We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An okay option in Ao Nang”
Review of Phranang Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phranang Place
Ranked #86 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Ao Nang is surprisingly expensive when it comes to accommodation. I chose Phranang Place because it came recommended as a "value" option on a Krabi information website.

As mentioned in the previous post, the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the beach, but on a positive note, one of THE BEST family Thai restaurants is located right across the road from this hotel. Great food - I ate there just about every night.

I chose a Mountain View room. The room itself was "quaintly" furnished, with some pretty tired-looking furniture and worn carpet. And the cleanliness of the room was a bit below the standards I had enjoyed elsewhere in Thailand. To get to my room I had to walk up 2-3 flights of steep, external (outside) stairs - which got quite slippery in the rain. The view is non-existent - just the side of the mountain about 10 metres away. The breakfast was very basic, but that didn't bother me. In summary, this hotel is simply somewhere to leave your bags, have a shower, and sleep at night. Luxury rating = 1 out of 10.

The staff here were friendly and competent, and spoke English to an okay standard. Reception seemed to close pretty early at night - around 7pm. After that, there is a night-time guard. If you're travelling alone, the hotel is "guest friendly" if that is your thing.

Not sure I would stay here again. Would probably want somewhere closer to the beach, and for this price (~1400B/night) I am used to better than this in Thailand. But as I said, Ao Nang isn't cheap. But it is a wonderful relaxing place to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Made_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2008

i met my Fiancee in Bangkok and flew to Krabi airport, where (pre-arranged for 600THB) the hotel met us and took us directly to check in.
first impressions were what great value for the price. we had mountain view room as it was quieter and away from the noise of the main road outside.
the staff were fab and oragnised all trips on our behalf, even the car hire. they were a wealth of information and were more than happy to do all they could. any question was answered either immediately or when we arrived back at the hotel.
breakfast was basic but alot of restaurants literally outside the hotel and all the way down to the beautiful beach. picture postcard. great location and freindly staff.
highly recommened and great to see all the staff on the beach at New Year!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fazz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We stayed here for 10 days over Christmas and New Year

It is not in Krabi itself but in Ao Nang which is an excellent diving centre with a lot of
restaurants and bars and great links to the Thai Islands such as Phi Phi whcih is only 45 mins by speedboat

The hotel itself is excellent value. The rooms were clean and had good on-suite bathrooms with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was basic but is included in price and was a good way to start the day. You could even have eggs cooked as you like!!

The best thing about the hotel was the staff. The reception were so helpful and arranged everything we needed and gave great advice as to where we should go and what we should see.

it's location is also excellent, situated only a couple of hundred yards from the beach and close to plenty of excellent bars and restaurants.

All in all an excellent choice if you are on a budget and want to stay in Ao Nang and visit the islands.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mindenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2007

The place that we stay is called Phranang Place. It is a 4 storey bldg with not more than 10 room units. We booked family unit for a family of 2 adults & 2 children. It has a big room, a clothing closet, a wash basin outside the toilet with hot water. the only problem we faced is it does not have any kettle but you can get hot water downstairs. It also has a balcony facing the street with eating & drinking shops. Beyond that, the famous cliffs.

The hotel does not have lift/s and staying on 3rd floor is just right for climbing. The hotel serve only morning breakfast with 4 way to cook an egg, freeflow of coffee/tea, bread & water only. You only get 1 glass of fresh orange juice. So, if you only stay for 4 days, try all.

The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to the Aonang beach & Centre where you can engage any boat rides to the many Islands or day trip into the jungles, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dimension9150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank IngridEscramozine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 km away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#46 of 111 in Ao Nang
220 reviews
0.7 km away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#76 of 111 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palace Ao Nang
The Palace Ao Nang
#79 of 111 in Ao Nang
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Aonang President Hotel
Aonang President Hotel
#83 of 111 in Ao Nang
53 reviews
0.1 km away
Sugar Marina Resort Cliffhanger Aonang
1.5 km away
Golden Moon Bed & Breakfast Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranang Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranang Place

Address: 345 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range: ₹ 2,139 - ₹ 4,861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranang Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Mini Hotel in Aonang! Situated on the main road of Ao Phranang ( Ao Nang ) , the Phranang Place is an ideal base for visitors who wish to relax and enjoy their holidays in quiet surroundings but within walking distance to the beach and the shopping and entertainment offered at Ao Phranang ( Ao Nang ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Phranang Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranang Place Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing