We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to eat while you are in Todos Santos”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great spot to eat while you are in Todos Santos”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Eagles left along time ago but the music is still playing. Great food and service in this little town. It is 45 min from Cabo San Lucas but it is a great drive.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TacomaSquattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    219
    74
    24
    10
See reviews for
124
290
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Penthouse for one night at the end of a trip to BCS and loved it. It was the Saturday before Labor day and as we found out, not much goes on in Todos Santos during the month of September - several of the restaurants we wanted to try were closed for the month. The hotel only has a dozen or so rooms, and it seemed about half full at best. The Penthouse was great - a little worn and not fancy, but clean and colorful with a real character. It had two levels, the entry level with the bathroom and a couch, and the upstairs bedroom. The entry floor has a door that opens onto the second floor balcony, and the bedroom had double doors that opened onto a private rooftop with great views of the town and the ocean off in the distance (~a mile way). We were warmly welcomed by Hugo at the front desk who took great care of us. Got us ice, brought drinks to our room, gave us restaurant suggestions. We didnt eat at the restaurant this time (we ate lunch there on a visit earlier in the year - it was good), but the drinks at the bar were great. While the Eagles have said that this hotel was not the inspiration for their song, it sure seems like it could be! We'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend a night in Todos Santos.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishersrunner42k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had the pleasure of staying in the CA Baja for 3 weeks earlier this summer. We decided to take a trip over to the Pacific side as we were staying in La Paz (WONDERFUL CITY!!!) Packed up and arrived in Todos Santos with no reservations, no plan. Choose Hotel CA as if just seemed to be the place to be...rented the penthouse suite (which was worth every peso!) Got to hear great local band made up of some Xpats...can't describle what its like hearing Hotel California...at the hotel itself...enjoying some great tequilla!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NcJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We were driving thru the desert north of Cabo San Lucas, and I saw a shimmering light. My girlfriend said we should stop for the night. I was thinking to myself, this could be heaven or this could be hell. It wasn't heaven or hell, is was just such a lovely place, with plenty of room, any time of year. The courtyard is very nice, people dancing around for their own reasons, whether for forgetting or remembering. Great vibe. In the rooms, there were mirrors on the ceiling, and rose wine on ice in the lobby. In the restaurant, our meat was too well done. We stabbed it with our steely knives but it wasn't tender enough. Very chewy. The salsa was so hot, I was running for the door to the bathroom. The guy at the front desk, though, took a picture of us with a Polaroid camera and put it on the wall. He said "tu can check out anytime you like, amigo, pero you can never leave!"

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robbredred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed for three nights. Two nights in a wonderful suite with a large terrace and one night in the Penthouse with an even larger terrace. Lovely for having morning coffee and checking your email on the free wifi. Staff is very friendly and the food quality is great. The chef is an import from Canada and brings a great sensibility to the menu.

The hotel was passionately renovated a few years ago and proves to be a major attraction on the the main strip. All the Eagles fans coming to see if this is the place referred to in the song...the jury is out but the lyrics make you think....

The rooms are well appointed with large private patios - we enjoyed the absence of a TV. Wifi is available if you really want to see something from the outside world. Its quiet, lovely, and you do really hear the 'mission bells' (the church stands next door). 

Debbie, one of the owners is the 'face' of the hotel and is the current manager. She is very friendly (Canadian as well), knows the area well, and will be certain to take care of you on your trip.

 A great option in a wonderful little gem of a town with amazing food options everywhere. This is still part of the older Mexico so don't expect treadmills and stair masters and 24 hour concierge. Mexico should be somewhat elemental as that is its nature.

Baja Sur is a 4 hour direct flight from Vancouver. Very easy for an affordable escape. It is one of our favourite places.

 Don't forget to visit Baja Beans Roasting Company for a great cup of joe on the way down to Los Cerritos where you will eventually head to surf and swim. Started by Vancouver couple April and Alec Tidey. Great spot to meet up, get your organic produce on Saturday and enjoy the lively community growing around this little town of sun and surf.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockmanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1.6 km away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
357 reviews
0.3 km away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
0.3 km away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
70 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
1.6 km away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#1 of 13 in Todos Santos
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,748 - ₹ 15,230
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing