We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not wonderful, but the best we could find in Ensenada.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Corona Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corona Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not wonderful, but the best we could find in Ensenada.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

The location can't be beat. Right downtown, near the harbor and all the action. Right across the street from the huge Riviera Building (Historical Building for arts & Culture which includes wine tasting, an art academy, the birthplace of the Margarita and much more. Very interesting place!)
Free parking and large parking lot. Rooms are large with balconies and free safes, but the bed was hard, no coffeemaker, no refrigerator, no microwave. No non-smoking rooms, but, as they say, they clean the carpeting regularly. Seems it would be easier to have non-smoking rooms. Lots of deferred maintenance. The most annoying was the lack of an ice maker (making it necessary to continually call the bellman to bring ice - at a price) and the daily charge for internet service. It's really time for them to get an icemaker on each floor and include internet service in the room price.
We scouted out a few other hotels in the area, but the Corona still seems to be the best, unless you want to spend a lot more for the fancy places on the edge of town.

Room Tip: Get a north side room on the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SezLuckyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORONAHOTELSPA, General Manager at Corona Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest

I really hope you could give us the opportunity to host you again in a near future and take advantage of our service.

Thank you for your valuable review!

Sincerely
The Corona Hotel & Spa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    85
    41
    13
    16
See reviews for
45
63
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Great service, great prices, smiles everywhere. Perfect spot for honeymooners. The spa is clean and organized. Would recommend to anyone who ask where is the best place to stay in Downtown Ensenada. Keep it up Hotel Corona!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tysegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORONAHOTELSPA, Front Office Manager at Corona Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor!

We really appreacite, we're looking forward to your next visit at the Corona Hotel & Spa.


Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

I have been staying here for years and the staff always remember us and take great care to make sure everything is perfect. We like it because of its proximity to downtown and we don't have to drive and the spa and restaurant are top notch as well. It is just south of the downtown area and is very safe, its like coming home every time we visit. And the staff is always welcoming and remember our names and preferences.

Room Tip: Just ask the the staff, they will take care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clemm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORONAHOTELSPA, Front Office Manager at Corona Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing this review on Trip Advisor, we all at the Corona Hotel are grateful to have you as our frequent guest, It’s an honor to be considered your second home and we will keep making every effort so that you have an exceptional experience every time visiting us.


Best Regards
Reservations and Frond Desk Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff by the Sea California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

I have stayed in Ensenada several times for both work and play. The Hotel Corona is not bad (and believe me some other Ensenada hotels are BAD) so I have returned to the Corona 3 times now. It is on the main road just slightly south of downtown. The cruise ship terminal, downtown, the fish market, serveral bars, restaurants and points of interest are all within walking distance. If you stray too far or you are safety concerned at night from downtown to the hotel is a cheap cab fair. The hotel has a large parking lot which can only be entered/exited in one spot, I sometimes see a security guy. They have a pool, a spa, a full restaurant, a bar, and concierge desk. Many on staff are bi-lingual. Rooms are only so-so and sound proofing is also so-so. Rates vary greatly depending on occupancy. Checking into this hotel would not be a mistake. There are certainly some nicer places, but the ones that are better are either much more $ or not located in walking distance to the heart of town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElGuapo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

This is a basic, four floor hotel with 92 rooms, elevator access and central hallways. Furnishings are akin to a Best Western in the states. Hotel is well staffed, with good English speaking front desk personnel. Views are of the harbor and the cruise ships and parking lots. Clean and generic. There are balconies and the floors are carpeted. Flat screen TVs have updated the rooms some. Adjoining rooms are available. Guarded parking.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMI-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
4.2 km away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
29.8 km away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.7 km away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.8 km away
Punta Morro Hotel Suites
Punta Morro Hotel Suites
#3 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Hotel & Spa

Property: Corona Hotel & Spa
Address: Blvd Costero 1442, Ensenada, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
#4 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,753 - ₹ 10,924
Hotel Class:3 star — Corona Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 92 rooms are modernly decorated (single, double, Junior Suite, Master Suite) with views at the marina and city, have 27-inch LCD screen, air conditioning / heating, hair dryer, telephone, alarm clock, ironing kit and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corona Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Hotel And Spa
Corona Hotel Ensenada
Corona Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing