We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 261
US$ 221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Aura Hotel Baru By Sport Baru(Isla Baru)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 184
US$ 148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$ 34
US$ 31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Urantia Hostel(Isla Baru)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$ 38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Media Luna Hostel Baru(Isla Baru)(Great Value!)
US$ 56
US$ 40
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 452
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 780
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Decameron Baru(Isla Baru)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
43
23
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
23
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgeopen airstayed for nightsfernandobarumangrovesac
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My mother and I decided to take a trip to Baru to go to the beach while on vacation in Cartagena, and were so glad we found Playa Scondida! First, it's gorgeous, and we loved the open feel of the cabins. Second, like so many reviewers had noted before us, Fernando and Beatriz are wonderful, and made us feel at home. They really go out of their way to take care of guests and ensure that each guest has a great stay. Third, the food was DELICIOUS. We ate until we popped. Finally, the beach nearby is amazing! The first day I went, it was almost empty. It was gorgeous.

So, in sum, if you're looking to have a relaxing vacay in Baru, look no further than Playa Scondida.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamelaahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I am from NYC and stayed at Playa Scondida for a night while on a trip to Cartagena, Colombia. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The lodge itself was extremely relaxing, simple and worth the hour or so trip out there.

Beach: owners take you on a 5 minute boat trip there (beautiful white sand beach). Go there in the morning when quiet and less windy.

Food: included in the price, authentic, tasty and nicely prepared. Breakfast at 8am, lunch at 2pm and dinner at 8pm.

Accommodation: the rooms were very nice for an echo lodge. No trouble with Mosquitos at night due to fans. They leave you a coffee pot for the morning so if you arise before breakfast you can enjoy the quiet morning with some coffee.

Service: very good. The owners are really friendly and take time to get to know their guests.

Excursions: other than the beach there are excursions you can take for extra money. We did the snorkeling trip with Oscar. If you are looking to get out in the open Caribbean Sea and explore some cool snorkeling spots, the trip is worth it. You also eat some fresh lobster and crab for about $5 USD per person for a snack while out on the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NICU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Playa Scondida is the perfect vacation. The setting is absolutely beautiful, located on Baru Island about a one hour boat ride from Cartagena. The owners, Fernando and Beatrix, and the staff are extremely friendly and attentive to their guests. They make you feel so welcome and comfortable. The beach is about a 5 minute boat ride from Playa Scondida and they take you there and pick you up when you want. The beach, Playa Azul, is gorgeous. At Playa Scondida , there are beach chairs on the dock which is right on the beautiful Carribean Sea.The accommodations at Playa Scondida are called ecohabs and are made of bamboo. The rooms are quite spacious. Included in the price are three meals. The food is excellent. If you want a vacation to literally get away from it all, then Playa Scondida is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Beatriz and her husband were amazing! The place was heaven and the food was really really good. I took a whole humanitarian group for a weekend before new years last year and we had a blast. My favorite was the little private beach the owners share with some of the other hotels. Beatriz had the boatman take us out there for free and it was AMAZING. better than Playa blanca and less people and vendors. We absolutely loved this place and the people there. just make sure to coordinate boating before hand and bring lots of bug spray! They didn't explain about that they were going to get the boats to get out to the island so I got my own and then two boatman showed up to cartagena for our group! We solved with the rep from the hotel and it was a huge deal, but next times a charm!

Room Tip: Theres a special cabin up away from the other cabins on a hill waking past the eating area. Its perfect for couples, isolated, but a good walk up the hill.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EagleCondorHumanitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Playa Scondida for 3 nights in Mid February. Bedatriz, the wife and co-owner met us in Cartagena by the boat dock and we went to the B&B in a crowded, public boat. If you can afford the private boat ride it is much more comfortable. It is $200 each way and it takes about an hour from Cartagena to Playa Scondida. Or pay around $25 for the public boat ride. We made it to the secluded and beautiful B&B and enjoyed an amazing lunch cooked by a local cook who lives in the Village nearby. The food was very good throught the 4 day stay.

We liked the location very much, the hosts are friendly and hotel or more accurately B&B with all meals included is family-like. There is no beach at Playa Scondida, just a boat dock, but the owner, Fernando is always willing to drop you off with his boat at a sandy beach nearby and pick you up later or you can pedal back to the hotel in a Kayak. That's about a 20 minute Kayak ride. You can also jump for a refreshing swim from the dock. We were there during a dry season, so no mosquitos. Get mosquito spray for travel in the rainy season. Playa Scondida is a quiet place for a quiet vacation. Bring along magazines and books because there isn't much to do after dinner. We were usually exhausted form the day's activities and went to bed early. One morning we went snorkeling in the Islas Rosarios nearby with Fernando as a guide, also visited a bird sanctuary on the way and saw some amazing birds. Another day we took the 2 new mountain bikes that Fernando just bought and went for a bike ride along the coast. I only recommend it for people who are in good shape. We ended up about 10 miles down at an amazing beach, called Playa Blanca. All beaches around Baru and Cartagena have vendors selling from Jewelry to food. It gets a bit annoying at times, but it is a part of the scene. Overall, the trip was great and our stay excellent and we will return to Playa Scondida. PS, they just started taking credit cards....and both Beatriz and Fernando speak good English! They also make for good company if you don't bring friends or kids along.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidoff670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews