We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Undiscovered paradise”
other traveller has booked this property
Lounge/dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/dining area
Swimming pool Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Lounge/dining area
Swimming pool
Terrace
Pool by night
Bedroom
Bathroom
Outside dining area
Front of the villa
Inside lounge area
Swimming Pool
Casebo lounge area
Lounge area
Casebo
Hammock in the shade
Stairs to master bedroom
Living room
Kitchen area
Inside dining area
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Parking
Villa overview
Casabo dining area
Villa by night
Master Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St. Eustatius

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Eefje v
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Undiscovered paradise”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have visited 'Statia' twice and hope to return soon! Both times I stayed in Villa L'Oasis. The first time we rented the whole house, with the complete family, for the holidays. Tis summer my boyfriend and I returned, so it was just the two of us, and we booked one room. If you are looking for fancy restaurants, shopping boulevards and famous people you should travel to the french riviera and you have no business being on Statia. Here we found the luxury we want when we are on holiday, but also the peace and quiet we need to recharge our battery after a period of hard work. The house is beautifully located on the foot of the Quill (inactive volcano -> last eruption dates back to around the year 400, says wikipedia;)) and you have the most beautiful view of the caribbean sea, St Kitts, and with clear weather you can also see the island of St Barths. The kitchen is fully equipped, but if you want to cook an extensive menu you should use your imagination a bit because the Chinese supermarkets don't have a wide range of products. Off course a BBQ is easy to fix! It was interesting so see the differences between our visit in winter and summer time. We noticed there was less water in de pool in the summertime. We heard that this was due to the rare fact that it hasn't been raining since 7 months. Nevertheless, the pool offers a great deal of coolness, infinity or not infinity. The rooms are big, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are decently. We got clean sheets, towels and besides the couple living down the road, who can help you with everything, we made a two new friends: the house-cat and chicken. This summer we explored the Quill and we hiked tot 'Cora Cora' witch provides great views of the reef. We went snorkeling and spotted a big turtle, and we got infected with the 'blue-bead-virus' (ask the locals). There is a WIFI connection and X-Box, but mostly I just prefer lying on the deck, enjoying the sun, a good book and my company.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseVK20...
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This villa is more like a small city. It's so huge you won't believe your eyes and quite frankly the most beautiful villa I have ever set foot in. It's just stupendously beautiful. If you like a mix between design, style and atmosphere, this is the place to go.

The poolside gazebo is an awesome place to spend a day. The infinity pool a piece of art. The phenomenal photo's are spot in. And with your own eyes, it's even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Alleen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxdiver
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“(New) Dutch Master”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

As my profile name suggests, my chief vacation activity is scuba diving. I had wanted to visit Statia for some time, as the diving was reportedly good (more on that later). However, previously there were no villas on the island and, as we often travel with friends, we prefer to stay in villas.

Hail Knippenga.

This is a textbook example of contemporary Dutch "Good" design (albeit with an Asian influence), where function matters as much as form -- in other words, it's lovely and comfortable -- with a little whimsy thrown in for spice. The house itself was made in Bali and shipped over; many of the fine furnishings are Balinese as well. The pictures are accurate, but there aren't enough of them to illustrate all the details. The villa is well-appointed with everything you could reasonably need, and then some. Excellent beds, by the way.

A few minor quibbles: no Internet. This is more of an island problem as I understand it, and I heard the island was getting fiber optic, so this status may change. For now, you will have to rely on the cellular network for emails and such (if you are coming from the US, make sure you get a pre-paid deal from your service provider or your cell service will cost more than the villa). Statia in theory has a 4G network, but no where on the island was I able to access this network -- 3G / edge is the best I got. Quibble 2: there are TVs in every room, but they don't seem to be hooked up to anything, e.g. satellite or DVD. I kept meaning to ask our hosts why, but I always forgot. Because I don't care. It was the 12 year old with us that noticed it. She was the only one who tried to turn one on. They do have quite a collection of Xbox games,though, in case you are traveling with teens or the vacation imapaired.

Our hosts, Gerard and Esther, were delightful and helped us with any and all arrangements. The house was always in immaculate condition and laundering services were gratefully provided.

There are three additional hosts, though their ministrations are optional. They're dogs. If you like dogs, they will come and entertain you, take you on hikes, etc. If you don't like dogs you will never see nor hear them (unless a cow has broached the perimeter, in which case they have to do their jobs). Dice is the pack leader and bears a striking resemblance to Nipper of "His Master's Voice" fame. Beouffe (all spellings are approximations) is a large, exuberant puppy. Hubert is some sort of terrier and is clearly the brains of the operation.

Gerard also arranged for a private chef for us, and what a chef he was! This was definitely the way to go. He was able to procure excellent ingredients (no small task in Statia) and his preparations were excellent. His next gig is as chef for the fine dining establishment on Statia at the Old Gin House. Highly recommended. The house has a very good wine cellar; if you have specific requests, they will do their utmost to accommodate them.

I've visited (sometimes multiple times) Mustique, Turks and Caicos, Cayman, Little Cayman, Bonaire, Andros, St. Lucia, Dominica, Roatan, Guanaja, Grenada,Costa Rica, and a few others. Statia's diving is in my opinion the best in the Caribbean. To be fair, I haven't dived Belize (though diving there is similar to the Bay Islands listed above) nor Tobago (which is supposed to be excellent but the nearest villa to the good diving is 45-1 hour away). The diving in Statia is, in my opinion, the best in the Caribbean. I will write a dive report under Golden Rock Divers, which is the PADI facility we dove with.

If you don't dive, there are a number of interesting hikes and some areas of historic interest. Our non-diving friends had a great time, too.

By far the best place to stay on Statia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the view, the food, the naps
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hugo V
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ultimate holiday retreat with luxury and privacy!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at Knippenga Estate for 9 days. We absolutely loved the retreat, filled with luxury designed accommodations, outdoor livings and swimming pool. Overlooking the sea from the infinity pool surrounded by the nature of the island. We would recommend this place to every type of visitor. Hope to visit Knippenga again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing