We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot beat it”
Review of Playa Olas Altas

Playa Olas Altas
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 49.00*
and up
Old Town Mazatlan Segway Tour
Ranked #16 of 103 things to do in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The nearest beach to the cruise terminal.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot beat it”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The food, people, beach and water cannot be beat. I have been to Tahoe, Baja, Palm Springs. Hawaii. Cozumel, San Fran, L.A. S.D., PV and others. Love Atlas!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    53
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“High Waves”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Olas Altas means high waves and that means surfers. It has many wonderful restaurants and a few shops. It is in the Centro Historico section so it has a great deal of character. You can sit on the sea wall and watch the surfers or jump in the ocean and have lots of fun. Very safe.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a place to go as a vacation and stay to live”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

every time I come back (two times a year or more) is to stay with my own family son, daughter and Misus (my mujer), I live half a block from this beach and regularly spend time just laying drinking eating and meeting with friends, in 1975 I had visit Mazatlan as a tourist, spend all my money and did not wanted to go back to my home town, so I decide to look for a job , find it, and continue my vacations for another 10 years, jajajajaja, became a parent and a adopted for the locals now, I am part ¨Pata Salada¨ and part ¨Regio¨(born in Monterrey).

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Irapuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“High surf”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We would have preferred gentler waves here, but the surfers loved it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wallyballou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little big Beach”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great beach with no Venders, in the Heart of old town Mazatlan

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maritza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Olas Altas also viewed

 

Been to Playa Olas Altas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing