We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Monterrey
USA
Level Contributor
1,451 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“Great hotel well maintained”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Great location , still has elegant 1970's flavor, staff very nice and attentive, safe environment and nice small- medium rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    104
    71
    25
    23
See reviews for
52
76
20
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leon gto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

the hotel is clean and soo beautiful, i love it speacially during decenber the decoration takes you to another place. The receptionists are kind and patient. During 2 years we have visit Monterrey and this is our favorite one

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

A long weekend spent in Monterrey was augmented and facilitated by the helpful staff. Nice price. Excellent facilities and clean quiet room. Hotel restaurant was wonderful. Perfect location for Macro Plaza and other sites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willaim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed there a couple of times and couldn't get any deluxe rooms with running hot water or heating/cooling. Had to sleep with the window open. Water took over 15 minutes before the hot water started flowing and the tub drained poorly.

Receptionist kept saying all the rooms are booked and I can't switch to another room. Or that they will fix it but never did anything about it.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. They have the worst people to help you. That's why they keep reducing the rates... people don't come back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. No!! Really... save your money and find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I recently had a chance to revisit the Gran Ancira. I had stayed there multiple times a few years ago (back in 1999-2003). The hotel was a wonderful place to stay back then, and it hasn't changed much since. The rooms are comfortable, although I would recommend springing the little extra cost for the executive floor (5th floor). The rooms are much larger, and the free continental breakfast in the executive lounge makes it almost a bargain. They also have a cocktail hour in the evening, but since I didn't visit it in the evening, I cannot speak for what they serve.

My room was large with a large 36" or 40" HDTV, couch, wingback chair, desk, desk chair and a king size bed. The bathroom included two free bottles of water, which was replenished each morning by housekeeping. The room was clean and well kept. To be honest, the decor was a little dated. Then again, this hotel was built in 1904, what should I expect? Modern furniture would look out of place.

The desk had a wired internet connection. It was decent, but not great. It worked well enough for browsing the Internet, retrieving emails and using Skype. But don't try and use any type of streaming service like Slingbox or Netflix.....the connection was just too slow. The business lounge on the fifth floor had wireless, if you needed to connect your iPad or laptop. My room saw the wifi signal, but it was sporadic at best.

I visited the restaurant downstairs for breakfast one morning. They have the typical european style buffet, with a wide variety of hot or cold choices. It was good, I think I paid about 250 pesos for the breakfast.

The service was great, from check-in to check out. Each morning I asked for a wakeup call. Each day it came right on time...then 5 minutes later a front desk staff memeber would call to ensure that I was awake.

I took taxi from the airport to the hotel. It cost me 290 pesos, I think that is about $23.00 USD as of today. There is a taxi counter in the airport just as you come out of immigration. It is on your right as you come out of the sliding glass doors from customs. You go to the counter and choose a taxi company. You pay the lady there, and they take credit cards. Gone is the hustle and clamoring for fares that I used to see in Monterrey's airport.

Overall, my stay was a good one at the Gran Ancira. There are newer hotels, but none as classy as the Ancira. One last thing, you might have read about some of the crime that has overtaken Monterrey. It is getting better, not great, but better than it was. That being said, it is best to not wander the city on foot. If you need to go anywhere, arrange with the front desk to get you a taxi. Also, there is a 7-11 across the small street from the Ancira. If you need water, snacks, whatever, it is close enough to walk.

Room Tip: Pay the small amount extra for a room on the fifth (Executive) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RGoltsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
0.5 km away
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
1.1 km away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#14 of 98 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.3 km away
Fiesta Inn Monterrey Tecnologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Krystal Monterrey
Krystal Monterrey
#2 of 98 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
#21 of 98 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.5 km away
Live Aqua Urban Resort Monterrey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira

Property: Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
Address: Ocampo 443, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Monterrey
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,992 - ₹ 8,881
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamma is a new hotel concept that gives you the best of both worlds – the charm of a small local hotel and the backing of the trusted Fiesta Inn national chain. Feel the warmth of our service, the uniqueness of our spaces, and enjoy the thrill of being in a destination that celebrates the best that Mexico's northern region has to offer. Cherish many unforgettable moments at Gamma by Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira. The hotel, recognized as a National Historic and Cultural Treasure, has been an icon for more than 100 years. Artists, political and intellectual figures, and other notable personalities have inhabited its rooms throughout its existence. It is located in the Historic Downtown District, near Cintermex and the city's most important tourist destinations. The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a Business Center, pool, restaurant, bar, and fully equipped meeting rooms for work groups and special events. Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira is an Eco-friendly hotel, so it is a 100% smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing