We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Playa Scondida
Nearby Hotels
Hostal La Canoa(Isla Baru)(Great Value!)
US$ 35
US$ 34
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hostal El Tambo(Isla Baru)(Great Value!)
US$ 29
Booking.com
View Deal
Media Luna Hostel Baru(Isla Baru)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Urantia Hostel(Isla Baru)(Great Value!)
US$ 55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Buena Onda(Isla Baru)(Great Value!)
US$ 43
Priceline
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Aura Hotel Baru By Sport Baru(Isla Baru)(Great Value!)
US$ 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 308
US$ 256
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 307/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baru Playa Eco Beach Resort(Isla Baru)
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$ 573
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
43
23
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
23
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate boatislas del rosarioeco lodgeopen airstayed for nightsfernandobarumangrovescartagenaprivacycop
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016

If you need or enjoy time surrounded by few people in a very natural environment and next to the espectacular manglares.
The staff is great and always available. If you want a bit more of a corned there is a free service to the Playa Azul (beach) beautiful with sand just 5min away.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz Helena U, Propietario at Hotel Playa Scondida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thank you for your goods comments. We emerge every day to have satisfied guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed for 5 days in Playascondida hotel was wonderful. Its classy tropical architecture and very comfortable beds and pillows were greatly unexpected for a place we thought was going to be a bit rustic. I am a big fan of air conditioning and it was very nice to have this option in an eco hotel. Loved the dim lighting that made the place very romantic during the evenings (it kinda forced us to look at the sky, something we usually do not do, and it was a nice change of pace).

We are very serious about critiquing food (my wife is a culinary arts major and we both love to cook and eat out), and I believe it was one of the best features of the hotel. Everything was delicious, and very well presented. The wonderful staff also made the atmosphere to be very personal and cozy.

There were many beautiful spots one can access from the hotel; the white sand beach that was 5 minutes from the hotel was my personal favorite. My wife loved to just stay in the hotel and spend her day reading, massaging and taking naps.

Regarding prices, it is pretty affordable right now with the exchange rate USD vs Colombian Peso (to me, it is 50% less than last time I went to Colombia), and compared to Cartagena, (which I thought was a bit overpriced in some things), it was really fair.

Our trip was lovely and it was because of this place and its staff. I read some other reviews and to me, the parts I disagree were a matter of the stage we are in life. My wife and I are happy all the time, and I guess this was why we loved the cab ride to the pier, the people, the one hour Caribbean sea boat ride that took us to the hotel, and the return to the majestic Cartagena (how could you go wrong with great food, great staff, great landscapes, great sleep, great beach, and Caribbean sea). Loved it... will definitely be back again next year.

Room Tip: First floor has a great garden surrounding it, second floor has the ocean views but has to use stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Playa Scondida is a bit of an interesting place. You must get there by boat, which takes about an hour in pretty choppy waters. The return trip in the afternoon was not exactly fun. The afternoon winds in this area make the seas very rough. Make sure you stow all your bags in the hatch and put a towel around you, if possible. Be prepared to get soaked. The place itself is very clean and the staff are nice. The meals were all very good and we actually had to ask for no desserts or afternoon snacks because we're not used to eating that much! The owner, Fernando speaks excellent English and tries to make sure you are happy. Unfortunately for them, the locals from Cartagena come to a beach bar 400m across the inlet from them to party. So, on Saturday and Sunday afternoons it is filled with partiers and boats all blaring their stereos. I feel badly for the owners, but I wouldn't recommend staying here on weekends. The only blessing is that they all leave to boat back to Cartagena about an hour before sundown. You can swim off the dock in front of the property. It has a bit of a mushy bottom, but nothing too yucky. The water is warm, but gets a little choppy in the afternoon. They have A/C, but sometimes the power goes out. It did so a couple of times while we were there, but came back on fairly quickly. Fernando said they are looking at installing a salt water pool on the property, which would be nice for the afternoons.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank McLeod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz Helena U, Asistente administrativo at Hotel Playa Scondida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

We thank you for your comment. Each day we aim to improve on every detail to achieve such good reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

We did considerable research before our trip and decided that we'd like to spend a couples of nights in Baru. What most attracted us to Playa Scondida was the natural beauty and tranquility it seemed to offer. We wanted to stay in a smaller property where we could be active if we wanted or just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.
Through their website, we made all of our inquiries and finally reserved a 2nd floor bungalow for two nights.
We travelled to Baru via "Private" Launch (Lancha Privada) from Santa Cruz Marina in Manga, Cartagena. While Playa Escondida is not affiliated with the Lancha service, they did facilitate the arrangements and we paid the Captain on site and in cash the morning of the trip. The boat trip took approximately 45- minutes and we were deposited right on the dock at Playa Scondida. They call it a private launch as it is privately owned and we travelled with 15 other passengers who were bound for Sport Baru, another property closeby.
Immediately upon arrival we were greeted by our gracious hosts, Beatriz and Fernando, and their excellent staff: Loida, Edilfredo and Arneidi.
Keeping in mind that we arrived at the hotel before 10am, they made us feel very comfortable and provided us with fruit and juices, and beer or water, if we wished, while we waited for our room to be readied. We waited for less than an hour and were escorted to our room.
The room was on a 2nd floor of one of the two thatched bungalows. It had a very tropical design, a wooden structure with balcony which had window screens that swivel open or, if kept closed and coupled with the ceiling fans and air conditioner, make for a cool respite from the intense heat of Baru. Each unit also has a private bath and shower. Our room had a queen bed and two twins. Each bed had its own mosquitero, although we didn't need them. Room also had a bureau. The balcony outside the room had comfortable rattan seating.
A hotel stay at Playa Scondida includes three meals daily and this feature was one of the best!
Breakfast always started with fresh fruit: pineapple. melon, papaya and some of the most delicious juices we had ever tried: Maracuja, Lulo, Corozo, Tomate de arbol, as well as some more familiar ones: Tamarind, Orange, Lemonade. Yogurts and breakfast cereals are always available as well as Colombian coffee and an assortment of teas. Breakfast also includes a hot dish such as Arepa de Huevo or other egg dishes.
Lunch was the largest meal of the day with fresh fish (we had chicken one day) salad, squash puree, yuca (cassava) fried and/or boiled.
Dinner usually consisted of some kind of fish many of which were new to us: Robalo, Mero, Pargo, Sierra etc...all were deliciously and expertly cooked and served.
We could not have been happier with the food. The menu design was exquisite. The desserts were also very special and innovative. Never did we find the food to be too salty or too sweet. The food served was always healthy and very fresh.
Throughout your stay, you're on the honor system with the consumption of liquid refreshments. These are not included in the package. Beer, mineral water, juices, soft drink etc.. are always on hand in the refrigerator and are very reasonably priced. You pay for this consumption upon departure.
During our stay we were 7 adult guests in total, none were children.
Most people stay to themselves although mealtimes are quite communal as is the fantastic swimming done off the deck in the lagoon. You do interact with other guests at least during these times and more if you wish.
Activities which are offered are kayaks, mountain bikes: (we rode to the Aldea of Baru which gave us a true culture shock. We saw much wildlife, including various tropical birds, pigs, donkeys, oxen, cows, buzzards, frigate birds, iguana, etc...
The hotel's launch is made available to guests who wish to travel to Playa Azul, a gorgeous stretch of white fine sand only a 5 minute ride across the lagoon where Playa Scondida sits. Edilfredo is your shuttle driver and is happy to accommodate.
Back at the hotel,there is a rustic Spa room set up close to the shore with massage therapy available.
No TV at Playa Scondida or nightlife to speak of. Everyone is so tired after a day of swimming, kayaking, biking, snorkeling and EATING.
One evening we sat on the boat deck after the sun had set and while we marveled over the myriad stars that were popping out of the sky in front of our eyes, Beatriz had the staff serve us each a tall container of popcorn. Nice touch!
What a show that was!
This is but one example of how detailed Beatriz and Fernando are in delivering their exemplary product.
We got no bug bites at all during our stay although we were prepared for the worst. Breezy nights made for a very comfortable sleep.
The day we were to depart, the seas were quite choppy and the launch that was to deliver us back to Manga could not make the journey. Fernando told us that there was a plan B which entailed his driving us by 4wd jeep to a junction further up the beach with a modern more easily passable road. There we were met by a pre-arranged taxi to bring us back to Cartagena.
This is yet another example of how the folks at Playa Scondida look after their guests. We were actually happier to ride in the Jeep as we got to experience another new and exciting experience.
We'll be back in Baru and Olaya Scondida in our lifetime.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

My girlfriend and I were planning a trip Cartagena from Chicago and knew that we wanted some beach time. After conducting extensive research, we learned that we had to go to Baru if we wanted to experience the best beaches in the area. We decided to stay at Hotel Playa Scondida and are SO glad that we did. I'll start from the beginning.

A day or so before our trip, we received an e-mail from Hotel Playa Scondida stating that we needed to get to the marina by 8:15am. Our flight didn't arrive till the afternoon, so that option was out of the question. I replied to the e-mail and they offered a pick-up from the airport to a private boat for 300,000 COP. While we thought that was a little expensive, we decided to do it because we didn't want the hassle. Even though our flight was delayed, our transportation was there waiting. We learned the seas were too rough to take the boat and instead they drove us there. The car ride was not ideal, as the car has to drive along a narrow beach and there were cars getting stuck. It was a little scary at first, but we arrived safe and sound after about a 90 min drive. This is no fault of Hotel Playa Scondida, but just be warned that I have no idea what we would have done if we did not arrange this transportation though the hotel ahead of time. The hotel is difficult to get to--which is part of the appeal.

Upon arrival, my girlfriend and I were a little surprised that there wasn't a beach on the property. This is my fault and I didn't do enough research. However, this turned out to be a good thing. The hotel has a private boat that takes you to this little island across the way that has a private beach. It was very cool to be on this private beach, but the beach wasn't exactly our favorite given the amount of trees on the beach. It was beautiful, don't get me wrong, but we were expecting something different.

The next day we took a boat to Islas del Rosario. The blues of the water were breathtaking. We opted not to go snorkel and instead went to this pretty cool aquarium that is in the open sea. Following the aquarium was the best part of our trip--our boat driver took us to this island that seemed to be completely disserted. We had a BEAUTIFUL white sandy beach literally all to ourselves. I wish we would have learned about this the day before and spent more time there. It was an experience that was just like out of some romantic movie. It was so so nice.

We also spent an afternoon laying out on the dock. It was so relaxing.

My girl is OK at speaking spanish, but not great. But english-speakers: have no fear. Fernando (whose wife owns the place) was always available and was willing to go out of his way for anything we needed. He and his team worked to arrange transportation from his hotel all the way to Minca. He told us that he was willing to do anything to make our trip to colombia as stress-free as possible.

Every meal (breakfast, lunch, dinner) is included in the cost. Every meal (breakfast, lunch, dinner) was exceptional. The cook does an awesome job at exposing you to local dishes. We had a smile on our face for every meal.

A few things you should be aware of before you go:
Bring bug spray and reapply often. While you have a roof over your head at night and are in a private cabin, nothing is completely sealed off. The outdoor showers were pretty fricken neat, and romantic.

Be aware that every where at Hotel Playa Scondida is exposed to the elements. That means that besides your rooms, everything is open-air. This is how all hotels are in Baru (and hence, you need buy spray). Also, reapply sun block often.

We had a beautiful stay at Hotel Playa Scondida and would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Doug R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews