We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Playa Scondida
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Isla Baru
Reviewed 3 March 2014

we have just got back from Colombia and had a wonderful time at scondido. The owners are really helpful and the food is excellent. Rooms are charming decorated and there is loads of space to read, sunbathe, play ball games. We used the kayaks which were great. Bikes were a bit more of a challenge on the bumpy tracks.
Boat journey back to cartegena at this time of the year is a bit bumpy!!
wonderful place
Diane and Hugh

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianeJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

My mother and I decided to take a trip to Baru to go to the beach while on vacation in Cartagena, and were so glad we found Playa Scondida! First, it's gorgeous, and we loved the open feel of the cabins. Second, like so many reviewers had noted before us, Fernando and Beatriz are wonderful, and made us feel at home. They really go out of their way to take care of guests and ensure that each guest has a great stay. Third, the food was DELICIOUS. We ate until we popped. Finally, the beach nearby is amazing! The first day I went, it was almost empty. It was gorgeous.

So, in sum, if you're looking to have a relaxing vacay in Baru, look no further than Playa Scondida.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamelaahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I am from NYC and stayed at Playa Scondida for a night while on a trip to Cartagena, Colombia. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The lodge itself was extremely relaxing, simple and worth the hour or so trip out there.

Beach: owners take you on a 5 minute boat trip there (beautiful white sand beach). Go there in the morning when quiet and less windy.

Food: included in the price, authentic, tasty and nicely prepared. Breakfast at 8am, lunch at 2pm and dinner at 8pm.

Accommodation: the rooms were very nice for an echo lodge. No trouble with Mosquitos at night due to fans. They leave you a coffee pot for the morning so if you arise before breakfast you can enjoy the quiet morning with some coffee.

Service: very good. The owners are really friendly and take time to get to know their guests.

Excursions: other than the beach there are excursions you can take for extra money. We did the snorkeling trip with Oscar. If you are looking to get out in the open Caribbean Sea and explore some cool snorkeling spots, the trip is worth it. You also eat some fresh lobster and crab for about $5 USD per person for a snack while out on the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NICU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Playa Scondida is the perfect vacation. The setting is absolutely beautiful, located on Baru Island about a one hour boat ride from Cartagena. The owners, Fernando and Beatrix, and the staff are extremely friendly and attentive to their guests. They make you feel so welcome and comfortable. The beach is about a 5 minute boat ride from Playa Scondida and they take you there and pick you up when you want. The beach, Playa Azul, is gorgeous. At Playa Scondida , there are beach chairs on the dock which is right on the beautiful Carribean Sea.The accommodations at Playa Scondida are called ecohabs and are made of bamboo. The rooms are quite spacious. Included in the price are three meals. The food is excellent. If you want a vacation to literally get away from it all, then Playa Scondida is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Beatriz and her husband were amazing! The place was heaven and the food was really really good. I took a whole humanitarian group for a weekend before new years last year and we had a blast. My favorite was the little private beach the owners share with some of the other hotels. Beatriz had the boatman take us out there for free and it was AMAZING. better than Playa blanca and less people and vendors. We absolutely loved this place and the people there. just make sure to coordinate boating before hand and bring lots of bug spray! They didn't explain about that they were going to get the boats to get out to the island so I got my own and then two boatman showed up to cartagena for our group! We solved with the rep from the hotel and it was a huge deal, but next times a charm!

Room Tip: Theres a special cabin up away from the other cabins on a hill waking past the eating area. Its perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EagleCondorHumanitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Baru
0.1 km away
Hotel Sport Baru
Hotel Sport Baru
#2 of 4 in Isla Baru
350 reviews
4.3 km away
Baru Playa Eco Beach Resort
7.0 km away
Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
#1 of 1 in Isla Grande
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 km away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 156 in Cartagena
2,279 reviews
11.5 km away
Decameron Baru
Decameron Baru
#1 of 4 in Isla Baru
3,298 reviews
1.9 km away
Agua Azul Beach Resort
Agua Azul Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Isla Baru
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Scondida? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Scondida

Address: Ensenada de Cholon, Isla Baru, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Isla Baru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Isla Baru
Price Range: ₹ 10,898 - ₹ 16,737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Scondida 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ecological hotel is located on the island of Baru, 20 miles south of Cartagena, Colombia, in the beautiful cove of Cholon, between mangroves, with warm and calm waters, where you will find a dock on the sea, with sun loungers and parasols. You can enjoy kayaking, snorkeling, water sports or just sunbathing. We can organize excursions to the islands of Rosario, the town of baru, and the aviary. In front of the hotel you will find several white sandy beaches, where guests are transported free of charge. The hotel was designed by artisan artists with autochthonous materials like bamboo and palm, consists of two bungalows with two rooms each, with air conditioning, private bathroom. We have a rich restaurant where the most delicious typical dishes of the region are prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Playa Scondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing