We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Playa Scondida
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Isla Baru
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I absolutely fell in love with this place!! If you are looking for a true cultural experience hidden inside the mangroves of baru, this is the place for you! The staff is incredible, food delicious, and unbelievably quiet! I can not wait to come back and bring my husband as it's one of the best experiences I had traveling in Columbia! Diana and William are such great hosts and I appreciate all their help and support! IMPORTANT TIP! Do not come here without a full can of bug spray! Trust me, you'll need it all!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz Helena U, Propietario at Hotel Playa Scondida, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your good comments, it is gratifying to know that you besieged yourself in the place and well attended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016

We have stayed for 3 nights in this nice little place and found it was marvellous! Perfect when you want to escape the rush and enjoy nature at its best, away from all commotion. You will enjoy a nice beakfast, lunch and diner on the premisses (the town Baru is located about 30 minutes by bike to we have been told) . This is an ecolodge - not a hotel so no big luxurury but if you fancy some privacy (there are only 4 cabins on the premises) this is definitely the place to go. Each day you can choose different places to go by boat but we found that playa Agua Azul was just great and only 5 minutes by boat (transfer from and back are organized by the hotel and entirely free). You also could snorkel around Islas Del Rosario (which we did and was great) - transfer price by private boat around 180.000 COP in total. We especially liked the food - the best we had during our trip in Colombia!). To get there: you will be picked up by boat (cost around 150.000 CP one way-120.000 CP back (port charges 30K CP) in the port of Cartagena. It will take you around 1 hour to get to the hotel. We had arranged our transfer via owner Fernando. Such a nice person and so is the staff!
We would definitely go back to enjoy the intimacy of the place.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz Helena U, Propietario at Hotel Playa Scondida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thanks for your good comments, it is nice to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

If you need or enjoy time surrounded by few people in a very natural environment and next to the espectacular manglares.
The staff is great and always available. If you want a bit more of a corned there is a free service to the Playa Azul (beach) beautiful with sand just 5min away.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz Helena U, Propietario at Hotel Playa Scondida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thank you for your goods comments. We emerge every day to have satisfied guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed for 5 days in Playascondida hotel was wonderful. Its classy tropical architecture and very comfortable beds and pillows were greatly unexpected for a place we thought was going to be a bit rustic. I am a big fan of air conditioning and it was very nice to have this option in an eco hotel. Loved the dim lighting that made the place very romantic during the evenings (it kinda forced us to look at the sky, something we usually do not do, and it was a nice change of pace).

We are very serious about critiquing food (my wife is a culinary arts major and we both love to cook and eat out), and I believe it was one of the best features of the hotel. Everything was delicious, and very well presented. The wonderful staff also made the atmosphere to be very personal and cozy.

There were many beautiful spots one can access from the hotel; the white sand beach that was 5 minutes from the hotel was my personal favorite. My wife loved to just stay in the hotel and spend her day reading, massaging and taking naps.

Regarding prices, it is pretty affordable right now with the exchange rate USD vs Colombian Peso (to me, it is 50% less than last time I went to Colombia), and compared to Cartagena, (which I thought was a bit overpriced in some things), it was really fair.

Our trip was lovely and it was because of this place and its staff. I read some other reviews and to me, the parts I disagree were a matter of the stage we are in life. My wife and I are happy all the time, and I guess this was why we loved the cab ride to the pier, the people, the one hour Caribbean sea boat ride that took us to the hotel, and the return to the majestic Cartagena (how could you go wrong with great food, great staff, great landscapes, great sleep, great beach, and Caribbean sea). Loved it... will definitely be back again next year.

Room Tip: First floor has a great garden surrounding it, second floor has the ocean views but has to use stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Playa Scondida is a bit of an interesting place. You must get there by boat, which takes about an hour in pretty choppy waters. The return trip in the afternoon was not exactly fun. The afternoon winds in this area make the seas very rough. Make sure you stow all your bags in the hatch and put a towel around you, if possible. Be prepared to get soaked. The place itself is very clean and the staff are nice. The meals were all very good and we actually had to ask for no desserts or afternoon snacks because we're not used to eating that much! The owner, Fernando speaks excellent English and tries to make sure you are happy. Unfortunately for them, the locals from Cartagena come to a beach bar 400m across the inlet from them to party. So, on Saturday and Sunday afternoons it is filled with partiers and boats all blaring their stereos. I feel badly for the owners, but I wouldn't recommend staying here on weekends. The only blessing is that they all leave to boat back to Cartagena about an hour before sundown. You can swim off the dock in front of the property. It has a bit of a mushy bottom, but nothing too yucky. The water is warm, but gets a little choppy in the afternoon. They have A/C, but sometimes the power goes out. It did so a couple of times while we were there, but came back on fairly quickly. Fernando said they are looking at installing a salt water pool on the property, which would be nice for the afternoons.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank McLeod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz Helena U, Asistente administrativo at Hotel Playa Scondida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

We thank you for your comment. Each day we aim to improve on every detail to achieve such good reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Baru
0.1 km away
Hotel Sport Baru
Hotel Sport Baru
#2 of 4 in Isla Baru
350 reviews
4.3 km away
Baru Playa Eco Beach Resort
7.0 km away
Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
#1 of 1 in Isla Grande
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 km away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 156 in Cartagena
2,284 reviews
11.5 km away
Decameron Baru
Decameron Baru
#1 of 4 in Isla Baru
3,302 reviews
1.9 km away
Agua Azul Beach Resort
Agua Azul Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Isla Baru
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Scondida? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Scondida

Address: Ensenada de Cholon, Isla Baru, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Isla Baru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Isla Baru
Price Range: ₹ 10,879 - ₹ 16,872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Scondida 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ecological hotel is located on the island of Baru, 20 miles south of Cartagena, Colombia, in the beautiful cove of Cholon, between mangroves, with warm and calm waters, where you will find a dock on the sea, with sun loungers and parasols. You can enjoy kayaking, snorkeling, water sports or just sunbathing. We can organize excursions to the islands of Rosario, the town of baru, and the aviary. In front of the hotel you will find several white sandy beaches, where guests are transported free of charge. The hotel was designed by artisan artists with autochthonous materials like bamboo and palm, consists of two bungalows with two rooms each, with air conditioning, private bathroom. We have a rich restaurant where the most delicious typical dishes of the region are prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Playa Scondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing