We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Shake Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Express Tijuana Rio
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Morristown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel Shake Down”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We booked this hotel through Hotels.com -- big mistake. We've stayed here before, twice, for one week at a time. We paid the hotel directly, $60USD nightly, and stayed in a room with a kitchenette. This time we booked online and were penalized. Upon arrival, the hotel put us in a very small room. We said we always stay in a room with a kitchenette; they moved us immediately only to request us to move back to a small room after 3 nights. The hotel promised we'd be back in the bigger, kitchenette room on Monday. Whoops! After booking 14 more nights on Hotels.com, we're told we'd need to pay an additional $28 nightly for a kitchenette room. Mind you, other patients at the cancer clinc said they're in a kitchenette room for $60 per night! But because we booked through Hotels.com, we're singled out for a surcharge. What's worse, I could book a kitchenette room with City Express' website for $78 per night (the extra $10 per night must go as a kick-back to the hotel's manager). So I have two pieces of advice: don't stay at this hotel and don't use Hotels.com.

Room Tip: Read the reviews before you book. For longer-term stays, call the hotel directly and see if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadyServicio, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Tijuana Rio, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments.
I offer you a sincere apology for the inconvenience the slight rate variations may have caused you. As you may be aware, rates vary slightly through the different selling channels according. However, in all of them, the rate for a superior room is higher to that from a single room. The hotel offers certain upgrades to frequent guests though our City Premios rewards card . I hope you understand the circumstances and I once again offer you an apology if the lack of information caused you any inconvenience. We thank you very much for choosing City Express and I hope the rest of your stay is a pleasant one.
We are at your service for any comments or additional information you might need. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    83
    59
    32
    23
See reviews for
54
34
13
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Great place for the price. Adequate breafast bar, nothing fancy but will fill your palate. Not even 5 mins from the border, you're next to a central shopping mall, super clean, attentive staff, clean rooms and hotel. I've seen reviews where other's have said the WIFI speed sucks, I never tried it so I couldn't tell you. If you're looking for a safe, clean, close to the border place to stay with good value this is it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drwest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Hi y'all! I loved it here! Secure. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic and healthy! Offerings were: 4 kinds of cereal. White n whole wheat bread. A toaster. Pastries, ie: doughnuts, sweetbreads, cookies. Bananas, apples, canteloupe, papaya, creamy cottage cheese! Alfalfa sprouts, romaine lettuce, cooked ham. pancakes n all the necessary condiments. Two flavours of yogurt. Many flavours of tea. Fresh coffee. Milk. A virtual banquet! lol! Location great! Close to the Avenue of Heroes and, if you're a walker, within walking distance to Revolution Ave.
Squeeky clean! Don't really care about the austereness b/c it was visually pleasing and restful and uncluttered. I have enough objet d'arts in my home.
Security guard, Arnufo went above and beyond the call of duty. Rode up on the elevator with me and escorted me to my room b/c my hands were full. Ximena, reception was helpful and friendly. The girls, Isabel & Melissa at the breakfast buffet were great! As were our maids. Very friendly, pleasant.

Room Tip: Love it that there's a mini gym here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siumae2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica T, Manager at City Express Tijuana Rio, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments! We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will make sure that your remarks reach Arnufo, Ximena, Isabel, Melissa and the rest of the staff.
Looking forward to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2009

This is a nice clean place, has very good security, but a little sterile, or cold in appearance. It needs to be decorated with a little more warmth. I went for business, and was comfortable enough.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexicotraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cetir, General Manager at City Express Tijuana Rio, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thankyou very much!
We really appreacite you take the time for making such comments.
We're looking forward to your next vistit.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
2.2 km away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 46 in Tijuana
241 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 46 in Tijuana
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
351 reviews
0.2 km away
Real Inn Tijuana
Real Inn Tijuana
#14 of 46 in Tijuana
196 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Express Tijuana Rio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Tijuana Rio

Property: City Express Tijuana Rio
Address: Dr. Atl 6 | Col. Zona Rio, Tijuana 22010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Tijuana
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,024 - ₹ 7,190
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Express Tijuana Rio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Rio Zone and the main shopping and financial centers of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Express Tijuana Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Express Tijuana Rio Hotel Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing