We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
208
10
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
10
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frozen margaritas every morning guacamole boutique hotel fresh fruit speedy palapa ocean mexico peninsula waves tequila sand pesos
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to have friends invite us to brunch at the hideaway.
With a coordinates plugged into the gps, we “turned left” at the monkey cage and voila: there we were, next to the aviary and a setting right out of the story books.

Speedy was there to welcome us, and after giving a brief rundown on brunch, we settled in to a delightful meal highlighted with the most decadent bacon you will ever enjoy. If that wasn’t enough, the fresh
orange juice, bread, and rich coffee complimented the meal. No one left hungry.....

Afterwards we were invited to stroll the property. You will enjoy beautiful vistas and perhaps get a peak at the quaint accommodation.

This is another gem in the Manzanillo area. Come for the brunch, stay for the sunsets.... reservations a must.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank djk1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This place is fabulous!!! The palapas are far from one another to be very private. We never left the place. Why? Heaven was were I was sitting. The food was fabulous and the company of the evening was with the owner Pepe was wonderful of tales of the years gone by. He is lovely the staff is very attentive. I can thank my lucky stars for having my friend introduce me to this serene place. Staff has been there for many years and we didn't fear our stuff would be stolen. I would not suggests kids. Cliffs and many stairs. A great place for adult or girlfriend getaway. I have already made plans to come back. Oh there is an aviary and a monkey.

Room Tip: All palapas have sunset views and the crashing sounds of the ocean will lull you asleep.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We rented the yellow beach bungalow cliffside by the water. The BEST view of the ocean. We loved the place! Every night we went to sleep hearing the waves crash on the rocks below and woke up with the most beautiful blue colors in the ocean. We had coffee on our patio waiting for us. I loved laying in the hammock just taking in the sounds of the ocean. The food was wonderful and the staff was so helpful. Speedy and Juan made our stay even better with the excellent food! Pepe joined us for dinner nightly and it was a pleasure having conversation with him. The pool was refreshing and the local beach was clean and very private.
We will definitely being coming back!

Room Tip: best views... down a few stairs
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Very quaint and eclectic. Open air palapa while listening to the waves each night. Food was amazing. Extremely unique experience, fusion of luxury and rustic. Palapa 2 is the best guy there. I thoroughly enjoyed dinner each new got with "Pepe" and sharing by stories with him.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53carver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The positives: The location is very nice and secluded and the view from our room was truly amazing but that's where it stops.
You also had access to the club house of the development which was very well maintained and was empty so it was like having your own private beach.

However this did not make up for the following:

The second we arrived the manager was very disorganized and didn't know how many days we were staying. He was confused about the price too. After clarifying the price he wanted to charge a service fee of 17% of the total amount. Wait who pays a tip based on the room fee without even knowing how good the service is going to be? Isn't a tip a gratuity meaning that you choose how much to tip.
We don't mind tipping but we had just arrived and pre-tipping is an absurd concept to me. It's also absurd tipping on the overall room fee which was very high if not the most expensive in the city.

They advertise it all inclusive but that means there is a set time where you have to sit down with EVERYONE there and wait maybe 1h or even 2h for dinner to be served. If you wan't to spend some time on your own forget it. Not even an apology for taking so long. When asked if they had low fat milk, the response was we" only carry what real men eat". The issue wasn't the lack of it so much as the attitude.
No one would even bother to refill your glass of water or ask for another drink even if it was laying empty for quite some time. You always had to ask.

The mosquitoes were a big problem. They had bug spray in all rooms and the main areas but that wasn't enough to protect you.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BeelzebubUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews