We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Diamond in the Rough”
Review of Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Inn
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Reviewed 22 August 2008

I'm on the third day of a one week stay in Ensenada. So far I think that the hotel is great. The staff are nice but thier english is a little rusty...no prob for me because I'm fluent in spanish. Its a small accomidation, the rooms are modest but cozy. You're a about a five minute walk from the main strip, which means that you can get a quite night of sleep... of coarse when you want to sleep. If you bring little ones I recommend staying on the third floor; the balconies are stucco and preety tall so you don't have to worry about the little ones falling off the edge....we have my mother inlaw on the second floor and they have iron rod balconies that a little one can squeeze through. The pool area is great. Theres a cool little covered patio in between the bar and the pool where you can enjoy the ice cold cervesas they have or nice margarita. One nice thing about this place is that theres an Oxxo right across the street. There basically like a mexican 7-11. The rates here are similar to the spots you find right on the srtip, but this place has just a little more to offer than those similar priced ones. If you don't feel like walking for food they have a restaurant downstairs thats pretty good. Not as cheap as some of the other places around town but its pretty good food. If you want a good recomdation on a good restaurant , you want to check out LG Restaurante...great food at a great price.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank JuanFiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Desert Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2007

This is a cheap and very basic accomodation. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean, but you can sleep at the Corona Hotel, which is only 150 m. away for just 10 USD more, and it is a more suitable option.

The hotel is better than the ones that the Desert Inn chain has in Loreto or Guerrero Negro, but in ensenada you have other options.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

9 friends of mine and I stayed here for my bachelor party. We got four rooms with adjoining balconies. Staying at this place was fun. it is a little bit of a walk from most of the action in Ensenada, but still fun. We bought insurance and parked three cars out front and did not have any problems with burglary. Better safe than sorry!

Obviously this place is not flawless and is probably comparable to a US Days Inn or Motel 6. It is priced well and provides a good place to party. The beds are not heavenly soft, but again, this is a cheap hotel even for mexico. If you are not afraid of this sort of thing and are looking for a party, this is the place to go.

Ensenada was great of course. Amazing fish tacos, good beer, and fun times. It sounds like the families did not enjoy their stay and romantic getaways def should stay away! But if you are going to party, check it out!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T-Ruckus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2007

This is certainly not a place to take children - the walls were stained, the heat didn't work, towels were dirty, the carpet was dirty and the toilet was broken. Although the service was fine for the most part, there is no lobby and the pool was dirty. It is not a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tepidano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2006

We've stayed here before and we know not to expect much by way of amenities or quality but we were really disappointed with this most recent experience.
The floors were filthy. They had not swept or mopped the floors before our arrival nor during our stay (just two nights). There was only 1 bath towel per person, no hand towel or wash cloth. The shower drained very slowly. The bedding was very worn - which is not a surprise but given how filthy the room was, I of course imagined that the bedding was also not up to the basic cleaning standard. I tried not to think about it.
The rooms were extremely noisy. We could hear our neighbors and we could hear all the activity outside in the patio area. Plus, the hotel San Nicolas, which is across the street, has a very loud band that plays until 2:00 a.m. and there is no buffer between the hotels. Even with earplugs, I could hear the band.
The rooms were very hot, no AC. There was a nice breeze if you kept your balcony door open and your room door open - but you can't exactly do that all night. Plus to keep the noise down, you couldn't keep either door open. And, at night, there was an overwhelming sewage smell emitting from somewhere downstairs. Ugh! Needless to say, we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank efklutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
0.4 km away
Posada Don Fernando
Posada Don Fernando
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
32 reviews
0.6 km away
Days Inn Villa Fontana
Days Inn Villa Fontana
#26 of 37 in Ensenada
70 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western El Cid
Best Western El Cid
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#25 of 37 in Ensenada
61 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#27 of 37 in Ensenada
50 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#18 of 37 in Ensenada
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn

Address: Floresta, Ensenada, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range: ₹ 7,709 - ₹ 7,709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing