We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff made all the difference - kind, gentle, and present”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The staff made all the difference - kind, gentle, and present”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Yes this is a premier hotel, only a year and a half old, and yes the private beach, natural environmental beauty, beach club with infinity pool, and hot tub was luxurious. But the key to our delight with the Costa Baja is the beautiful people who staff the establishment. Very present, genuinely kind, attentive, happy, easy to laugh with and honestly connect with, very professional and unobtrusive and gentle. My husband, son, and I booked this hotel as a package with the Cortez Club Scuba Diving Outfit (btw with superb dive masters!) and I think received a price break as a result - made it doable for us. It was so lovely to dive for 6 hours and then come back to the tranquility, rest and natural pampering offered by the hotel staff, (...delicious food by one of pools), as we rested for the next day of diving. We stayed 4 nights, and only scratched the surface of what is available at this hotel and environs. I hear on good authority that the golf course is one of the best in the world on par with Pebble Beach. Highly recommend the Costa Baja. One of our best vacations ever. Cheers, Maggie

Room Tip: We had a deck level room on the third floor, ( 321) facing the pool which was perfect to keep an eye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    165
    48
    13
    23
See reviews for
160
314
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here two weekends ago for two nights and we were very happy with our choice. We have been to Los Cabos before and wanted to do something different this time. So we rented a car from the Cabo San Lucas airport and drove to La Paz which was a nice scenic drive (although I would not recommend doing it when it is dark since the road becomes very windy during portions when you cross through the mountains and there are no lights as with many of the roads in the Baja).

When we go on vacation we always look for a Starwoods resort or Ritz to stay in. La Paz doesn't have either of these hotel types. We found Costabaja by just looking around online for a "high end" resort or hotel. It seemed to be the only high end resort in La Paz, which is a city that feels more authentic Mexico and less touristy. It was so unbelievably cheap at $170 per night that we were a bit nervous about what we would get. It was worth every penny. My wife, who is a hotel snob, was totally impressed. The pictures on the website are accurate and don't attempt to make the place look better than it really is. It also seemed that the whole Costabaja complex surrounding the hotel is made up of very nice condos for sale, but does not seem to have timeshares, as no one tried to pitch timeshares to us unlike every other Mexican resort we've been to.

The resort is about a 10 min drive down the road from the center of town and the beach/boardwalk. So it's really convenient. The beach in La Paz and at the resort are nice to look at, but not the quality you get in Los Cabos that make you want to swim or hang out on all day. They are a bit rocky with some debris. For this reason, it was nice to stay at Costabaja which had several pools (with one right on the beach). The hotels along the main street running along the beach in La Paz just didn't seem to look comparable or like they would be very relaxing to stay in.

The restaurants at the resort and in the marina were surprisingly pretty good and priced to be more of what you expect at a resort. La Paz had some good restaurants too which were a little cheaper. I would recommend El Bismarck along the beach (there are two - the bigger one is not on the beach). Order tacos from the cart out front instead of off of the menu they give you when you are seated. The marlin empanadas were amazing.

Although we didn't golf, we went up to the golf course for cocktails on the patio during sunset. The club house is on top of a hill and overlooks the entire bay and La Paz. It was really beautiful. The staff was also amazing. Instead of having us wait for the shuttle to pick us up they drove us back to the hotel.

Overall I would definitely go back to Costabaja again and highly recommend it. It was just very low key and relaxing with immediate access to a city with lots of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JTobyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Beautiful setting in LaPaz. Staff were all very friendly and accomodating and bilingual. The room was modern, and well appointed with a spa feel. Restaurants had excellent food/wine choices and staff were friendly and attentive. Beautiful marina on the grounds. Saw the golf course but did not stay long enough to play on this trip. An easy drive to LaPaz to wander around and spend the day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileeng2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The place is a golf resort with a beutiful marina and bay. It competes with world wide resorts. It is new, good ambience beutiful scenario, foodis good and some what expensive. The hotel in itseld has a great price, ou would pay lots ore in the usa or that beutiful stay.
We went to a wedding, the coordinator was from the hotel, bad news she really was not expeeienced in coordinating a wedding.
I will definetley stay tnere soon again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelitamedrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Made for the traveler who doesn't want to actually be in Mexico while in Mexico. Beautiful, comfortable rooms and everyone speaks English. I don't mean to be negative about this hotel...a room like this in Hawaii would cost at least four or five hundred a night, and the CostaBaja can be had for about $170 per. It's the only really first-class place to stay in La Paz now that the Paraiso del Mar is shut down. You will, however, pay American prices for restaurant meals in the hotel and in the marina adjacent to it. My advice, if you're staying here, is to head to the city of La Paz a few miles away for better prices on meals and tourist attractions and to soak in the real feel of a Baja city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
507 reviews
8.8 km away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
7.2 km away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
5.7 km away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
188 reviews
7.8 km away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CostaBaja Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Property: CostaBaja Resort & Spa
Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue Km 7.5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,305 - ₹ 18,541
Hotel Class:4 star — CostaBaja Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CostaBaja™ Resort and Spa is just 10 minutes south from downtown La Paz, the capital of Baja California Sur. The resort is set on the magnificent Sea of Cortez overlooking a 250-slip double-basin marina and a white sand beach. Just north of the hotel, lies Isla Espiritu Santo where you'll discover one of the greatest marine reserves in the world, along with the best sport fishing in Baja Sur. Endless Activities and Options on the Sea of Cortez Within the resort, activities are endless! Costa Baja offers exclusive access and preferred rates at Mexico's only Gary Player-designed golf course, the tranquil Espiritu Spa - featuring locally-inspired treatments and full spa services, three pools, as well as multiple dining options. Unmatched Guest Rooms and Acommodations: Unmatched in La Paz, Costa Baja features luxuriously-appointed resort hotel rooms with views of the surrounding area, private balconies and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CostaBaja Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabaja Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing