants and a Holistic SPA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing