We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Low profile archeological site in Colima

Worth seeking out if you are into Mayan ruins. Badly signposted and not at all obvious - just use... read more

Reviewed 4 March 2018
Robert T
,
Mexico City, Mexico
Very interesting

We really liked this area. Found it interesting and awe inspiring. They have only excavated a small... read more

Reviewed 3 March 2018
Quietime2409
,
Harbor, Oregon
Read all 26 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manzanillo
from US$ 67.00
More Info
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
7
13
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
13
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mayan ruins mexico city worth a visit archaeological deserted volcano colima
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2015

This is an impressive site.
Apparently, the excavations are proceeding slowly but even now there is plenty to see and wonder at.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank DavidG897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Was quite surprised to find such well preserved ruins in Colima. Easy access and made for a great day trip.

Date of experience: June 2015
3  Thank SJCPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

This is actually just outside of Colima, capital city of the state of Colima, in the suburb called "Villa de Alvarez". I did not encounter anything called "Campana" in the Manzanillo area. My husband and I went to see this Archeological site in mid-April/2015. We found it strangely deserted as we saw only one other person visiting at the same time we were there. We have a Mexico's Seniors Card so the fee by a guard at the front gate was free to us but I don't think it is expensive for others. Parking is available inside the gate so just drive in. It took us nearly one hour to walk the grounds all in the open sun so make sure you have a hat and sunscreen. There are not many large trees for shade. Only the foundations of the houses are left showing that this was a very big village. The view of the two Colima volcanos (Fire and Snow) are currently blocked by vegetation but these would have been visible from this village during its glory years. There is a tomb on the site that was under repair at the time we visited. This site is certainly as impressive as some of the archeological sites that made the Mayan Coast near Cancun so famous. This site is easy to find and worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2015
7  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

I have been to Cancun, and Chichen itza, compare with them, the La Campana is boring. There are a few pyramids on both size of road, and all made with same size round stone.

If you been to other mexican Maya Ruins, you can pass this.

but here is a good place to look out volcano on north when sunny day without haze.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank Kaili5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

This visit was part of our Colima State tour (DaniTours). The site is over 2000 years old. Inspiring!

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank CharlieVVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews