We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay, Definitely Go Back”
Review of Tesoro Manzanillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tesoro Manzanillo
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Reviewed 20 February 2006

We just got back on February 18th from Manzanillo and stayed at the Tesoro Resort. There were 3 couples, we stayed on the 18th floor, the other 2 couples on the 4th floor. We requested king size beds and ocean view rooms when we arrived. We had to wait about 1 hour for our rooms, it was no big deal, we just went and checked things out and had a drink. The views are awesome. This was our first all-inclusive resort, and we would definitely do that again. The resort is very simple but very clean. The food was good, and a big variety of things to choose from, you did not get bored with the food. The al carte restaurants were very good, the fish in both of them were awesome, along with the spanish coffee, you definitely have to have that, if not for the coffee, but the presentation. We made reservations for the al carte restaurants the day before, so that was no big issue with us. The elevators were a tad bit slow, but nothing to complain about, you are on vacation, in no big hurry. We did get up every morning at 7:00 am and save our chairs on the beach, which is no different than any other vacation we have been on. We had no problems with our items being taken on our chairs that were saved. We sat on the beach almost everyday, and had excellent service on the beach with our drinks. We brought our insulated cups and ordered 2 drinks at a time, and by the time we were finished she came around again. We did tip a $1.00 a time, so I am sure that helped our service. One day as we are sitting on the beach, we seen a mother whale and her baby swimming out in the bay area, that was a sight. They say this is the time the whales come closer to shore for warmer water. The beach area is a small bay, and the water is warm, and all sand. We did not find the beach area to be overly crowded, just a nice crowd. The sand does get very hot in the afternoon, so I would definitely bring a pair of water shoes or something, because you will not be able to walk up by the chairs on the beach area without something on your feet. The pool area is crowded, but late afternoon, we would go sit at the pool bar and have a few drinks. The pool water is very warm. The entertainment at the resort is great, with evening shows every night. The entertainers put in a lot of time, and it shows during their performance. When the lobby bar has live music, it is a good idea to get there early, it does seem to fill up fairly quickly for a spot to sit. We did take the bus downtown to a disco bar that the resort had for $5.00, and picked us up at 2:00 am, that was a lot of fun, great dancing. We also did the ATV Tour that we booked through the hotel, that would be something we would definitely do again, even thou 4 of us have never rode one before, they were very patient with us. The staff at the restaurants, bars and lobby were all very friendly and helpful with anything you needed. We did take a taxi down to the small shopping area, it was only $3.00 for the trip, the hotel lined up the taxi for us. The shopping is not close enough to walk, you do need to take a taxi. They do have a few small vendors at the end of the beach area with some nice items, but more of a variety if you go into town. The safes in the rooms are great, we wish our refrigerator was a little cooler, but we just filled our ice bucket and put our beverages in there. They fill the refrigerators everyday. Our experience was very positive and we would definitely go back to the Tesoro Resort to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Bibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 633 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2006

We returned from 1 week at the Tesoro on Feb 5th. On the first day we asked the first couple we ran into, handsome, middle age from Quebec, what they thought of the hotel. The answer must be Canadian as it was what we heard from several later, "I have seen better." That was the high point of comments that ranged downward to "it sucks". Imagine our surprise when the couple was the third wedding that week!

What they first offered as rooms was so disappointing that we asked the help of the manager to contact our tour agent about transferring to a different hotel. Then they offered a better choice, a 3rd floor, with two beds and a full kitchen counter which really crowded the room, but it did have a balcony with full ocean view. Our request for a move was still in with our travel agent when by the next day we realized that there were a big differences in rooms. We were changed in mid week to a 4th floor room, king bed, and full ocean view which was much better. I then realized how shabby the first room had been. It took both of us to open the balcony patio door, and there was a leak over one's head by the bathroom sink that my husband tried to convince me was condensation. I felt much better about the hotel after the change, and realized that those that were happy with the hotel seemed to be ones that got good rooms.

The buffet food was pretty good, but we did get tired of it. The other buffet on the R floor was where the dinner shows were each night. It was set up banquet style with tables of about 10, and a huge movie screen on which DVD's were being played. It had more of everything, but essentially the same food as the buffet near the ocean which was open air. The dinner theater area was open air but covered with a canvas that didn't seem very open air, and the smokers drove us out of every place but the open air restaurants. The ala carte ones were good, Marie's and the Italian one that was in the thatched roof snack bar by day, but the other reviews failed to mention that it was up to an hour wait for reservations everyday and for that day only. The line formed about 9:15 when the woman did not get there until 10:00, and people were turned away everyday. Also each restaurant including the buffet by the ocean was closed two nights a week which futher cut down the choices.

Surprising also that no one mentioned how many people were ill. My husband got really sick and like everyone else we talked to,spent one whole day in bed. He did get over it in one day,but did not feel like eating after that. There must have been about 30 people, Canadian and Americans, who were ill. The waiter at the Italian restaurant where I went alone the night my husband was ill, said that the night before, Tues., there were many no shows and cancellations. You know that after standing in line for an hour, people just did not change their minds. No one could pin point the cause but it did seem food related when that many were sick. I got very careful and concerned about the unrefrigerated meats and fish that we sitting out waiting to be cooked for tacos etc.We were very careful about drinking only bottled water, did not even rinse a glass or tooth brush in tap water, but at first we had trouble getting enough. Two each day in the micro fridge, then we were refilling from the large bottles in the restaurants, but after he got sick, we pitched all the refilled bottles and managed to grab some extras from the carts.

Our waiter with pride told us that the wines were California, Carlo Rosse by the gallon jug! On the other hand, you could have top brands like Beef Eater, J&B, Jim Bean for the asking. The wines were better from bottles in the ala carte restaurants. We went to check out Italian restaurant after having dinner at Marie's, and the host invited us to look around and have a drink. My husband spotted a bottle of red wine on the bar and asked for that. When the bartender pulled out what was the last drink from the gallon jug, my husband said he wanted it from the bottle. No, the bottles were only for the tables!

The lobby bar was stange. Indoor and not AC, dark and smokey. The waiters would disappear behind a door and come out with the drinks and a little dish of very spicey snacks. No music!! Like a funeral. The only live music we heard all week was the piano in Marie's, other wise it was elavator music on tape and the thump of disco by the pool. We did not go to any of the shows so there may have been some there. People we asked about the shows said the dancers were good, but they walked out after 10 minutes.

What was good? The weather was warm, the views and sunsets were lovely,there were 4 first class tennis courts (carpet), and the staff to a person was great. The stud muffins who ran all the pool activities who were also the dancers, were full of mischief, lots of fun, and nice to everyone. The water arobics at noon everyday was a big event.

Manzanillio was a disappointment after being used to the white sand and bright blue waters of the beaches in Cancun so we would not return, and definately not to this hotel.

Stayed: January 2006
6  Thank ghalldahlbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Tesoro from Jan 14 - 28. This is a wonderful hotel. Yes it needs a little upgrading and from what we saw while there they are working on fixing things up and changing things.


Our room...we stayed on the first floor and loved it. No we didn't have a view of the ocean but we were close to coffee the pool the buffet, and the beach. Had a nice little grassy area to sit and enjoy the people watching. Also we could see the sunsets and the ocean from our grassy area. A tad noisy as the building is made of concrete with open hallways so things echoed a bit and you could hear the doors closing and stuff but didn't bother us. The beds are hard but not unbearable, the mini fridge was stocked daily, great shower, lots of hot water and great pressure. The central air conditioning is awesome. Good pillows. We saw the jr suites and they are beautiful

The food..... Typical buffet food always found lots I liked to eat and it is all very fresh. Different theme nights so lots of different things to try. Marias is the a la carte....yummmmm Great shrimp soup, tropical salad and awesome filet mignon. The spanish coffee is something to see. The Italian a la carte is not as good but passable. I loved the hut because it was cool and breezy, they also serve great salsa, burgers and pizza there at lunch. At night it is the disco, had fun there a few nights.

The hotel and staff.... great wait staff. Hi Julio. good bartenders, excellent cleaning and serving staff. The front desk people are a little more reserved but helpful. The entertainment staff is exceptional. They work really hard and are great people.

The beach and pools... The beach is good, fun snorkling, fun to play in the waves. Hard to get a chair in the shade. Need more shadey areas at this resort. We had to go to the public part of the beach twice and rent a umbrella for 8 usd a day because we could not get a shady spot. The pool is nice but does get full of kids on the weekends, no adult pool rules enforced here. Swim up bar is nice to sit at in the afternoon when you have had enough sun. Also got stung by stuff in the water....told it was very tiny jelly fish I seemed to get it the worst. Must of liked me for some reason. I had a very itchy reaction to the bites that took me 2 weeks to get over. I hear it is typical on the pacific side

Activities around the hotel....tennis, shuffleboard, a games room, mallet pool, and lots going on at the pool. All great. Hotel shops expensive but good in a pinch.

What we did. We did the sunset cruise booked at the hotel. It was alot of fun and nice to see everything from the ocean. Book with Rosey...in the lobby area. We went on a manzanillo tour, shopping was a little rushed but we saw alot of areas and it made us more comfortable to tour on our own by bus and taxi. Snorkling for 3 hours. A cove a coral reef and a shipwreck. 35.00 they supply the drinks. The guide was awesome. Loved this tour. Booked on the beach with Pacifico. We shopped in Santiago as well as downtown Manzanillo. Fun but the same thing all over mexico I find.

Tips....bring a thermal mug to keep hot drinks hot and cold drinks cold and less running to the bar. Bring sunscreen it is expensive there. Do go to Marias excellent, do explore, it is really safe and easy to take the buses and cheap. Don't expect the same of a 4 star in mexico as you would here. Tip your staff as they make very little and work so hard. Relax and enjoy all Mexico has to give as it is a wonderful country with great people. ENJOY,your on holidays let the little stuff go you will have more fun.

kiminpenny

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Kim_in_Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2006

My wife and I holidayed at the Tesoro Hotel,Jan.28-Feb11,2006. Stayed in Room 1529 central hotel building. Room was spacious and comfortable with balcony , ocean front-facing, mini-fridge working and restocked daily with cervasa, soft-drinks and bottled water. Full bath with shower all working well! Beautiful but smaller bay setting(Audencia Bay,Santiago Bay). Pool area and beach area a little crowded and finding a beach lounge chair a recurring problem, just not enough of these for number of guests at hotel. On the other hand regular plastic balcony chairs in plentiful supply that one can park pretty well anywhere you wished on beach. Problem, though there just aren't enough shady areas or palapas or palm trees on beach so you are exposed to hot sun.
Service, generally excellent. Food generally very good, lots of variety and choices if you are not that picky.
Entertainment, nightly dinner show free. Seems to be repetitive after each week so if you attended the first week you seen it all! Not spectacular but quite worthwhile to see.
We went on the City tour and Cayutlan Eco-Paradise Lagoon and turtle camp and highly recommend both as extremely informative and enjoyable!
Went golfing at the Las Hadas golf club and thanks to Manzanillo05 was fortunate to hook-up with the Tesoro Hotel Manager and Tesoro Entertainment Manager both excellent hosts. Price of golf $120.00 Canadian with coupon from our tour agent host. Fortunately,my cost was less as I was guest of the entertainment manager who is a memeber at Las Hadas golf club.
All in all, our stay at the Tesoro was enjoyable and relaxing. We really don't understand some of the lower ratings and negative comments as we simply did not experience these!
We have been to Cancun,Mazatlan, and Puerta Vallarta. We found Manzanillo much more laid back , safer, and enjoyable although Puerta Vallarta was also great. Oh, and finally, I believe your holiday enjoyment is directly related to one's own initiative in seeing and doing and accomodating one-self to the country your visiting. The local people of Manzanillo,Colima are friendly, helpful and most accomodating. Would we recommend the Tesoro, you betcha!!

20  Thank jujo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2006

The Tesoro is located on a bay in Manzanillo with the mountains on either side. The view is quite beautiful and the sunsets are gorgeous. The beach isn't a large one if you want to go for long walks - it only takes about 5 mins to walk from end to end but you can go snorkelling right there as there are quite a bit of fish.

The hotel is very clean and quite spacious and I believe almost all rooms have a balcony which is great to have room service/breakfast in the mornings. The rooms are of typical Mexican style - and yes it can get noisy as with most Mexican hotels, being opened air hallways and marble/tiled floors so it will echo.

Food - The buffet had a large selection everyday and if you can't find something to eat, you have to be pretty fussy. Breakfast consisted of typical things, plus fruit, yogurt, made to order omelets, waffles, pancakes, champagne and orange juice. You won't get bacon here though - you have to order in room service to get bacon. Supper always had a couple each of fish dishes, chicken, pork and beef and there always was pasta.

The a-la-cartes were quite good especially Maria's - try their Bahia soup - yum had it every time we went! Their beef filet also was very good. If you don't like sauces though, stay away from the a-la-cartes as they use them alot. The specialty coffees are wonderful and they will give you tequila poppers if you ask. The Italian a-la-carte had a wonderful fish in wine sauce and the italian ice cream is a must.

If you want to go out from the hotel, go to Le Recif -it is a restaurant about 20 mins. away (JC from Air Transat holidays will make your reservation). Take a cab there and the driver will wait for you and take you back for about $30 US. The restaurant is on top of a cliff and it is heaven on earth like advertised -go earlier to see the sunset. The prices range from $9 for pasta, $11 US for fish/chicken dishes and $20 for jumbo shrimp. The view itself is worth the price of the cab ride.

Shopping - Downtown Manzanillo (15 mins. cab drive)about $6-7 US has nice views and you can get some good deals. They tend not to want to barter alot as in Puerta Vallarta but the prices are cheaper to begin with. If you have teens wanting Hurley, Diesel or Billabong - you can pick up tshirts for $6-7 US each. The great thing is no one bothering you for time shares which is a nice change. Santiago is 5 mins away $3-5 US cab ride with a flea market on Saturdays. There also is a fantatic pottery place in the middle of Santiago about 1-2 blks from the main street by the main farmers market.

Snorkelling cost $35US for about 3 hrs.-my husband loved it. ATV'ing is a must for $70 US - 3 hours of fun packed adventure - go thru the jungle, up a mountain, to a secluded beach, a small farm - well worth the cost but go in the morning when it's not as hot.

Barra de Navidad is a fishing village 1 hr. away - we took the cab to Santiago Bus station, and for $4US took an air conditioned bus. Small little shops, huge waves for surfing and fishing boats for rent. Nice views from here.

We loved Manzanillo and will be going back - it's not overly touristy yet so if you want that don't bother going. There is a turtle eco tour, Colima City tour, etc. as well which had good reviews from others.

Entertainment - probably some of the best we have seen at an all-inclusive - The activities staff are unreal - they do a great job and are very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Holidaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
2.7 km away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#10 of 52 in Manzanillo
127 reviews
0.4 km away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#9 of 52 in Manzanillo
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#22 of 52 in Manzanillo
129 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
Hotel Villas Los Angeles
#7 of 52 in Manzanillo
127 reviews
5.8 km away
Best Western Plus Luna Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Manzanillo

Address: Avenida Audiencia 1, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range: ₹ 8,610 - ₹ 12,755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tesoro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Tesoro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Tesoro Manzanillo
Manzanillo Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing