We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful escargot and amazing bread”

El Rey Sol Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Let yourself be seduce by the oldest french restaurant in Mexico in an atmosphere reminiscent of the days of Louis XIV. Delight yourself with our delicious and extensive menu of international cuisine and traditional Mexican dishes, paired with the best local and inter wines. Don't forget to try our famous french pastries.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We enjoyed our meal very much. Our cold hors d'oeuvres and escargot appetizer was scrumptious! The bread was so so good. Our salads were fresh and very flavorful. Our main dishes varied. I was happy with my mole dish was very good, one of my companions had abalone was ok, not great. They neglected to mention that they breaded it! Our other two companions enjoyed Mexican dishes. The Swiss enchiladas were covered with a rich unctuous cream sauce and generously stuffed with chicken and the Mexican combination was also good sized and enjoyed. Only one miss not bad for 4 person's first time! We were too full to eat dessert, there will be a next time for sure!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sbbtcltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hi, sorry about the misscomunication and less than perfect dish, please feel sure that the next time it’ll be a hit!! hopefully next time you’ll try our famous and delicious desserts. best regards

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our Mexican breakfasts here. Sometimes there were street musicians around which added to the ambiance.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Welwyn_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hi i'm really glad to read that you enjoyed your breakfast, we hope to see you soon. kind regards

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We sat outside under the street side seating. The service was good and the food was also. I would eat here again.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 908andyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Hi Andy i'm so glad that you could enjoy your food while enjoying the amazing view of the main heart of Ensenada, we'll be very glad to welcome and assist you kin regards.

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

El Rey Sol is very well known for its pastries, and its eclairs in particular. They are very good, however, you have to battle with their utterly clueless, incompetent staff to simply buy one, overpriced eclair for 70 pesos. On the other hand, you can go to La Reyna, owned by their former pastry chef, and efficiently purchase a very similar eclair for 21 pesos, minus the hassle of having to attempt to communicate with the cashier and pastry counter staff at El Rey Sol and be subject to their ridiculous payment inconvenience. And while admittedly, the eclair is somewhat better at El Rey Sol, the reality is that the difference is minimal and it’s not worth the pain in the neck of purchasing it... price questions aside. Save your time and go to La Reyna.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 134raquelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Hello, I am really sorry you had to endure such an awful experience with our staff. I don’t understand exactly what happened and I can assure you that this incident is not reflective of our standards. To improve ourselves, I would love to hear more about what happened if you are willing to email me directly at info@elreysol.com I’ll be happy to hear more about it.
La Reyna indeed is a cheaper copy of our pastries, and the owner worked for us about 30 years ago before opening a small shop. It is a bit difficult to compare the operating cost of a prime large restaurant using the best quality and imported ingredients, and a small shop off the tourist track. Not to mention our portions are larger.
All of these does not justify the bad experience you had with our staff.
Hopefully you will give us another chance.
Kind regards
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

The resturant is very authentic and the waiters are really gentle .. service is fast and food is so yummyyyy... free internet and water

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Karim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Hi Karim i'm glad that you could enjoy your stay, thanks for the warm review, we really hope to see you soon!

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rey Sol Restaurant also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to El Rey Sol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing