We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
39
21
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
21
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Hotel Etel is ideally located right in the heart of old town Acapulco. It is in between the cliff divers on the Pacific Ocean and Acapulco Bay. The balcony and rooftop views are sensational. There is an outdoor pool and hammocks under shade.

The best feature of the hotel is the owner herself, Etel. She has an immense amount of local knowledge and can therefore provide good advice. She also speaks perfect English.

Room Tip: Rooms on the highest floor have great views.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Situated in a quiet area of Acapulco, high on a hill, you are treated to world class views of both Acapulco bay and the Pacific ocean.
With 24 hour security, we felt safe the whole time.
It is family owned and quality of service is all 1st class.
Great restaurants & shopping within walking distance & plenty of taxis to bring you home.
We love the roof top deck where you can always count on the breeze. Great for sunrise over the bay and sunset over the ocean. Plus whale watching.
Comfy beds, air conditioning, pools, hammocks.
Absolutely wonderful experience.
The owners are very warm and friendly and will help anyway they can.
Thanks We Will Be Back
The Forsyths from Canada

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Lyon:

Thank you very much for your nice opinion about your stay in Etel Suites.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you in the very near future.

Greetings from beautiful Acapulco,

Etel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you are looking for the real Acapulco, beautiful view, helpful staff, this is the place for you. Just minutes from the Zocalo and cliff divers. Rooms are spacious and clean. All rooms have A/C . Prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: try to get the upper floors for a better view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Etel Suites.

We are hppy to know that your stay was a wonderful one and we look forward to have
the pleasure of hosting you soon.

Thank you and best regards from beautiful Acapulco,

Etel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The best thing about this place is that Etel, the owner, is the great granddaughter of John Sutter, an important figure in California history. Never expected to get to meet someone like that!

We went as two couples, and for about $100 a night got two bedrooms, a very decent-sized dining room/living room, and a big balcony with a table and chairs and OUTSTANDING views. Our beds and bathrooms were okay, and the air conditioning worked very well. Problem is that only bedrooms have A/C and as people who were traveling there from a cool climate, we couldn't really enjoy the living room or balcony because of the heat, and it made cooking unpleasant, even though we were able to borrow a fan. The pots and pans need to be replaced and the stove required special help to get going. If you are planning to cook, take one nonstick skillet with you.

The staff did clean our dishes each day, which was great. Internet did not work too well in the rooms [as in many hotels in both the U.S. and Mexico], but there was a computer in the lobby that we were allowed to use. The swimming pool was very nice and we were able to walk from the Quebrada cliff diver experience back to the hotel. We could have stayed at a timeshare on the beach downtown for less money, but other than the lack of A/C in the living area, Etel Suites was probably nicer -- uncrowded, attentive, pleasant. It could make an excellent rental for longer-term vacationers. Furniture was outdated, but not uncomfortable; dining table was huge and lovely. Our two-bedroom unit had three baths; the living room could easily be adaptable as a sleeping area, and three to four people could easily share the one bedroom suite with adequate privacy. No shampoo/toiletries. But overall, with the cleanliness, courtesy, great views and nice pool, it has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for having taking the time to send your comments to Trip Advisor regarding your
stay in Etel Suites.

We really appreciate all your comments which will help us to improve our services.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards from beautiful Acapulco,


Etel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in November 2013. Although this hotel is not for everyone, some travelers needing inexpensive accommodations will find it quite comfortable and adequate. For $55 U.S. per night, I got a big room with a large veranda and a nice view of the hillside and ocean. The room and furnishings are rather dated, but adequate. The hotel is perched on top of a hill at the very north part of Acapulco Bay. It is a short and easy walk (10 minutes) down the hill to the city plaza (zocalo), where there is a good selection of restaurants. The hotel is located quite a distance from the more touristy part of town, but it is just minutes from the cliffs of La Quebrada, where the cliff divers ply their trade for both daytime and evening performances. Taxis are available everywhere and there is a bus that regularly goes to the more touristy areas along the coastal road (La Costera). The owner (Senora Telvi) is a pleasant and friendly Mexican lady who speaks wonderful English and is married to an American. The husband (Don) is a friendly man who has been visiting Acapulco for more than 40 years and has somehow managed not to learn the language. The staff are friendly and helpful, though not all speak English well. Although it is not essential for you to speak Spanish, it would be more helpful and a little less stressful if you do. The hotel does not have a restaurant or café, though there are some at the bottom of the hill and in the zocalo. For someone who prefers to avoid the more touristy parts of town and is interested in seeing how regular Mexicans live in the city center, this hotel may be perfect for you. My room had air conditioning and it worked fine. The owner and her husband are very helpful and always eager to give you tips on the best way to travel to and experience some of Acapulco's finest attractions. The hotel is quite old and there has not been much effort expended lately to update the rooms or the lobby. The fixtures are old and dated and the electric plug that was connected to the air conditioner by a long (and very hot) extension cord exploded when I was out of my room. Luckily, it just tripped the circuit breaker and there was no real damage other than the soot that discolored the bed sheet. I used my own extension cord and was able to use the AC that night by running the cord to an outlet in the bathroom. The next day, the outlet was repaired by the handyman and all was well. These sorts of things happen in Mexico and I only mention it to illustrate the point that the hotel rooms could use some updating. That said, if you are an independent type who doesn't need much hand-holding or the luxuries of high-end travel, then this place may be just right for you. It is a real bargain and located close to food, drink, ATMs, and the town square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the ocean
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Etel Suites.

We have taken note of all your comments which will help us to improve our
services.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards from beautiful Acapulco,

Etel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews