We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Iconic Colours, Great food, good vibes. Totally central in Todos Santos””
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed for three nights. Two nights in a wonderful suite with a large terrace and one night in the Penthouse with an even larger terrace. Lovely for having morning coffee and checking your email on the free wifi. Staff is very friendly and the food quality is great. The chef is an import from Canada and brings a great sensibility to the menu.

The hotel was passionately renovated a few years ago and proves to be a major attraction on the the main strip. All the Eagles fans coming to see if this is the place referred to in the song...the jury is out but the lyrics make you think....

The rooms are well appointed with large private patios - we enjoyed the absence of a TV. Wifi is available if you really want to see something from the outside world. Its quiet, lovely, and you do really hear the 'mission bells' (the church stands next door). 

Debbie, one of the owners is the 'face' of the hotel and is the current manager. She is very friendly (Canadian as well), knows the area well, and will be certain to take care of you on your trip.

 A great option in a wonderful little gem of a town with amazing food options everywhere. This is still part of the older Mexico so don't expect treadmills and stair masters and 24 hour concierge. Mexico should be somewhat elemental as that is its nature.

Baja Sur is a 4 hour direct flight from Vancouver. Very easy for an affordable escape. It is one of our favourite places.

 Don't forget to visit Baja Beans Roasting Company for a great cup of joe on the way down to Los Cerritos where you will eventually head to surf and swim. Started by Vancouver couple April and Alec Tidey. Great spot to meet up, get your organic produce on Saturday and enjoy the lively community growing around this little town of sun and surf.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rockmanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Hotel California
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 396 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

The hotel is centrally located and makes for a safe, easy walk to explore the city of Todo Santos. The mystic of the hotel surrounds you as you enjoy the courtyards and secluded sitting areas within the grounds. Our room was spacious, clean and comfy. We enjoyed a delicious Mexican style breakfast in the restaurant and a leisurely browse through the shop within the hotel. We only stayed one night but the people at the desk were friendly and inviting and helped answer questions that we posed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazetrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The owner Debbie gave my wife and I a hug as soon as she saw us. Everyone is so kind and the food is wonderful. It is a small charming and incredibly decorated place. At night the entire place is candle lit and in the day the colors are incredible. It is a real Mexican jewel! If you are near Todos Santos or Cabo, look it up and you won't be disappointed! Not to mention Todos Santos is a blast!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlitofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We were shocked when we read other reviews to discover that Debbie, the woman at the front desk is also the owner. How often does the owner 'woman' the front desk and check in guests!?? I guess that explains why she offered to take us to dinner when we were owed for one night from the awful sewage smell from the tiny bathroom in room 11!
We refused only later to be handed our refund in a 1"x 4" package covered in white paper and stapled. We thought this was very tacky and unprofessional. No hotel envelops? While the hotel is lovely due to her late husband's creative artistry, it's overpriced and lacks amenities. The rooms offer terry robes but that's it. No hairdryer! No room service, fitness center, no literature on the area or where to go to eat, hike, lay on the beach, no central public phone! Our comforter had a small blood stain on the underside and the curtains showed wear and some tear. The door to the private balcony makes an awful screech sound.
If you have more time than we did, check out other hotels that are off the main street and much quieter. That said, the hotel is worth a visit. it's a historic building and has a lot of character. Have a meal in the restaurant which provides covered and open air seating. It's a very lovely place to dine and the food is good...enough! Again, don't expect the stereotypic Mexican bargain prices!
The hotel is overpriced and not the only game in town. We had to deal with Debbie
on several occasions; i.e. to change our flight due to a cancellation, and we found her social skills mediocre and her helpfulness marginal. She has a frugalness about her and seemed more interested in getting back to her computer screen than providing quality customer service!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Eyestotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We came to Todos Santos with for a fun romantic time and we did all of that. We spent two nights at the Hotel California. We were treated like royalty intitially with an upgrade. The hotel was pretty empty but none the less!! The rooms are nice Mexican sort of way. We had a nice outdoor patio that was beautiful. The restaurant was expensive but excellent. The staff was average.
Todos Santos was somewhat of a dissappointment. It is too far from the beach to walk so you really need to rent a car, which we did.
The best beaches are about 10-15 minutes away.
The internet service is poor at the hotel and I did not get the feeling it was going to get any better.
Overall, this was a nice place to stay. The front desk was a bit scattered. Our bill had to be adjusted and I overheard another traveler dealing with the same thing. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jimmie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1.6 km away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
361 reviews
0.3 km away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.3 km away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
22 reviews
0.3 km away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
72 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range: ₹ 6,708 - ₹ 15,674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing