We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort, Awesome Driver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Ranked #7 of 168 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mayan Palace for our honeymoon, and loved the experience. The hotel was beautiful and very clean, and almost everyone there speaks English. It's close to the beach, and we loved being able to use the shuttle to visit the Grand Mayan as well. Our driver was Baldo Gomez, and he was AWESOME! We were recommended to him by many other reviews on this site, and he lived up to all our highest expectations. He is a professional tour guide and speaks English fluently. We emailed him ahead of time, and he was waiting at the airport for us when we arrived. He drove us anywhere we needed to go while we were there, and was able to recommend some great places for eating and sightseeing. He also took us on a day-long tour of Acapulco, which was FABULOUS! We enjoyed spending that day with him and seeing the sights so much! Highly recommend him, the resort, and Acapulco to anyone. It was a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancingtexancowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 284 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Mayan Palace was wonderful, the facility was first class in every way, the only complaint I would have for the week was the lack of hot water at times.  The staff was courteous and attentive especially Francisco and Angel at the pool bar. They were so much fun. The reception area was beautiful . They had activity directors that had many different activities going on through the day. One was even nice enough to give us a few Spanish lessons.  When you needed some down time, enjoy the lazy river.  The food was ok at the resort, but was nothing fantastic.  The beach was beautiful and wide with lots of locals selling various items or services. Transportation within the resort was good. Shuttles ran often from the Mayan Palace to the Grand Mayan.  We took other travelers advice and hired a driver for the week Sebastian Hernandez, www.acapulcoforall.com/  . He was great and  took us to a lot of great restaurants and tourists areas. Dinner on the beach was a burst of flavors. It included some of the freshest seafood. It was nice to have someone that knew the local history. He pointed out some of the more famous homes and former and current occupants. The Chapel of Peace was amazing. The views were spectacular.  If you are in need of excitment, check out the Cliff Divers. We always felt safe with  our driver. Glad we decided to hire him. Another couple staying at the resort that rented a car for their stay was held up by the local police forced to go to an ATM to get money before they were release. Never felt unsafe. You need to be aware of your surroundings at all times. That is where a local driver can be a great asset.  Thanks again to the Mayan Palace for a wonderful experience and to Sebastian for showing us a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyOp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

If you want a dependable, AFFORDABLE, and knowledgable cab driver, I HIGHLY recommend Carlos! He took us all over Acapulco, all day long, in a nice air-conditioned van.We did not have to put up with other people in the van, either. Very attentive!!! We felt very safe with him. He followed us through the markets, and made sure we were safe. His name know by the Mayan Palace employees ,is "happiness". If any one wants a safe, good time, please ask for Carlos, and his son, John.

Room Tip: ask fo an ocean front room, and also at least 8 floors up. BEAUTIFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were here in 2009 as well and both times our stay was superb. The Grand Mayan is a super resort-beautiful, warm staff, secure, and quite resonable with prices { golf is a little pricey if you don't have your own clubs. The one thing that is extremely important in travelling there is finding a knowledgeable tour guide who is able to help you in almost any way you can imagine. They are also your personal taxi if you wish and will deliver you from 1 mile to 300 miles save and sound. For my wife and I that person has been Baldo Gomez for both of our trips and will be for more to come. There are other great taxi/tour drivers, and we have used others, but Baldo is like a friend you can't wait to get back and see. We have always felt safe and secure both at the resort and especially on trips with Baldo { and with other taxis for that matter} Acapulco is our favorite Mayan destination of the group and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to our friends and family. Thanks Baldo and Ernestina who was our waitress around the pool for both years, and the rest of the Mexican people who have always been so kind and considerate and helpfulto us. Can't wait to see you all again soon. Dale and Lynne Snodgrass

Room Tip: First 3 floors above the Mondo can be noisy until about midnight due to the party music. But if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaleSnodgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

When i was researching the Grand Mayan and Mayan Palace, one name kept coming up for a taxi driver/tour guide.. and that name was Baldo!!! Baldo (and his nephew Ramon) treated us like royalty!! We had door to door service for our diving and snorkeling experiences, the best local restaurants, and super secret locations for that perfect panorama shot!!! Both of these gentlemen had amazing information about the city.. and knew the local places to go to eat, to see the sights and to shop!!

I think that Baldo is a MUST USE for anyone coming to the Mayan or Grand Mayan. He has permission to pick you up at the door (not all taxis or car services are afforded this priviledge) all you have to do is walk out the door of the hotel, ask them to call Baldo, and they use the walkie talkie to have him come up from the car park.

Baldo is friendly, informative and takes the time to get to know you and what you want out of your vacation (for us it was go local...) and then recommends companies to use for diving (in our case) places for you to vist. or places to make sure that your experiences is what you want it to be. You can reach him at baldo-work@hotmail.com. You will NOT be dissapointed.. we weren't

Room Tip: ask for a beach view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCurtis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.3 km away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 168 in Acapulco
757 reviews
0.1 km away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#9 of 168 in Acapulco
1,804 reviews
11.0 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#11 of 168 in Acapulco
1,075 reviews
7.5 km away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 168 in Acapulco
316 reviews
12.1 km away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#10 of 168 in Acapulco
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Acapulco

Address: Avenida Del Palmar 1121 | Playa Diamante, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
#6 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#7 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range: ₹ 14,138 - ₹ 25,539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Acapulco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mayan Palace Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Mayan Palace
Mayan Palace Hotel Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing