We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“3rd Vacation at Dreams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“3rd Vacation at Dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our third stay at Dreams (3 weeks this year) was as expected; Fantastic. The rooms, grounds, pools, and beach are all fabulous. The staff are all pleasant and yes, tipping helps get better service. It doesn't have to be much but as we all generally tip at home, it is much more appreciated in Huatulco. We enjoy spending a lot of time off resort whether its shopping, having dinner, or just wandering around; very safe, clean, and the people are incredibly friendly and proud of the area. Great food for unbelievably low cost is the Terra Cotta restaurant just 1/2 a block of the square in La Crucecita. We also recommend the bay tour and fishing, although the fishing was slow this year. A few boats were catching the odd fish but, nothing like it should be. I always do bay tours and fishing with Crisanto (he is on the beach most days if he's not on the water); he is a great guy and definitely makes sure you enjoy whatever you are doing on the water. We are going back in April for 2 weeks, so cannot wait and we have only been home for 5 days. We love the people, the area, and the weather; what more do you need?? Dreams is a great resort and Huatulco is the best sun destination we have ever been to and we have been to many, so make sure you visit if you haven't already.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 909deaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,701
    859
    282
    115
    57
See reviews for
1,191
1,011
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were at Dreams from Feb 21-28 2012.

We really enjoyed our time and the resort. It was by far the cleanest resort we have stayed at. All of the bathrooms are kept very clean and their is none of that "Mexican" smell bathrooms can tend to have.

The employees were great, very nice and they had very good english. Service pool side for drinks is great. Rooms were nice and beds were very comfortable. We loved our oceanview. We were on the 5th floor, room 3536.

We have been to lots of resorts and we enjoyed the food here the best of all of them. The oriental resaurant is amazing!!! The world cafe has a great omlete station and delicious hashbrown. The fresh squeezed orange juice is the best orange juice i've ever had. If you like fresh burgers and hot dogs they have the ocean restaurant making up great ones with yummy fries. The italian restaurant is also great. Would say the Mexican was the least of my favorites. It is great you don't have to make reservations for any of the restaurants.

The pools were lovely, but you have to grab your spots really early in the morning. The weather this time of year is spectacular and is pretty much a quarantee. They only get 20 days of rain a year and it is usually between june and october. The location of the resort is perfect in that you get sun from 6am to 6pm.

The beach is awesome, and decent size waves for body surfing. They have a trampoline and climbing mountian that are fun. you can rent jetskis right off the beach or do a fishing trip. there is also snorkeling right off the beach.

Yoga was offered twice a day which was great. They also had dance lessons and zumba. Great activities and even some of the entertainment staff were from Canada.

We met with a wedding planner that helped walk us through our options should we do our wedding in 2014 there. Very professional and lots of wonderful options to make it a very special day. We are very likely to have our wedding there.

I would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Oceanview was spectacular, but if you are over the lobby bar area you may hear some noise. It didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melcgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morinville, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

If you want heat and beauty, this is the place to come. Beautiful rooms coupled with awesome pools and bars compliment this resort. Short distance to la Cruicita where you are not hassled by vendors. If you are looking for great silver deals see Augustine at La Tehuana, great gentlman with super prices. Nice beach but damn hot. Bus-man at lobby, a Alex Morales was a great help and book of knowledge for the area.

Room Tip: get a room near L shaped bar, quiet but not so busy, great service at this pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gator07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed from Feb 7 to 14 and had an excellent time. Wish we had gone for the two weeks not one. Staff was hard working and helpful. As an example our bags beat us to our room on check in. Rooms clean, comfortable, and ours was 5th floor overlooking the south pool with a jacuzzi on the balcony (a nice surprise). Alcohol was abundant, served quickly and was "quality" brands. Food was fine at both the buffets and the ala cartes. We did enjoy the size of the resort, not too big so you got to see and meet alot of the other guests.
The airport is new and close (25 minutes on the bus). One recommendation if there is a choice do not use Sunwing for the flight as was a miserable time both ways and we had even paid for the upgrded seats.

Room Tip: We stayed in the south tower and were very pleased with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Dreams Huatulco is a compact resort that somehow never seems crowded. The resort has six swimming pools, five restaurants, a theatre, a large buffet and beach area and is somehow designed in a way that lets you get anywhere in five minutes. The resort is accessible to mobility challenged people except for the beach area.

Check in was the fastest I've seen. The room folders with keys and information were laid out on a large desk. We showed the clerk our voucher, picked up our form and were done about as fast as we could walk through. We did need to identify our bags to the staff at the entrance and the bags were brought to our room a short time later. We arrived with an entire bus load of people and were all headed to our rooms in about ten minutes.

Our room was very clean and looked fairly new. The bed was comfortable; the shower worked well; there was enough storage and we were provided with robes and slippers. The safe is included in the cost. The bed was large and comfortable. Our room, 1309, looked out on the quiet pool at the south end of the resort and had a partial ocean view. It was a pleasant, quiet location. The ground floor rooms lack a bit of privacy, but might be great for people with kids because they could walk out onto the grass to play.

There are enough beach and pool chairs, but the ones in the shade are reserved by about 7:30 AM. A young man does remove towels that are left for such a long time that it looks like the people aren't coming back, but he will not take them if possessions are left on the chairs. A number of people used large colorful clothes pins to identify their chairs. If you sit in the same area for a number of days, you will likely get to know some of the people around you.

The restaurants do not take reservations. You just go to the one that you want to eat at. On the one hand this means that you can try them all. On the other it sometimes means waiting. If you want to be seated quickly you need to be there by 6:30. If you come to the more popular ones later you may wait quite a while for a table. There is a very reasonable dress code that varies a bit for different restaurants. The Mexican and Italian share the same kitchen. If you are with kids and want to eat from the Italian (adults only) you can ask for the Italian menu in the Mexican restaurant.

Breakfast is in the main buffet (the World Restaurant) and lunch in the steakhouse, which is located next to the ocean and is a very pleasant place to eat.

We were happy with the quality of the food.

The beach is clean. The water gets deep quickly and the waves pull at you as they go out. For me this is perfect, but you really need to keep an eye on children. I would suggest life jackets. There is a school of fish that will nibble at your feet near the rocks at the left side of the beach. On calmer days the rocks in that area are good for snorkeling . The cool wind off the water is quite deceptive. Be careful with the sun screen. Kayaks, lifejackets, boogie boards and snorkeling equipment are at the right side of the beach and are easy to sign out. The bars are at each end of the beach and hotel servers walk along all day long offering to bring drinks. Another alternative is to walk to the bar where we were always served quickly. You can probably get enough liquor here.

Vendors are very noticeable at the beach. You will deal with them about ten times a day. The beach belongs to the people of Mexico. The resort is allowed to put up the palapas but does not control who can walk there. I just shook my head 'no' and they walked away quietly. My wife and her friend liked to shop so it worked differently when they were around. The merchandise was of reasonable quality and the prices OK. You might be ahead to book tours and boat trips through your tour agency and not on the beach because the agencies set quality standards for their contractors.

The theater is a bit out of the way so that the noise doesn't bother the rooms. The show we saw (Broadway Shows) was well done.

The resort shows movies against one wall at night. There is also excellent coffee bar that gets little use. There's a bar near the lobby that's a good place to visit and meet people in the evening. Behind it there is a really nice balcony that runs across the top of the world restaurant. At night you can see quite a ways across the bay from it. Unfortunately it was the defacto smoking lounge and people who have trouble with cigarette smoke probably would not be able to use it. The resort is technically smoke free, but there are lots of butts in the ash trays.

THE STAFF WAS EXCELLENT WHETHER YOU TIPPED OR NOT.

During the weekend there seemed to be a lot of Mexicans at the resort. The ones I saw were thoughtful, polite people who doted on their children. And er, well, ... boy do their women look good in white beach wear. They were in stark contrast to a group of Americans. I'm convinced that there are many, many intelligent, fit, thoughtful people in Iowa. I just didn't meet them.

The resort isn't perfect. The hotel could use a swim up bar. The management needs to find a way to deal with fat drunks yelling and playing loud music around the pool. At times the service at the restaurants is brutally slow.

On the other hand the resort is pretty darn good. I would be happy to return to this resort and am recommending it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.2 km away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.7 km away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
2.4 km away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
0.2 km away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Av Benito Juarez 4, Apartado Postal 227 | Bahias de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,485 - ₹ 42,030
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing