We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Remodel is in the works, but enjoyed the great rates!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Coral & Marina
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Excellent! Remodel is in the works, but enjoyed the great rates!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We just returned from what could be our best weekend at Hotel Coral, and that says a lot because we’ve had some very nice times there.

For Memorial weekend, we left W. Los Angeles at 9am on Friday. Stopped off the 805 at Bonita exit right before the border to fill up the gas tank and crossed the border at aprox 11am. Stopped in Rosarito at Nickolas’ for tacos and a beer, then headed to Ensenada, arriving at aprox 3pm at Hotel Coral.

The bell men are amazing at Coral, especially considering we bring alot of luggage etc.. We tip well, but imagine we would get the same great service regardless.

The front desk had us checked-in, in about 5 minutes, and we were pleased to find that our room was on the 6th floor (the top) in the middle section (3 sections). We made our reservation on Expedia for $113 per night. Parking is secured, but cost is $5 per day.

Our Jr. Suite was HUGE. The room was a bit worn out and sparsely decorated, but you could do gymnastics with the extra room in the living area. Our balcony gave us a breathtaking view of the marina and the ocean. We ended up spending a lot of time on the balcony.

On Saturday we went wine tasting on the new wine route, and it blew us away!! The wines, the owners, the wineries and the picnic areas, were just superb. We started at Malagon, where the owner, Nathan Malagon came out of the field and poured our tasting. He was easy going, yet eloquent at explaining the history of his family’s vineyard and the specifics to each wine. Malagon wine was the best we had all day. We ate lunch at Vinos Bibayoff (Russian). The chardonnay was good, lunch was on the patio, white linens, chicken and beef was beautifully done. By the lovely flavor of the meat, we all agreed that it must’ve been organic. During lunch, we enjoyed watching the dogs on the lawn move from spot to spot following the sun for a warm place to lie in the grass, and drinking from the water fountain made of barrels. The owner was covered from head to toe in dirt, and his eyes sparkled when he spoke with a heavy accent. In fact, every owner we met this day was covered in dirt. Appears wine making is hard work!

Sunday we spent poolside overlooking the Marina. We enjoyed delish ceviche and tacos from the pool area for lunch.

We love that the Jr. Suites at Coral come with a mini bar and small fridge for water, beer, coffee creamer, etc. We also love that they have a mini coffee maker. We bring extra filters and coffee, because it is so nice to enjoy a fresh cup from your balcony in the morning in your pajamas w/a book.

I would not recommend having children on the upper floors since the balcony is quite low.

The TVs in the bedroom and living room are small (perhaps a 17 inch). But who needs TV with a view like this.

They have free safes in the room to use. We always bring plenty of small dollar denominations toll road fees and tips etc..

Friday dinner was at our favorite taco stand next to Hussongs, we also stopped at Caprichios (across the street) for a glass of wine. We ate at Mahi Mahi and Casamar in Ensenada and were terribly disappointed. We ended the vacation with a meal at El Rey Sol (French) and as always, it knocked our socks off!

We found that the best recommendations during our trip came from Mitchell, the bellman.

Although we tipped the maid, we were only given two towels each day. I had to call each afternoon and ask for more towels and some wash rags.

If there was one very disappointing factor about Coral would be that they seem to turn off their air at night. So at 3:30am for three nights we woke up sweating. When we tried to adjust the thermometer it would not change. The only way to cool off was to open the window in our bedroom which was off of the main walking path with the loud sounds of the highway, which made it hard to sleep.

From our balcony we could see that many rooms were in the process of being remodeled. We wondered if the reason they were cutting the air at night was a cost-cutting measure to help make up for the costs of remodeling the rooms?

Sunday night there was a trumpet playing jazz that you could hear from our balcony. The view, the low sound of live music, and the chill in the air was magical.

Monday we checked out at 10am, stopped at Puerto Nuevo for lunch on the way home, and discovered a new restaurant called Mariscos, which turned out to be the BEST lobster we’d EVER had in the lobster village.

We used our Fast Pass to get home, and walked through the door of our home at 3:30pm Monday.

We cannot wait to return to Hotel Coral, and just hope their prices will stay low all season so we can enjoy it often.

BTW – the Hotel Coral offers shuttle service from the states for a fee. We are going to look into it, since 10 of us could travel together, and leave the cars at home.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Naito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    157
    69
    16
    14
See reviews for
128
154
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I was driving down the peninsula and made it to Ensenada my first night, so arrived here with no reservation. Front desk was professional and very accommodating; I haggled a bit and got a very good rate as a solo traveler for one night. Room was huge; living room with a decent sized balcony, connected by a hallway to the bathroom and bedroom. The views over the marina and the bay were spectacular. I couldn't stop staring! Beds were firm, shower pressure good and strong and plenty of hot water. Breakfast in the morning was more formal than one would expect for Ensenada, leading me to conclude that this was definitely a business hotel and probably is used for conventions, too. Gym was very good with a decent choice of equipment.

While the location is such that you can't walk to town, there are benefits to being away from the center. It is very quiet and secure; essentially a gated community. Lots of covered parking,too. As I mentioned, the views are spectacular. If these aren't important to you, then the center of the action may be better; but if you're concerned about security and/or noise, then this is a very good choice. It is a very short drive to town (5 minutes max).

I wasn't thrilled with the quality of the food at breakfast, but the setting was good and the service was so-so. I guess I'd probably eat elsewhere next time. However, I would definitely stay here hands down over anywhere else (obviously security and noise are important to me!).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gallesram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed at hotel Coral for the first time for our first ride in the Rosarito to Ensenada Fun Ride on April 17, 2010. Although we travel to Mexico annually our regular place to stay was booked, and after some research we choose Coral, and I am so glad we did.

Upon our arrival we were greeter by an amazing staff, who took us and our bicycles to a secure locked conference room for storage and then up to our room. Our room was a one bedroom suite, it was HUGE, dead center of the hotel on the 6th floor with amazing views. The layout of the room was perfect with the bedroom in the back, bathroom in the middle and the living space up from with a balcony (patio really, it was huge). Since there is not beach access from the hotel (they have a marina instead) they are able to carpet the rooms (most in Mexico have tile only). It was a really nice touch to have a warm carpeted room for sure. the only complaint if I have any about he room is the railing on the balcony was slightly low, it was fine for me, but if you have a high center of gravity alcohol and the railing may not mix well.

The rooms had a wet bar (although you can not drink the water) and a fridge that had ample space. They give you two small bottles of water but I would bring more, just in case. The bathroom was big, although water pressure could have been better. They supply good quality shampoo, conditioner and lotion, and there is a clothes line you can put up in the shower to dry your bathing suites which is nice. the bed is comfortable, and the bedroom has a TV as does the living space. The safe is also located in the bedroom.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with a huge outdoor pool and jacuzzi, indoor pool and jacuzzis and fitness center. The restaurant was good, food was adequate for the price, but the menu is a tad limited. But the pride of this place is the service. The staff is there to help with anything you need, they are gracious, and take customer service seriously. That reason alone is why I would go back!

The hotel is about 3 miles north of Ensenada ($6.00 by taxi) which is prefect as I like to separate the city from my relaxing vacation. We actually rode our bikes into town to catch our shuttle to Rosarito, and its a nice short ride.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We loved our time at Hotel Coral. The views were amazing, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, and it was very relaxing. Our room was very large, the balcony was perfect, we never got tired of watching the sky and water.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PALakeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

The Coral & Marina looks like a 70's hotel. The property is not bad. Restaurant, lobby, and bar look old, but they are OK. The rooms are huge, but really dated, with old, dirty, and smelly carpets. Food is really pricey and the hotel is far form the city centre. You can't walk there. I payed 130 USD the night. Not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
4.2 km away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
245 reviews
1.5 km away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 37 in Ensenada
220 reviews
0.5 km away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
124 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#17 of 37 in Ensenada
133 reviews
10.7 km away
Estero Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral & Marina

Property: Hotel Coral & Marina
Address: km 103 Carretera Tijuana - Ensenada | No 3421 Zona Playitas, Ensenada 22860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,101 - ₹ 16,024
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coral & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Coral & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral And Marina
Hotel Coral Marina
Hotel Coral Ensenada
Coral Ensenada Hotel Marina
Coral Marina Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing